We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Perfect” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Forge Guest House

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Filey
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
The Forge Guest House
Ranked #6 of 19 Filey B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Princes Risborough, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Perfect”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 November 2013

This is my second visit to this guest house, having previously visited on my own. The rooms are immaculate and Andrew and Sarah are very polite, friendly, helpful and hospitable, we thank them for looking after us so well. I doubt you would find a better place to stay.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank JC712
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
The_Forge_Filey, Owner at The Forge Guest House, responded to this review, 5 November 2013
Thank you very much for your kind words.
I'm so happy we were able to help you have such a good Birthday.
We look forward to welcoming you back again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

164 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    151
    10
    1
    2
    0
See reviews for
22
98
6
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (31)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 October 2013

We came for my 30th birthday weekend and we really enjoyed our stay we are very happy with the room service and friendly hosts. The forge guest house is a really enjoyable place to stay cant wait to stay again thanks for making my weekend a great one x

  • Stayed October 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank LesleyHarrison83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
The_Forge_Filey, Owner at The Forge Guest House, responded to this review, 8 October 2013
Thanks for your kind words, We are so happy to have helped make your birthday weekend so special.
Hope you had a good trip home & we look forward to seeing you both again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 September 2013

I can only add to the earlier comments about the Forge in that the owners, Sarah and Andrew, couldn't be more friendlier and helpful. The room was immaculately clean and spotless, the bed comfortable and the shower and extras second to none.

The healthy breakfasts were beautifully cooked and presented - the fresh fruit salad and yoghurt delicious and not forgetting the wonderfully tasty home made marmalade.

To top my three day visit, the weather was perfect. I shall definitely recommend the Forge to my friends and will be back to enjoy this first class b&b!! Thank you for your hospitality during my stay Andrew and Sarah, I thoroughly enjoyed my visit.

ChrisD
04.09.13

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ChrissieAD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
The_Forge_Filey, Owner at The Forge Guest House, responded to this review, 8 September 2013
Thank you for youe very kind words, We are really happy that we helped you enjoy your time here at the Forge & here in Filey.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Doncaster, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 September 2013

We have just spent nights nights at this lovely place in Filey. The owners are welcoming and friendly and were very competent when dealing with my requirements for a gluten free diet. Our room was spotless and well appointed and the extra touches in the bathroom ...shampoo, lotion etc were very pleasing. We really enjoyed the breakfasts which were plentiful and of a good variety. An excellent tea tray was available daily together with biscuits and snacks. The location of The Forge is excellent ...being very close to the gardens, town and a short walk to the beach. A really relaxing, enjoyable place to stay. Many thanks.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Wendy W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
The_Forge_Filey, Owner at The Forge Guest House, responded to this review, 4 September 2013
Thank you for you most kind thoughts, we do our best with special diets, we look forward to welcoming you back to Filey again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 August 2013

Welcome arrival, very nice welcome tray, well decorated, good position ,helpful about bus to York,but marred for us by being sat in the draft in the doorway for breakfast, despite the room being empty at the time! When we queried this, we were told it was because we were only staying one night, like we were some kind of second class citizen. Beware the poached egg and haddock too, it was a piece of haddock smaller than it's accompanying egg .So good beginning, less good ending.
Seagulls were noisy from dawn, but you could get used to them.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank 867Jane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
The_Forge_Filey, Owner at The Forge Guest House, responded to this review, 27 August 2013
We are sorry that you were disappointed with your stay at The Forge Guest House.
We try very hard to make every guest feel welcome & at breakfast no offence was intended by your table allocation. As we explained all our guests were part way through multiple night visits & the table that you requested was taken by a couple half way through a full weeks stay. We did not feel it right to expect them to move.
Here at The Forge Guest House we pride ourselves on the qualty of our breakfasts and can only apoligise if you feel we fell short of our own standards. We would have happily have rectified the situation if you had brought your dissatisfaction to our attention when invited.
Once again we are sorry that you did not fully enjoy your stay here at The Forge Guest House.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
52 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 August 2013

Friendly welcome with coffee and cake on arrival. Clean, comfortable and comprehensively equipped room. Good knowledge of local restaurants. Excellent choice for breakfast including my favourite smoked haddock and poached egg. Reasonably priced, very good value and the B & B I shall return to on my next visit to Filey.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Dots122
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
The_Forge_Filey, Owner at The Forge Guest House, responded to this review, 27 August 2013
Thank you very much for your kind appraisal of your stay here at The Forge Guest House.
We look forward to welcoming you back to The Forge in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sheffield
Level Contributor
72 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 August 2013 via mobile

Stayed here at short notice and they were so accommodating to all our needs. Everything you could need in the room, hairdryer, good quality products and even cotton buds! Great welcome tray, and lovely little touches. Great hosts, and a good quality breakfast, best B and B I have stayed in. A must if visiting Filey

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Claire999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Filey
0.2 mi away
White Lodge Hotel
White Lodge Hotel
#2 of 3 in Filey
4.5 of 5 bubbles 337 reviews
6.6 mi away
The Crown Spa Hotel
The Crown Spa Hotel
#6 of 28 in Scarborough
4.0 of 5 bubbles 4,500 reviews
2.5 mi away
The Royal Oak Near Filey
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Binton Guest House
Binton Guest House
#14 of 19 in Filey
5.0 of 5 bubbles 53 reviews
0.3 mi away
No photo provided
Hallam Guest House
#7 of 13 in Filey
4.5 of 5 bubbles 131 reviews
2.6 mi away
Crows Nest Caravan Park
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Forge Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Forge Guest House

Property: The Forge Guest House
Address: 23 Rutland Street, Filey YO14 9JA, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Scarborough District > Filey
Amenities:
Free Breakfast
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 19 B&Bs / Inns in Filey
Hotel Class:4 star — The Forge Guest House 4*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Come relax and unwind at The Forge Guest House. The Forge is situated in a quiet location with free on street parking. The bus & train stations are within easy reach. Everything Filey has to offer, including stunning views across Filey bay from the beautiful Crescent Gardens, the golden beach, cliff top walks, cafes, restaurants & pubs, are only a few minutes stroll away. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
The Forge Guest House Filey, Yorkshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing