We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place”
Review of 5 Leys

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Filey
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
5 Leys
Ranked #4 of 16 Speciality Lodging in Filey
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 13 September 2010

5leys is a great place to stay - clean, spacious, well organized and in a perfect location for a quiet break. We had an excellent meal in the restaurant and spent two evenings sat outside the hotel with a lovely glass of wine watching the tide go out. The only downside was a constant humming from the large extractor fan mounted to the side wall of the adjacent hotel. If we visit again I'll make sure to book a suite at the front of the building away from the noise

I'd also recommend a visit to The Imperial for the Sunday evening pub quiz and games of Oiy.

  • Stayed: September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank libras
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (115)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

86 - 92 of 115 reviews

Reviewed 8 September 2010

We had 4 nights here at £120/night over August bank holiday, in a 2-bed apartment. (Note that prices halve between October and March, making it a real steal.) Great sea view, although quite a few stairs up to our floor - just OK with a Maclaren, would be tricky with anything bigger so go lower down. A decent standard of furnishing (and this comes from a man who paid £1,000 / night for his Easter holiday in Dubai - we were in Filey this time because my parents live here) although more practical than glamourous - white walls, black sofas that become sofabeds if needed etc, M&S crockery. Kitchen appliances were Neff, surprisingly. 3 flat screen TV's, although the living room one had no DVD built in (the 2 smaller bedroom ones did) - and the TV's need reruning!

The real surprise here, though, was the restaurant. This was truly stunning at the price (£25 for 3 courses) under a chef who has worked in a Michelin starred London restaurant. We eat out a lot in London at £50+ a head and the food here was equal to a lot of those places. (Note: the chef was only contracted for the Summer season). Excellent down to earth staff led by John and Matt who were always helpful. If you have kids and want to stay in the town, this is a good option - and try to find a babysitter so you can try the resaurant out!

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Robert B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 August 2010

We stayed in August with our two grandchildren I can agree 100% with all the other reviews the rooms and bar area are 5* the service was excellent the staff are friendly and very helpful nothing was too much trouble the manager offered to help with our luggage. We ordered our meals from the early bird menu these were delivered to our room one course at a time.
I suggest if you are booking a holiday at the 5 Leys book early as the reputation will of the 5 Leys will travel fast.

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank HOWARDB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 August 2010

Just returned from a four night stay in a two bedroom suite at 5leys. It was our third stay and we still love it. The high standard of cleanliness has remained. Really child friendly, perfect location and spacious rooms. This year we were really impressed with early bird dinner option as my two children of 9 and 6 and my friends 6 year old and baby don't want to wait to 730 for tea. There was a really good choice of food and because we had finished before bed time still had time to visit the amusement arcade on the seafront. Hopefully back next year. Only small problem was lack of signal in suite but that seemed dependant on weather outside!

    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Estelle292
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 July 2010

Stayed for 3 nights in self catering suite with wonderful sea view.
It was a pleasure to enjoy child friendly accomodation with the finishing touch of even having a little basket of toys, my grandaughter was very happy with that.
The kitchen area is well equipped with quality fixtures and fittings. The only critisism would be lack of food preparation space, we managed ok.
The rooms are tastefully styled, although some drawers in the double bedroom would be useful.
We were blessed with lovely weather too, so all was well. A very enjoyable stay.

  • Stayed: June 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jen6668
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 June 2010

5 Leys combines a great location with fantastic hospitality, very well appointed accommodation, spotlessly clean facilities and a restaurant menu that tests your resolve to self-cater.
This was our second visit and we'll be going back for more. The flexibility of having the choice of the self catering option or the restaurant facilities (provided you book early due to popularity!) allows you the chance to design your break as you go along. The hosts were friendly, welcoming and helpful (good local knowledge). The accommodation was clean and the kitchen facilities and utensils more than adequate. The TV/DVD facilities prove a welcome option when the weather doesn't hit the highs and a spell indoors is required - although the TV signal reception is sometimes variable due to coastal location. Overall definitely recommended.

  • Stayed: May 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SurreyTraveller_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 May 2010

Wow - from the moment we arrived to the moment we left (after 2 nights) it was one long, great, luxurious but friendly experience.
Staff: all friendly, efficient and knowledgeable - Hotel public areas: beautiful, and perfectly furnished - Apartment and Bedroom: wow again! We had booked a specific apartment over looking the sea , the rooms were spotless and the bathroom had a great shower and bath.
We do like good food, but I have to say we have never actually dined like this before - generous , but perfectly formed courses, with tastes and textures married and matched absoltely perfectly. On the first night we were lucky enough to try the Chefs recommendations by an excellent new young chef who is proving very popular so you do have to book..
Loads of towels, beautiful sheets and bedding, I could go on and on ... Perfect and I will definately go again Jacqui from welton

  • Stayed: May 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jacqueline4361
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Filey hotels
0.2 mi away
White Lodge Hotel
White Lodge Hotel
#2 of 3 in Filey
418 reviews
2.3 mi away
Wrangham House Hotel
Wrangham House Hotel
#1 of 1 in Hunmanby
199 reviews
2.5 mi away
The Royal Oak Near Filey
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.6 mi away
Dale Farm
Dale Farm
#1 of 5 in Hunmanby
83 reviews
0.1 mi away
Esmae House
Esmae House
#4 of 19 in Filey
118 reviews
0.2 mi away
Athol House
Athol House
#5 of 19 in Filey
148 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to 5 Leys? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about 5 Leys

Address: The Moorings 9-10 the Beach, Filey YO14 9LA, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Scarborough District > Filey
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 16 Speciality Lodging in Filey
Number of rooms: 22
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We have a selection of 1 & 2 bedroom apartments most with stunning sea views. Perfect for families, the 2 bedroom apartments sleep 4. Situated a mere 7 metres from the Blue Flag Sands, which forms part of the five-mile stretch of award-winning sandy beach in this picturesque Victorian town. It's the perfect location for a beach-side holiday, with magnificent panoramic views of Filey Bay, from Filey Brigg in the North, to Flamborough Lighthouse in the South. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
5 Leys Filey, Yorkshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing