We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Extra touches made it excellent B&B choice”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Filey
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Seafield Guest House
Ranked #2 of 19 Filey B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 30 July 2012

We've just got back from a 2 night stay at the Seafield B&B in Filey and would highly recommend it.

Location was great for the little town and the seafront. Parking was a bit hit and miss but we always managed to find a space, if not in Rutland Street, then in the adjacent road. It would probably have taken you 5 -10 mins to walk to the train or bus station. There were plenty of pubs and a nice choice of restaurants and take aways within easy walking distance.

We stayed in the Kingsize room on the ground floor. The bed was really big and comfortable and I slept like a baby! The room and en-suite were spotless.

Facilities were really good. It's nice when the hairdryer in a room is actually better than your own. There were a few thoughtful 'extra' touches such as lovely toiletries, nice biscuits with the tea and coffee making facilities, plus a separate switch for the fan in the bathroom so that you could switch the light on at night without the whir of the extractor.

We were given a form both evenings to fill in for the next morning's breakfast, between 8am and 9am. The choice was excellent and service super efficient. My husband had a full English both mornings, I had the scrambled egg one morning and an omelette the next. Everything was cooked to perfection. The fresh fruit, yoghurt and good selection of jams were a nice addition.

Filey itself is a lot smaller than Bridlington and Scarborough but a lot more unspoilt. The beach is beautiful and the view from the cliff top amazing. The sea in the natural bay was flat calm when we visited. We also visited the little museum on Queen Street (I think) on our last morning and for a small attraction there was a surprising amount of interesting and quirky little exhibits. This would be a good base to explore the local area and for keen walkers.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LargoGarbo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SeafieldFiley, Owner at Seafield Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded 3 August 2012

Thank you so much for taking the time to write such a positive and comprehensive review of your stay at The Seafield. We really appreciate your comments and we are sure that other guests thinking of staying in Filey, and hopefully at The Seafield, will find this helpful too. We look forward to your next stay soon - many thanks

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (352)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

248 - 254 of 352 reviews

Reviewed 29 July 2012

We have just returned from two night's stay at this lovely guest house in Filey. We were celebrating our wedding anniversary and Suzanne and Vince really made our mini break feel special. Nothing was too much trouble for them!
The Seafield is very tastefully decorated and there has been much attention paid to details which make their clients feel welcome. The furnishings are of good quality and very comfortable. We appreciated a bottle of water being provided in addition to the range of teas and coffees on the hospitality tray. There were also some delicious Border biscuits!
The award winning breakfasts certainly lived up to their reputation - they tasted gorgeous!
We'll certainly be returning here when we next visit Filey.
Many thanks, Suzanne and Vince.
From Jean & Gary from Barlborough, near Chesterfield. xx

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jean L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SeafieldFiley, Owner at Seafield Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded 30 July 2012

Well thank you so much - we really appreciate your positive comments and are delighted that you will be making a return visit - we look forward to seeing you again soon - many thanks.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 July 2012

A really good place to stay - it was a return visit for us and we hope to be back again before too long. A warm welcome from helpful hosts, very clean and comfortable rooms and fine breakfasts - fully living up to expectations.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank clive and pat w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SeafieldFiley, Owner at Seafield Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded 30 July 2012

Thank you for taking the time to write this very positive review of your stay at The Seafield. It was lovely to see you again and it is great that you are planning your next stay soon - we look forward to it too - many thanks.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 July 2012

Stayed for 2 nights in the family room. The room was lovely exceptionally clean with lots of added extras. Can recommend the scrambled eggs an salmon breakfast and homemade jams...hosts were lovely. Website does not do this b&b justice..excellent location...free parking on road..would win '4 in a bed programme..' they should enter.  thanku for. Lovely stay...

  • Stayed: June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank denise196008
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SeafieldFiley, Owner at Seafield Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded 30 July 2012

Thank you for this fantastic review. We are delighted that you enjoyed your two night stay and we are particularly pleased that you loved the breakfasts and feel happy to recommend us to others. We look forward to your return visit soon - many thanks.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 July 2012

We booked 2 nights in the Seafield Guest House and were amazed. We were given an extremely warm welcome and immediately offered refreshments. The whole place is spotlessly clean and well decorated with a very friendly atmosphere. Nothing was too much trouble, including any travel information or dinner reservations required, and attention to detail was second to none. The breakfast was superb (especially the home made jams) We would certainly stay here again and would recommend it to anyone.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Andrew S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SeafieldFiley, Owner at Seafield Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded 18 July 2012

Thank you very much for taking the time to write this brilliant review of your stay with us at The Seafield. We are really pleased that you enjoyed your stay and especially, that you enjoyed our breakfasts and hospitality. We are delighted that you will be staying with us again and would recommend us to anyone - many thanks, we look forward to your next visit.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 July 2012

booked 2 nights in the fantastic seafield guest house with a freind. what an amazing place it is. Vince and Suzanne graced us with such a warm welcome into there house. upon arival was offerd tea or coffee ( the best thing to have after a 3hour journey) while relaxing in there peaceful lounge! vince and suzanne explained places to explore and the best places to dine out witch was very usefull to us as we did not know the area. well the bedrooms are like a kings palace... absolutely spotless the attention to detail to all the decorating is second to none and the beds are so comfortable. The breakfast was cooked to perfection by vince and suzannes freindly waitering service is brilliant. i would 110% recomend seafied guest house to anyone and very much look forward to staying here again. Big Big thankyou to vince and suzanne. adam(kettering)

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Adam1991
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 16 July 2012

Thank you very much for taking the time to write this fantastic review of your stay at The Seafield. We are so pleased that you loved your time here and also that you enjoyed the local area so much! It is great that you are thinking about your return trip already! Many thanks and looking forward to your next stay.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 July 2012

Booked 2 nights in the Seafield Guest House on Rutland St Filey- what a find. My husband, who loves his cooked breakfast said it was the best breakfast he had ever had - anywhere! The whole house is spotless & Suzanne the owner is very attentive. It was like being in a deluxe hotel but without the impersonal service one often gets in hotels.We will be coming back soon & not alone. This is the kind of wonderful experience you want to share friends- Well done.

Room Tip: The King bedroom on the first floor ( Room 2 ) is great.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank B W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 16 July 2012

Well, what a review; thank you so much! It is great that you enjoyed the breakfasts - really important to us - and also that you loved your stay whilst here. Looking forward to seeing you and your friends soon - many thanks.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Filey hotels
2.2 mi away
Wrangham House Hotel
Wrangham House Hotel
#1 of 1 in Hunmanby
199 reviews
0.2 mi away
White Lodge Hotel
White Lodge Hotel
#2 of 3 in Filey
426 reviews
0.0 mi away
Esmae House
Esmae House
#3 of 19 in Filey
121 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.3 mi away
The Southgate Bed & Breakfast
1.3 mi away
The Royal Oak Near Filey
0.1 mi away
Athol House
Athol House
#6 of 19 in Filey
148 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Seafield Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Seafield Guest House

Address: 9 Rutland Street | North Yorkshire, Filey YO14 9JA, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Scarborough District > Filey
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 19 B&Bs / Inns in Filey
Price Range: £40 - £110 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A warm welcome awaits at The Seafield Licensed Guest House. Start the day with a choice from our award winning Deliciously Yorkshire breakfast -traditional or lighter option - whatever your choice you can rest assured that we aim to use fresh locally sourced produce. Our elegant Guest Lounge is available for your relaxation and enjoyment. To add to your experience, why not sample our locally brewed Wold Top Ales- wine and lager also available. And as the day draws to a close, feel pampered in our luxuriously comfortable beds, with quality linen and soft fluffy towels. All rooms are en-suite and individually and tastefully decorated. Each has complimentary quality beverages and toiletries, hairdryer, fan, flat screen TV, and free WiFi. Situated close to all local amenities we are perfectly positioned for a perfect stay. Open All Year. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Seafield Guest House Hotel Filey
Seafield Guest House Filey, Yorkshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing