We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
5 Leys
Nearby Hotels
US$206
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$201
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$103
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$140
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Dale Farm(Hunmanby)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Reviews (119)
Filter reviews
119 results
Traveller rating
105
12
1
1
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
105
12
1
1
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsfirst floorbay windowgorgeous towncoastal cottagewinter weekendlovely place to sitlimited storagewished we could have stayed longerapartment was spotlessself caterfantastic locationsea frontdouble bedroomfiley bayelderly parentsamazing weekendfamily bathroom
Filter
Updating list...
75 - 80 of 119 reviews
Reviewed 29 August 2012

We stayed for 3 nights in Apartment 11, which is a dog friendly apartment on the ground floor.We arrived earlier than the 2pm check-in,and fortunately the apartment was ready,which was good,we did have to wait for a parking space which was not outside the apartments, so had abit of a trek with the luggage etc.
We were instantly pleased with the apartment,it was very clean and modern,2 bedrooms and a wetroom bathroom,with fantastic views of the bay,and a lovely terrace with tables and chairs.
5leys is in a great central location, about 5 minutes walk in to the town,and 2 minutes to the beach, there are several cafes if you turn left or right out of the apartments.
It is situated next door to the Downcliffe House Hotel which is well worth a visit, there are a few good restaurants in the town also.
Overall our apartment was good value, it is great to find a place that specialises in short breaks especially over the bank holidays.
Our only niggles are very minor ones,which if left unmentioned cannot be rectified,and they were,the wet room is designed for disabled clients,which is great but the mirror was placed at waist height,there was no hooks to hang your clothes,so everything got drenched as the room does get very wet ! The drain in the room smelt really bad after the water had drained.
The bed in the main bedroom was so creaky ,it just kept you awake everytime you moved and the duvet didn't fit the bed it was a double duvet in a kingsize cover,and last niggle, a few toiletries or welcome pack would not go amiss,(even if alittle extra is charged ) we were left just one toilet roll.We would of mentioned these things but there was no one on duty as it was the bank holiday.
We did not have any problems with the tv reception,mentioned in previous reviews,we also got wi-fi,which was alittle intermittent at times.
All in all the apartments are lovely and we would definately return.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank travelwithmutts
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 May 2012

We just spent 3 nights in apartment 13 , 1st floor , bay window looking out over the sea - fantastic
Well appointed apartment , a place to relax and people watch
Only thing we would add / want would be wifi - the mobile reception is poor
We would go back again

Stayed: May 2012
Thank Beardinfo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
5leys, Manager at 5 Leys, responded to this reviewResponded 10 May 2012

Thank you for taking time to review 5leys & your fab comments-we hope to see you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 April 2012

We recently enjoyed a fantastic three night stay at 5leys in beautiful Filey. The accomodation is excellent; modern, clean, spacious apartments fitted to a very high standard.Ours had an open plan layout with a great range of appliances and fantastic views over the Filey seafront and bay. If you walk up the steps at the rear of 5leys you will find some lovely well maintained gardens at the top with stunning views back down over the bay and then it is just a short walk into the town where there are some nice little cafes and places to eat as well as a range of shops to browse. Back to the seafront itself where 5leys property is situated, the promenade is spotlessly clean and unspoilt with a beautiful large beach, ideal for walks or letting the kids play - just be aware that the sea does come right up to the wall at high tide (perfect for a spot of fishing!).
If this is the sort of holiday you are looking for then 5leys is the perfect place to stay, our only regret was not booking for longer. We have visited Filey and the surrounding area several times now but 5leys is without doubt the best place we have stayed, we can't fault the place, excellent!

Room Tip: We booked apartment 10, right on the top floor, and although the last flight of stairs is a bit steep and narrow it was worth it for the stunning views over the bay. Dual aspect windows made the apartment very bright and airy, great open plan kitchen, lounge, diner with probably the comfiest leather setee we have ever sat on! Large wallmounted widescreen tv in lounge and smaller one in bedroom. It was noticable how quiet the apartment was with no noise from the adjacent rooms. Lounge setee quickly and easily converts to double sofabed. Nice bathroom with super shower over bath.
  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Philip B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
5leys, Manager at 5 Leys, responded to this reviewResponded 27 April 2012

Thank you we love this apartment too! Its so great you had a fab time and are over the moon with your superb comments-hope to see you again soon-Kerry

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 March 2012

We booked a winter special break at 5 Leys for the last weekend in march. As we were a family of nine it was proving a bit tricky! Kerry Welsby, the manager, answered and was absolutely lovely. We booked two double apartments, (sleep up to six with sofa bed) for two nights, for nine people for £240. Bargain.
We arrived Friday afternoon and were genuinely, hugely impressed. Above all it was very clean, (very important to me with a toddler.) Spacious, bright, homely, welcoming and everything in it, top quality. Clean crisp cotton on the beds too. Lovely.
As a family, we were able to enjoy all being together in one room, comfortably, not in two separate
apartments. We also made good use of the lovely terrace on the front.
As for the view, this is where it doesn't get much better, you could throw stones into the sea at low tide, it's that close. We did not want to leave and I cannot recommend this place highly enough. We will definitely be going back. Perfect.

  • Stayed: March 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RachelRudyRob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
5leys, Manager at 5 Leys, responded to this reviewResponded 28 March 2012

Wow-thank you I am so glad you & your family had such a super break-its so great to have your feedback.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 February 2012

A last minute decision for a weekend away in Yorkshire took us to 5 Leys in Filey. They have a winter special offer on their website, we got apartment 13 on the first floor. The aparment seems fairly newly decorated, really well appointed and fantastic location right on the front. Coudl hear the waves crashing against the front in the morning and lovely spot to eat breakfast.

Didn't see a single person working there in our 2 days but booking & instructions were all very good.

Filey is a very quiet place but the front is very well looked after. A walk to Fiely Brigg certainly clears the sinuses!
Downside - no dvd player in livingroom, only in bedrooms. Back bedroom cold and very draughty with the old style windows.

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank spud723
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
5leys, Manager at 5 Leys, responded to this reviewResponded 4 February 2012

Thank you so much for your lovely comments it means a lot to us.
I apologize for the draughty window in the back bedroom and are looking into replacing all of them sometime in the near future.
We do like to keep a low profile during your stay we are here if you need us and not if you don't!
Once again a big thank you and hope to see you again soon-Kerry

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews