We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“The Best Place to Stay in Filey!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Abbot's Leigh Guest House

Lowest prices for {0} - {1}
Enter dates for lowest prices
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
We check up to 200+ sites for the lowest hotel prices
Abbot's Leigh Guest House
Ranked #7 of 19 Filey B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Bradford, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“The Best Place to Stay in Filey!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 July 2014

What a fantastic place to stay - spotlessly clean, beautifully furnished and every detail thought of! Fresh cakes on arrival were a lovely touch. Stephanie and Chris were extremely friendly and it seemed like nothing was too much trouble, a couple who clearly care a lot about their guests. Rooms were very well equipped with everything needed and more. Breakfast was beautifully presented and very tasty, with a varied choice. We cant wait to stay again and would highly recommend it.

Room Tip: Room 7 was perfect for our family with a double room and an attached, private room for elder child...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TheWhites651
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stephanie S, Owner at Abbot's Leigh Guest House, responded to this review, 30 July 2014
Hello all and thank you so much for writing this fantastic review, we are very happy you enjoyed your stay with us so much and it was a real pleasure to meet the family. we will look forward to greating you all again soon. Thanks again for taking the time to write a review, it is very much appreciated.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

167 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    161
    6
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
29
101
2
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (44)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Barnsley
Level Contributor
15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 July 2014

We have no hesitation in once again recommending this superb bed and breakfast. Stephanie and Chris are excellent hosts Nothing is too much trouble. They even arranged a bouquet of flowers for my wife's birthday. The best recommendation you can give for any business is that you are happy to return again and again and we certainly are!

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Julie W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stephanie S, Manager at Abbot's Leigh Guest House, responded to this review, 20 July 2014
Hi Both
Sorry its taken so long to respond to another fantastic review, we are so glad you enjoyed your stay with us again and are very happy you have decided to visit us again this year, many thanks for taking the time to write us another great review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Northwich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 June 2014

This is probably the best accommodation we've had. Room beautifully appointed, spotlessly clean, quiet and comfortable. Hospitality genuine and thoughtful, breakfast delicious and with choices beyond the norm. Given freshly baked cakes on arrival and fresh milk for our drinks - Theses extra touches make all the difference. Central location and on street parking, available even during the busy Food Festival. Can't imagine there's a better place to stay in Filey.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank SineNomineSATB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stephanie S, Owner at Abbot's Leigh Guest House, responded to this review, 18 June 2014
Hello and thank you both for taking the time to write this review. We are very pleased you have enjoyed your stay with us and hope we will see you again soon, (hope the rehersal went well) thanks again for leaving this review, it is very much appreciated.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aylesbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
36 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 May 2014

Steph and Chris have really worked hard to make even more improvements to an already fabulous guest house. Every small detail has been thought of, even to providing cotton buds and cotton face pads in the bathrooms. Meticulously clean throughout, with superbly cooked breakfasts, comfortable beds and friendly welcoming hosts, for whom nothing seems too much trouble.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Julie H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stephanie S, Owner at Abbot's Leigh Guest House, responded to this review, 2 June 2014
Hello all, Its always nice to see you and we really look forward to all of your visits, We hope to see you again soon under happier circumstances. Thanks very much for writing a review for us, it is very much appreciated. See you soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Derby, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 May 2014

Second stay at Abbot's Leigh and can't fault the accommodation or hospitality. All rooms finished to a high standard and well equipped with tv and w-fi.
It's great to stay somewhere where the welcome is so genuine and your hosts pull out all the stops to make your stay as trouble free as possible.
The breakfasts are worth the stay in their own right with high quality produce used.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Loz1968
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stephanie S, Owner at Abbot's Leigh Guest House, responded to this review, 2 June 2014
Hello all and thank you for this lovely review, It was so nice to see you all and we are very happy that you have enjoyed your stay with us again. We are looking forward to your next visit already and hope to see you soon. Thanks again for taking the time to write a review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
32 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 May 2014

Unfortunately only stayed one night but will definitely be coming again just so we can stay longer. We had room 5 monstrous bed took me a few minutes to find hubby! (not a bad thing) Very comfortable bed and room clean and plenty of bedding in cupboard (not sure why but that's guests for you as plenty on bed and it was lovely and snugly)) refreshments to hand with fresh milk even had sachets of cup a soup! very much doubt if anyone will have them as Stephanie's breakfast are great not overloaded but perfect and Chris is so attentive bringing out more tea/coffee and toast if you so desired. you will never go hungry here. Not a pre pack of butter or jam or sauce in sight whoopee all fresh, fresh fruit yogurt cereals homemade granola fruit juice. Stephanie also makes amazing pancakes which are on the to have next time we stay.
Greeted very warmly by Chris who is mine field of events, plus homemade sponge cake on arrival and a cuppa. he whole place is spotless and fresh flowers on table and in hallway even have towels by front door for pets, plenty of leaflets, everything has been thought of so as a guest its just sit back and chill. nothing is too much trouble for this delightful couple and they deserve top marks.

Room Tip: We had room 5 massive bed en suite though I think all rooms are in a quiet location although busy s...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Joh C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stephanie S, Owner at Abbot's Leigh Guest House, responded to this review, 2 June 2014
Hello both and thank you for this glowing review, We are very happy we were able to make your stay so enjoyable and hope to see you again very soon. Thanks again for taking the time to write a review, it is much appreciated.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nottingham, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 May 2014

We phoned pretty much last minute wanting to stay for a night... There were three of us. Steph managed to give us a triple room. We arrived and couldn't find the bulding so phoned and steph came outside waving her arms around so we knew where to go! upon arrival we were made to feel very welcome and steph had been baking and have us some amazing lemon cakes! The room was so nice and felt homely. So clean and fresh. Huge selection of tea, coffee, hot chocolate cuppa soups and biscuits in our room. Both steph and chris let us know all the places to go to and avoid. So helpful! I had a travel iron that didn't work so I asked if they had one I could borrow and they even ironed my clothes! Lovely couple. The bed was so comfy. After a great sleep we mad our way down for breakfast. Amazing!!!! We had the full English. So fresh and great quality, nice selection of cereals yoghurts fresh berries orange juice and tea/coffee! And what seemed like unlimited toast with jams/marmite! Would stay here again absolutely lovely stay and great hosts!!! Many thanks

  • Stayed May 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jamie100989
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stephanie S, Owner at Abbot's Leigh Guest House, responded to this review, 29 May 2014
Hello Gentlemen and thank you very much for such a great review. It was very nice to meet you all and we will look forward to your next visit to Filey and Abbots Leigh. Thank you again for taking the time to write a review, we hope to see you all again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Filey hotels
0.3 mi away
White Lodge Hotel
White Lodge Hotel
#2 of 3 in Filey
4.5 of 5 bubbles 337 reviews
2.1 mi away
Wrangham House Hotel
Wrangham House Hotel
#1 of 1 in Hunmanby
4.5 of 5 bubbles 177 reviews
0.0 mi away
Esmae House
Esmae House
#3 of 19 in Filey
5.0 of 5 bubbles 98 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.6 mi away
The Royal Oak Near Filey
0.0 mi away
Binton Guest House
Binton Guest House
#14 of 19 in Filey
5.0 of 5 bubbles 53 reviews
2.3 mi away
The Southgate Bed & Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Abbot's Leigh Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Abbot's Leigh Guest House

Property: Abbot's Leigh Guest House
Address: 7 Rutland Street, Filey YO14 9JA, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Scarborough District > Filey
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 19 B&Bs / Inns in Filey
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Abbot's Leigh Guest House 4*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A small but very friendly family run guest house situated in the fantastic gem of a town that is Filey. We offer quality accommodation, great home cooked food and a warm welcome as standard. Hope to see you soon. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Book Direct Rooms so you can book your Abbot's Leigh Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Abbot's Leigh Guest House Filey, Yorkshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing