We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Comfy Bed, Welcoming hosts”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Filey
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
The Forge Guest House
Ranked #4 of 19 Filey B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 5 May 2014

Excellent comfy bed, spotlessly clean bedroom and lovely fresh linen. Shower room very compact, lovely soft towels. Fantastic choice of breakfast. Great location. You would not be disappointed with your visit. Thank you

Room Tip: Shower room very compact, but ok for a couple of nights.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank CMK60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
The_Forge_Filey, Owner at The Forge Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded 8 May 2014

We are really pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us.
Whilst your shower room is compact, we believe we have made the most of the space available with careful design and attention to details and so are very glad that it did not detract from your stay with us.
We are looking forward to welcoming you both to The Forge is the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (199)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

134 - 140 of 199 reviews

Reviewed 21 April 2014

Just got home from The Forge and what a wonderfull place to stay with wonderfull hosts beds comfortable breakfast very nice all in all a very nice stay . Its the little touches like the chocolate eggs that makes the place great .Thankyou Andrew and Sarah for making me and my husband feel very welcome.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank liz906
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
The_Forge_Filey, Owner at The Forge Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded 22 April 2014

Sarah & I are so pleased that you enjoyed the little Easter eggstras,
When you next come to Filey we look forward to being here to help you have another enjoyable break.
Thank you for your kind comments.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 April 2014

With a courteous gracious welcome, into a beautiful creative period Guest House. Everything was of the very best of quality from entrance to bedrooms, decorated to a high standard.
The bedroom was spacious with the finest linens and bedding. T.V. tea, coffee and confectionery.
A perfect shower room, with his and hers towels. crisp dressing gowns and comfy slippers.
Breakfast was just perfect, a full range of cereals,fruit & porridge {the best I have tasted} a wide and full range of cooked food, with chef specials. You could skip lunch.
We have visited a many hostelry over our 70 years and we are putting The Forge with the very best at the top of our list.
We thank-you Andrew & Sarah your award from us is GOLD.
Thomas & Ruth Metcalfe.

Room Tip: Can only comment on room No 2 Perfect.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ThosColne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
The_Forge_Filey, Owner at The Forge Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded 22 April 2014

Thank you so very much for your kind words.
Sarah & I are very happy that you enjoyed your stay so much.
We look forward to welcoming you both back soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 April 2014 via mobile

My colleague and I stayed here on a business trip to the local area and had a fantastic nights stay. The room was clean and modern, with little touches that made us smile. We were greeted with tea and cakes by the lovely hosts whom we could not fault, their customer service was second to none. The beds themselves were luxurious as were the towels and dressing gowns. We felt very rested and I would recommend this B&B to anyone looking for a relaxing retreat. The breakfast was also brilliant quality and just the right portion size. In addition to the cooked food there was a large choice of buffet foods, cereal and fruit.
5 stars from us, we couldn't fault it :)

  • Stayed: April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank WearyTravellerH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
The_Forge_Filey, Owner at The Forge Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded 13 April 2014

Thank you so much for your review.
We do our best to look after our guests & it really good to hear that we are going in the right direction.
Thank you.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 March 2014

My wife and I stayed at The Forge for one night on each of two occasions during January and February 2014. Andrew and Sarah are a delightful couple who have created an extremely comfortable, modern and welcoming B&B. They are both very cheerful and quite happy to stand and chat or to just let you get on with your stay. The room was perfectly clean and fresh and the en-suite was small but had plenty of lovely towels and soaps, etc. The bed was very comfortable and the room was lovely and warm. Breakfast in the morning, ordered the night before, was beautifully cooked and the dining room was, again, immaculately clean, very nicely decorated and warm. Both visits were a joy. We could not understand why, during the half term school break, we were the only occupants. This is a little hidden treasure and we highly recommend a stay at The Forge to anyone looking for inexpensive quality in Filey.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Tim S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
The_Forge_Filey, Owner at The Forge Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded 13 April 2014

Thank you so much for you kind words.
We are so glad that you enjoyed your stay with us here at the Forge Guesthouse.
We look forward to welcoming you back again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 February 2014

We only stayed for one night, a surprise from my girlfriend, but what a jewel of a place. From the moment we walked in to be met by our hosts, to the tea and cake in our room on arrival, to the superb quality breakfast, amazing choice, all was without fault. Room and bed very comfortable, shower plenty powerful and hot. All in all, we would rate this as one of the best B & B guest houses we have ever stayed in. Excellent value for money, Andrew and Sarah are absolutely first class hosts, attentive but not overly so, helpful and willing to advise on what Filey has to offer. Will certainly be back. To anyone who has cause to complain, you would strike me as the sort of person who would find something to moan about if you had a night in the Ritz for £20.00 absolutely faultless in our opinion.

Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Colsworld
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
The_Forge_Filey, Owner at The Forge Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded 5 February 2014

Thank you for your kind words, I'm so glad you had such a nice stay here at The Forge.
Both Sarah & I look forward to welcoming you back to Filey.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 November 2013

What a lovely guest house, coffee , muffins and biscuits soon as you arrive. The room was done out lovely and was spotless. The breakfast was superb although my hubby would have liked a bigger plateful but it was plentiful for me.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MausieDoncaster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
The_Forge_Filey, Owner at The Forge Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded 5 November 2013

It was good to see you again & nice to meet your partner.
I'm glad you both had such a nice stay.
We do look forward to seeing you both again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Filey hotels
0.2 mi away
White Lodge Hotel
White Lodge Hotel
#2 of 3 in Filey
430 reviews
0 mi away
Esmae House
Esmae House
#2 of 19 in Filey
122 reviews
0.1 mi away
Athol House
Athol House
#5 of 19 in Filey
149 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Filey Grange Guest House
0.1 mi away
White Rose Guest House
2.3 mi away
The Southgate Bed & Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Forge Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Forge Guest House

Address: 23 Rutland Street, Filey YO14 9JA, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Scarborough District > Filey
Amenities:
Free Breakfast
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 19 B&Bs / Inns in Filey
Hotel Class:4 star — The Forge Guest House 4*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Come relax and unwind at The Forge Guest House. The Forge is situated in a quiet location with free on street parking. The bus & train stations are within easy reach. Everything Filey has to offer, including stunning views across Filey bay from the beautiful Crescent Gardens, the golden beach, cliff top walks, cafes, restaurants & pubs, are only a few minutes stroll away. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
The Forge Guest House Filey, Yorkshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing