We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Superb end to our Cleveland Way vacation” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Abbot's Leigh Guest House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Abbot's Leigh Guest House
Ranked #8 of 19 Filey B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Superb end to our Cleveland Way vacation”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 August 2014

We booked this B&B for our final night on the Cleveland Way. After 9 nights of very 'mixed' experiences with the B&Bs we had selected, this was the highlight of our holiday.

Steph greeted us on our arrival and showed us to a lovely room with a huge bed. She then brought us fresh milk and homemade cakes. She also gave us some ideas of where we could go to eat in the evening.

The bed was extremely comfortable, and the room was very quiet so we got a good night's sleep. Breakfast the next morning was superb with smoked haddock and poached eggs, which made a nice change from the usual bacon and eggs.

Both Steph and Chris were very pleasant and helpful throughout our stay. We only wished we'd had a couple more days so that we could enjoy more of the delights of this wonderful B&B.

Room Tip: We stayed on the top floor in Room 5 (I think) which had a super king size bed and was very quiet an...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Luba L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stephanie S, Owner at Abbot's Leigh Guest House, responded to this review, 8 September 2014
Hello all and thank you for taking the time to write us this review, we are very pleased we were able to help you end your walking holiday in style and you have our every admiration for compleating the 118 mile walk. We will look forward to seeing you again soon, thanks again for writing this review it is very much appreciated.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

166 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    160
    6
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
29
101
1
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (43)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 August 2014 via mobile

What a gem, a real find. We have just arrived back home and I wanted to write this review straight away.
What a beautiful place, very central to everything. We arrived early and was shown to our room by Steph.
It was room 6, a lovely room with a beautiful en-suite. It had everything, all little touches like the cotton wool pads and even a dressing gown to use whilst there.
We went out for a walk and on our return was greeted by home made cakes. My partner thought he had died and gone to heaven. By the way I can't cook!
Steph recommended a lovely Italian, Bella. It was lovely and a must if you visit Filey.
This morning the breakfast was amazing. I had the cooked breakfast and my partner the haddock with scrambled eggs. Nothing too much trouble. We will be back, sooner rather than later. Thank you again to Steph and Chris, they made our weekend.

Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Judith S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stephanie S, Owner at Abbot's Leigh Guest House, responded to this review, 27 August 2014
Hello both and thank you for writing such a timely review. It was a real pleasure to meet you and we are so pleased you enjoyed your overnight stay with us. We are looking forward to your next visit and hope it will indeed be soon. Thanks again for writing this review, it is very much appreciated.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Doncaster, United Kingdom
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 August 2014

on arrival we were greeted with a lovely welcome plus tea and fluffies haha!
highly recommend to all i know, will be going back thats a definate, both stephanie and chris work very hard to keep everyone well looked after, breakfast was bang on!
see you in the near future
andy and jackie xx

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank andrew d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stephanie S, Owner at Abbot's Leigh Guest House, responded to this review, 27 August 2014
Hello both and thank you for writing this very positive review. we are very pleased you enjoyed your stay with us. We are indeed looking forward to your next visit and will be glad to provide more "fluffies" as required. Hope to see you again soon and thanks again for taking the time to write this review, it really is appreciated.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Halifax, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 August 2014

stayed for one night aug 14 2014 superb b&b don't know how they could improve very good quality breakfast nice touches in room steph and chris really trying in this business coming back again is a must.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank johnholmesbrillo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stephanie S, Owner at Abbot's Leigh Guest House, responded to this review, 18 August 2014
Hello all and thank you so much for taking the time to write this review. We were indeed very pleased to meet you and hope that you will return again soon. Thanks again for writing this review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 August 2014

We stayed at the Abbotsleigh B/B in Filey which is located in walking distance of the beach, town centre, restaurants, and supermarkets, from 4/8/2014
We were warmly greeted by Stephanie and Chris, our bags were taken to our room, an overview of our room was given. Chris then offered us home made cakes and fresh milk for our coffee.
Our room was very clean, bright, and tastfully decorated.
Our choice of breakfast was fresh and tasty and well presented. My husband and I had a great time and will most definatly be returning.
Thank you Stephanie and Chris for making our stay in Filey memorable and pleasant. See you both very soon.

Room Tip: We stayed in room 5 2nd floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Thelma S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stephanie S, Owner at Abbot's Leigh Guest House, responded to this review, 27 August 2014
Hello both and firstly let me appologies for the lateness of this responce. Thank you so much for taking the time to write this review. We realy are very pleased you enjoyed your stay with us and that we were able to make your short break an enjoyable one. We very much look forward to your next visit. Thanks again for writing this review. Hope to see you soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sheffield
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 August 2014

We took friends of ours from Paris to Filey for a couple of days and were looking for a really nice place to stay the night. We found it! This is a spotlessly clean, well run, comfortable B&B with every possible amenity. Stephanie and Chris were such friendly hosts and nothing was too much trouble. The breakfast was outstanding; a huge choice of dishes including smoked salmon and grilled haddock, plus omelettes and pancakes as well as the traditional English fare, and fresh fruit and yoghurts too. Excellent location. Next time we are in Filey we will be back.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SheffieldOliver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stephanie S, Owner at Abbot's Leigh Guest House, responded to this review, 18 August 2014
Hello all and thank you for wriring this review, We are very pleased you choose to stay with us at Abbots Leigh and it was a real pleasure to meet you all. We are glad you all enjoyed your visit and hope you had a safe journey home. we look forward to seeing you again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 August 2014

Really enjoyed our stay. Room was lovely, everything we needed. Fresh cake on arrival. Breakfast was excellent, couldn't fault the location. In fact there was nothing to complain about. Would definately stay again.

  • Stayed August 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank deniseford
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stephanie S, Owner at Abbot's Leigh Guest House, responded to this review, 18 August 2014
Hello all and thank you very much for taking the time to write this review. We are very please you enjoyed your stay with us and look forward to seeing you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Filey hotels
0.3 mi away
White Lodge Hotel
White Lodge Hotel
#2 of 3 in Filey
4.5 of 5 bubbles 337 reviews
0.0 mi away
Binton Guest House
Binton Guest House
#14 of 19 in Filey
5.0 of 5 bubbles 53 reviews
2.6 mi away
The Royal Oak Near Filey
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Cherries Guest House
Cherries Guest House
#17 of 19 in Filey
5.0 of 5 bubbles 28 reviews
1.9 mi away
The Bay
The Bay
#9 of 19 in Filey
4.0 of 5 bubbles 750 reviews
0.2 mi away
No photo provided
Hallam Guest House
#7 of 13 in Filey
4.5 of 5 bubbles 131 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Abbot's Leigh Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Abbot's Leigh Guest House

Property: Abbot's Leigh Guest House
Address: 7 Rutland Street, Filey YO14 9JA, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Scarborough District > Filey
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 19 B&Bs / Inns in Filey
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Abbot's Leigh Guest House 4*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A small but very friendly family run guest house situated in the fantastic gem of a town that is Filey. We offer quality accommodation, great home cooked food and a warm welcome as standard. Hope to see you soon. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Book Direct Rooms so you can book your Abbot's Leigh Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Abbot's Leigh Guest House Filey, Yorkshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing