We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Amazing stay”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Filey
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Reighton Sands Holiday Park - Haven
Ranked #2 of 13 Speciality Lodging in Filey
Certificate of Excellence
King's Lynn, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Amazing stay”
Reviewed 1 August 2014

We chose to stay here as wanted to stay in Yorkshire. Coming through the turn in road was stunning. The views were magnificent. Our caravan was not ready in time but we were not bored as we got a free drink each. We had a standard caravan as we were bringing a dog. So sadly we had no ocean view. The caravan was very clean and had all our basic needs. One thing that could have been improved was the beds in the twin room which were not very comfy. the lazy river and pool were clean but we didn't use the pool but we did use the lazy river twice as it was very fun and I loved going under the waterfall and putting your hand in front of the large water tap to get my family wet. The entertainment at night was very good for a caravan park . My favourite acts were the pink tribute act , the dad disco competition ( go win ) and the rock and roll act. It was family bingo so we expected the prizes to be family prizes however they were teddy bears and things. The beach was stunning , it was worth the long walk down. We did make use of the train one of the times. The spar shop had all of the basic needs however things in there were quite expensive. We did eat in the mash and barrel. Don't listen to other reviews about it being expensive as we got 3 adult meals and 3 drinks for 26 pounds. It was yummy. I would recommend the 4 layer fudge cake with ice cream and sauce as it was REALLY nice. If you go before 5pm then you get an early bird discount so you get a quarter of your money of your meal.
The arcade was not that good and could do with a few more games that were not very expensive however the simulator arcade game was fun. We visited Scarbrough , Peasholm park , Filey bird and animal garden ( you can bring dogs ) , flambrough head , Whitby... and so on. It was a very nice 4 night stay and would return ( hopefully we would get a caravan with comfier beds!) we loved it.

Room Tip: In a standard caravan the twin bedroom beds are not very comfy , it could be worth an upgrade if you...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank daddycool01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reighton Sands H, Manager at Reighton Sands Holiday Park - Haven, responded to this review, 12 August 2014
Hello

Thank you for posting this review of your recent stay with us.

We pride ourselves here at Reighton Sands for havening the best sea views in the area – I’m pleased you were stunned by them.

I’m pleased you enjoyed the Pink tribute act, we have lots of different tribute acts on most Mondays throughout peak.

Thank you for the recommendation on the fudge cake – these are my absolute favourite. Very tasty indeed.

I hope we get the pleasure in welcoming you back again soon.

Kind Regards
Nicola Campbell
Holiday Experience Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,017 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    454
    323
    156
    37
    47
See reviews for
685
135
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (131)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Leeds, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 July 2014

My wife and I and our baby stayed here in a caravan booked privately through Reighton Sands Caravans. The caravan itself was very modern and a really good size. It was well equipped too with everything you might need and when we arrived we found it to be spotlessly clean. The only negative was the shower, which constantly went from warm to cold and back again. It didn’t stay cold long though and the shower cubical was large enough to step out of the way when it did!

The caravan park was great too. The grounds were immaculate and all members of staff we encountered were exceptionally friendly. We particularly enjoyed going down to the beach which has a small café/shop and toilets. We usually got the “train” but walked back up once and found it wasn’t as tiring as we feared, even carrying a baby. We found the onsite bar Mash and Barrel to be really nice and the food was excellent. Sitting out in the beer garden in the sun was very relaxing.

I don’t think there is as much going on at this site as the other nearby Haven site but that was perfect for us as a couple with a baby.

We were really glad we stayed here and would definitely come again.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Greg L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reighton Sands H, Manager at Reighton Sands Holiday Park - Haven, responded to this review, 12 August 2014
Hello

Thank you so much for posting this great 5 STAR review.

I’m pleased you found Reighton Sands to be perfect for your family – we are smaller than the other close by Haven parks but we still offer a wide range of fun packed entertainment and activities.

Thank you for your kind comments on the grounds being kept immaculate and the teams being exceptionally friendly – I know all the teams on park work really hard to make sure our guests receive a great holiday experience. They will be so thrilled to read your comments.

I really hope we get the chance to welcome you back again soon for another fantastic break.

Kind Regards
Nicola Campbell
Holiday Experience Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
East Riding of Yorkshire
Level Contributor
49 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 July 2014

Tenting
Stayed on this park on three separate occasions during July, very mixed impressions. If you are looking for electric hook ups then forget it. The tenting area is situated at the very end of the park, accessed via a poorly maintained gravel road. There is no vehicle access to the central tenting area, On our first visit here we had a lightweight tent so parking the car around the perimeter was not a problem. The central area tenting area is not flat grassland but on a steep incline, there are only two cold water taps and as stated earlier no electric hook up points. There was good family atmosphere in the central area. for our second visit we decided to pitch our tent at the very top of the site for two reasons, you get a great view sea view and secondly we were able to park our car next to the tent. The downside is it can get rather windy, we had the misfortune to be situated next fellow campers that took no account of the wind direction, they lit a bbq. To cut a long story short because of the intense smoke we had to vacate our tent until they had finished. We have just returned from our third visit a day early because of a foul mouthed inconsiderate family that pitched their tents next to ours at the top of the site. There were more than a dozen of them, drinking and swearing, with no consideration at all for their fellow guests. As soon as they returned to their tents the hatchback was opened one of the their vehicles and the music was pumped up very loud. On this occasion we had ditched our old tent for a brand new expensive 8 berth tent with all the trimmings, we daren't leave it unattended, in fact we were told by site staff not to leave it unattended, so basically we spent two days marooned on site. In the end we gave up and returned home a day earlier than planned. In Conclusion this is a nice holiday park but in our opinion the tenting area in contrast to the rest of the park need tidying up and at the very least there should be electric hook up facilities. We would stay here again but we would certainly not pitch our tent again at the top left hand corner no mature how good the view.

Room Tip: Maybe we were just unlucky but we would avoid pitching our tent in that left hand corner on the high...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Escallops
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reighton Sands H, Manager at Reighton Sands Holiday Park - Haven, responded to this review, 12 August 2014
Hello

Thank you for posting this review of your recent stay.

I’m sorry you felt you needed to cut your stay short and travel home a day early.

If you would like to discuss any of these points further then please contact me direct on 01723 890 476.

Kind Regards
Nicola Campbell
Holiday Experience Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Darlington, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
22 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 July 2014

Just returned from 4 nights Camping at Reighton Sands Haven- Holiday Park. Arrived early at the Park and went to reception, received our passes and were informed by a very helpful receptionist that we could go and pitch our tent when ever we liked and need not wait until 12.

The location of the camping area is fantastic, an elevated position overlooking the sea and beach below, there was plenty of room and when our friends arrived a few hours later they could still pitch their tent next to ours. The area was clean and tidy and very well kept.

The Park it`s self is what we have come to expect from Haven, smart, clean, well signposted and friendly. The entertainment and Character Shows are excellent family entertainment and the Fun Stars were brilliant, getting all the children to feel included must be a tough job however they do it every time.

The swimming pool is clean and well maintained, also plenty of life guards on duty keeping a good level of order. Our children particularly loved the Outdoor Lazy River which is heated, although we had fantastic weather, and spent a whole afternoon splashing around.

As is our tradition we had breakfast in the Mash & Barrel on our last day, cooked Breakfast for two adults, two children with drinks, tea and coffee for under £20 is pretty good and the bonus being the Characters show up and spend time with the children, this really makes the end of our holiday special.

The Park is one of the smaller Haven sites I believe, it has no soft play, Burger King or Pizza restaurant, not that we ever use them but just a heads up. It is as with all Haven Sites a fantastic Family Holiday Venue at a great price.

We are looking forward to our October trip to Haggerston Castle and my Wife is looking forward to her annual Mums and kids Camping Holiday to Blue Dolphin in a weeks time, the fact that it is so affordable means that the Summer Holidays fly by and our children are entertained and have lots of happy Memories.

Room Tip: Get there a little early as you can choose a great pitch if your camping and still use all the facil...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MikeKay35
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reighton Sands H, Manager at Reighton Sands Holiday Park - Haven, responded to this review, 15 August 2014
Hello

Thank you so much for sharing such a lovely review,

We are very lucky to be situated in such a great location and I’m pleased you were able to enjoy the stunning views we have.

Thank you for your great comments on the park being clean and smart – I know all the teams work hard to achieve this high standard and will be so pleased to see that it isn’t going unnoticed.

I hope you enjoy your holiday at Blue Dolphin and are able to create lots more happy memories.
I hope to get the pleasure in welcoming you all back to Reighton Sands again soon.

Kind Regards
Nicola Campbell
Holiday Experience Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
24 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 July 2014

I have just returned from a very good and relaxed holiday with my family the park is well set out and easy to find your way around all staff are helpful and friendly it has access to a beach all be it down a steep hill but they do run a little train down to beach the park is good for/static/touring or camping lots to do for kids big and small adults will love it too give it a try!!!

  • Stayed July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Stephen l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reighton Sands H, Manager at Reighton Sands Holiday Park - Haven, responded to this review, 15 August 2014
Hello

Thank you so much for this brilliant review – 5 STARS all round.

I’m pleased you had a very relaxing holiday with us – I often find the atmosphere on the park helps as it’s always so friendly.

Thank you for the recommendation – we cater for all ages and although we are one of the smaller Haven parks we still have lots to offer.

I hope to welcome you back again soon for another relaxing holiday with us.

Kind Regards
Nicola Campbell
Holiday Experience Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
56 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 July 2014

We have a permanent caravan here and it's great. The scenery is awesome and there are some fantastic walks to be discovered. I love this resort. The live shows they put on are great and they are definitely varied. The activities they offer are great and you can enjoy activities such as air rifle shooting. The walk to the beach is short and there is a beach hut down there with toilets and a Costa coffee. The resort is quite compared with other reports. The pool is great and there is just so much to keep the kids and yourself busy. It's definitely worth a visit.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Abijvr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reighton Sands H, Manager at Reighton Sands Holiday Park - Haven, responded to this review, 15 August 2014
Hello

Thank you so much for the great review and the recommendation for Reighton Sands.

It really sounds like you make the most of your time here – I also love the live shows and often find myself in the Showbar watching them.

I know the teams on park will be so pleased to read all your kind comments, thank you once again.

Please pop into reception when you’re passing as I would love to be able to put a face to this amazing review.

Kind Regards
Nicola Campbell
Holiday Experience Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Peterborough, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 July 2014

We stayed at Reighton Sands (with a tourer) for 4 nights in July 2014. First tip, don't miss the turning which is very clear (not sure how we missed it!) as you'll find yourself down a single track very rough road and struggle to get out like we did.

The park has 2 touring areas, area 1 is situated just behind the club house and swimming pool and contains 3 rows of hardstanding pitches which must be reversed on to and touring area 2 is a bit further away next to the tents, they appear to be parked however not in neat lines like area 1. Toilet block at area 1 seemed very new and was very nice, showers were too hot though with no way of altering temperature, I couldn't let my toddler shower in it. Toilet block at area 2 seemed much older and dated, it's also shared with campers so I can imagine it gets much busier than the other one. We chose area 1 as we have a toddler and didn't want to walk too far to swimming pool and I like nice toilet/shower blocks.

Be careful when choosing your pitches, area 1 is on a slope with some pitches worse than others, the middle row probably has the least slope. Area 2 seemed a bit flatter. The pitches aren't massive on 1, you park your car opposite the road so it is close to you but not next to you. Rock pegs are a must for awnings though even that was tough at times to get in.

The park itself was very nice, not too large and the swimming pool with outdoor lazy river was good too. Didn't use the club house or restaurant so can't comment on this.

Overall we really enjoyed ourselves at this park and we would return again, we visited Whitby, robin hoods bay, Filey, Scarborough and had a drive through the moors which was beautiful so it's well positioned for visiting East Yorkshire.

Our only negatives really would be that we didn't like the all the rocks on the pitches it made it uncomfortable to walk on and hard work to put the awning up, although our toddler had great fun playing with them with a bucket and spade. Pitches on area 1 were also very tight to get in to, we're new to touring and really struggled, fortunately there were some kind people around us who helped otherwise we wouldn't of managed it. This experience has made us decide to invest in a motor mover so if you have one already you'll be fine.

Never been to a Haven site before and was a bit worried about it but it was definitely a good experience (good job really we're off to Perran Sands, Caister and Wild Duck later in the year!) so I would recommend this to anyone considering visiting Reighton Sands.

Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank 2312Sue3110
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reighton Sands H, Guest Relations Manager at Reighton Sands Holiday Park - Haven, responded to this review, 11 August 2014
Hello there thank you for taking the time to leave a review.

I’m thrilled to read that you chose Reighton Sands for your first visit to Haven and that your experience here was good. It sounds like you had a great time on park and exploring the local area; I agree that there are some lovely places to visit right on our door step.

We hope that you have an equally enjoyable time visiting our other Haven parks and look forward to hopefully welcoming you back here sometime soon.

Kind regard
Lesley Thurwell
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Filey
3.0 mi away
White Lodge Hotel
White Lodge Hotel
#2 of 3 in Filey
4.5 of 5 bubbles 365 reviews
9.7 mi away
The Crown Spa Hotel
The Crown Spa Hotel
#6 of 28 in Scarborough
4.0 of 5 bubbles 4,748 reviews
2.9 mi away
Wrangham House Hotel
Wrangham House Hotel
#1 of 1 in Hunmanby
4.5 of 5 bubbles 178 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.5 mi away
Red Lea Hotel
Red Lea Hotel
#11 of 28 in Scarborough
4.0 of 5 bubbles 358 reviews
6.0 mi away
Expanse Hotel
Expanse Hotel
#1 of 6 in Bridlington
4.0 of 5 bubbles 546 reviews
5.7 mi away
Crows Nest Caravan Park
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Reighton Sands Holiday Park - Haven? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Reighton Sands Holiday Park - Haven

Property: Reighton Sands Holiday Park - Haven
Address: Ghyll Field, Filey YO14 9SH, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Scarborough District > Filey
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 13 Speciality Lodging in Filey
Hotel Class:4 star — Reighton Sands Holiday Park - Haven 4*
Number of rooms: 200
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A family holiday park set on a fantastic clifftop location with views over Filey bay. Direct private beach access to 5 miles of sandy beach. Indoor and outdoor pools, free entertainment, restaurants, supermarket and 9 hole golf course. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Reighton Sands Holiday Park Hotel Filey
Reighton Sands Holiday Park - Haven Filey, Yorkshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing