We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best place in Filey”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Abbot's Leigh Guest House
Ranked #7 of 19 Filey B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Best place in Filey”
Reviewed 29 May 2014

Unfortunately only stayed one night but will definitely be coming again just so we can stay longer. We had room 5 monstrous bed took me a few minutes to find hubby! (not a bad thing) Very comfortable bed and room clean and plenty of bedding in cupboard (not sure why but that's guests for you as plenty on bed and it was lovely and snugly)) refreshments to hand with fresh milk even had sachets of cup a soup! very much doubt if anyone will have them as Stephanie's breakfast are great not overloaded but perfect and Chris is so attentive bringing out more tea/coffee and toast if you so desired. you will never go hungry here. Not a pre pack of butter or jam or sauce in sight whoopee all fresh, fresh fruit yogurt cereals homemade granola fruit juice. Stephanie also makes amazing pancakes which are on the to have next time we stay.
Greeted very warmly by Chris who is mine field of events, plus homemade sponge cake on arrival and a cuppa. he whole place is spotless and fresh flowers on table and in hallway even have towels by front door for pets, plenty of leaflets, everything has been thought of so as a guest its just sit back and chill. nothing is too much trouble for this delightful couple and they deserve top marks.

Room Tip: We had room 5 massive bed en suite though I think all rooms are in a quiet location although busy s...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Joh C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stephanie S, Owner at Abbot's Leigh Guest House, responded to this review, 2 June 2014
Hello both and thank you for this glowing review, We are very happy we were able to make your stay so enjoyable and hope to see you again very soon. Thanks again for taking the time to write a review, it is much appreciated.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

176 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    170
    6
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
29
108
2
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (46)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Nottingham, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 27 May 2014

We phoned pretty much last minute wanting to stay for a night... There were three of us. Steph managed to give us a triple room. We arrived and couldn't find the bulding so phoned and steph came outside waving her arms around so we knew where to go! upon arrival we were made to feel very welcome and steph had been baking and have us some amazing lemon cakes! The room was so nice and felt homely. So clean and fresh. Huge selection of tea, coffee, hot chocolate cuppa soups and biscuits in our room. Both steph and chris let us know all the places to go to and avoid. So helpful! I had a travel iron that didn't work so I asked if they had one I could borrow and they even ironed my clothes! Lovely couple. The bed was so comfy. After a great sleep we mad our way down for breakfast. Amazing!!!! We had the full English. So fresh and great quality, nice selection of cereals yoghurts fresh berries orange juice and tea/coffee! And what seemed like unlimited toast with jams/marmite! Would stay here again absolutely lovely stay and great hosts!!! Many thanks

  • Stayed May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jamie100989
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stephanie S, Owner at Abbot's Leigh Guest House, responded to this review, 29 May 2014
Hello Gentlemen and thank you very much for such a great review. It was very nice to meet you all and we will look forward to your next visit to Filey and Abbots Leigh. Thank you again for taking the time to write a review, we hope to see you all again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leeds, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 26 May 2014

This was our first time staying over in Filey and staying at Abbotsleigh made it all the more
worthwhile. The Guest House is lovely and clean with modern furnishings and a warm welcome.
We were greeted with home made Victoria sponge cakes which were delicious with a nice cup of
tea! There are not many people who would take the time to do that! Stephanie and Chris are
very thoughtful and cannot do enough for you during your stay. It is an old cliché but it certainly is 'home from home'. The breakfasts are also a speciality. We would recommend anyone
visiting Filey or looking to book a holiday there to visit Stephanie and Chris at Abbots Leigh.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ann H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stephanie S, Owner at Abbot's Leigh Guest House, responded to this review, 29 May 2014
Hi there you two, it was a great pleasure meeting you both and we are so pleased you have enjoyed your first visit to Filey and abbots Leigh. We will look forward to your next visit in the near future very much. thank you very much for taking the time to write a review, it realy is appreciated. See you soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
s yorks
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 May 2014

My husband Bob and I have just returned after a wonderful 5 day stay at Abbot's Leigh This is the 2nd time we have stayed at this fabulous place From the moment we arrived ( to a welcoming pot of tea and Steph's home made cake ) we felt like it was returning home and all of life stresses had disappeared Chris and Steph are amazing hosts extremely friendly and nothing is too much trouble for them Our room once again was immaculate with lots of little extra touches The bed was so comfortable and the en suite had a lovely large shower The breakfast served here is a feast with plenty to choose from , cooked to perfection and well presented We look forward to our next stay which I am sure will be in the not too distant future

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mummymal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stephanie S, Owner at Abbot's Leigh Guest House, responded to this review, 29 May 2014
Good afternoon all, it was lovely to see you both again and we are very pleased you have enjoyed your 2nd stay with us. it is always a pleasure to welcome you both and we hope to see you again very soon. thank you so much for taking the time to write a review, it realy is very much appreciated.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amersham, England, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 May 2014

Just home from a lovely stay at the Abbots Leigh. Chris and Stephanie go above and beyond to make you feel welcome and comfortable in their lovely guest house . Our room (5 ) was very spacious, bright and spotless, very comfortable beds and an ensuite better than most 5 star hotels I've stayed in. Breakfast was one of the nicest I have had in a B&B . We will be back for sure and highly recommend. A short stroll to both Beach and town centre but on a very nice quiet road . Plenty of parking . Thank you for a lovely time .

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Miranda G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stephanie S, Owner at Abbot's Leigh Guest House, responded to this review, 29 May 2014
Hi and thank you so much for this lovely review, it was very nice to see you all again and we are so pleased you are still enjoying your stays with us and visits to Filey. We always look forward to welcoming you all and are looking forward to your next viit allready. Thanks again for taking the time to write a review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 May 2014

We had a 2 night stay at Abbots Leigh over the Easter holidays this is the second time we have stayed at this b&b and everything about both our stays has been excellent. The b&b itself is just perfect rooms are nicely decorated and absolutely spotless. The fact you can take your dog here is great as we take our little dog Muffin with us everywhere. Hosts Stephanie and Chris are fantastic nothing is too much trouble and they make you feel really welcome. We would highly recommend a stay here and we are already planning our next visit.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank wsfletcher2006
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stephanie S, Owner at Abbot's Leigh Guest House, responded to this review, 7 May 2014
Hello there, It was a real pleasure to welcome you back to Abbots Leigh and we are very happy that you enjoyed your second visit so much. We will be looking forward to your next visit in the not to distant future. thank you very much for taking the time to create this review, it realy is appreciated. See you soon..
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Grimsby, England, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 May 2014

Abbot's Leigh Guest House was perfect, location and hospitality was second to none. Breakfast was amazing, one of the best we have had. The room was very clean and tidy with everything that we needed. As the Guest House was in a quiet part of Filey and the fact that the bed was amazingly comfy and we needed a ladder to get into it, we both had a lovely nights sleep. The personal touch of cake and fresh milk confirmed to us that guests are really loved and thought a lot of. This added to the wonderful experience that we had. We would definitely go back to Abbot's Leigh.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Helen T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stephanie S, Owner at Abbot's Leigh Guest House, responded to this review, 7 May 2014
Hello both, We are very pleased you enjoyed your short break with us and are extreamly grateful for your taking the time to write this review. so happy you were pleased with your stay and we look forward to your return visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Filey hotels
0.3 mi away
White Lodge Hotel
White Lodge Hotel
#2 of 3 in Filey
385 reviews
2.3 mi away
Wrangham House Hotel
Wrangham House Hotel
#1 of 1 in Hunmanby
186 reviews
0.2 mi away
No photo provided
Hallam Guest House
#8 of 15 in Filey
134 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Esmae House
Esmae House
#3 of 19 in Filey
112 reviews
2.3 mi away
The Southgate Bed & Breakfast
2.6 mi away
The Royal Oak Near Filey
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Abbot's Leigh Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Abbot's Leigh Guest House

Property: Abbot's Leigh Guest House
Address: 7 Rutland Street, Filey YO14 9JA, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Scarborough District > Filey
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 19 B&Bs / Inns in Filey
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Abbot's Leigh Guest House 4*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A small but very friendly family run guest house situated in the fantastic gem of a town that is Filey. We offer quality accommodation, great home cooked food and a warm welcome as standard. Hope to see you soon. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Book Direct Rooms so you can book your Abbot's Leigh Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Abbot's Leigh Guest House Filey, Yorkshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing