We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Bring your Kids and Dogs because this place is perfect.”
Review of Hallam Guest House

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Hallam Guest House
Ranked #7 of 16 Speciality Lodging in Filey
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 30 May 2013

The guest house is situated on the main through road of Filey and is perfectly placed, being approx 5 minutes stroll to the beach (a bit longer if you are heading for either of the areas that allow pooches). Don't be detered that it is next to the main road as Filey is such a quiet little town that you are not disturbed by this at all, plus the windows block out so much noise! Infact, the only noise that you will encounter is from other guests coming in at all hours of the night. You are provided your own keys to the doors so you can come and go as you please, which if you are taking pets is brilliant.
No, the guest house does not offer parking, but there is room to be found on nearby streets for free or there is a car park across the road behind Tesco's (which is itself a bonus).
Only being able to comment on our room: The room was bright, roomy and spotless with a perfect little en-suite bathroom. We had a family room that had a double (or 2 singles pushed together) and bunk-beds. You have freeview, a DVD player, kettle and drinks, toiletries, towels and stuff under the bed for your kids to play with.
Breakfast is included in your stay and is well worth it, you can choose from a selection of cereals or have a superb full english with the nicest sausages you will ever eat. They are happy to accomodate any combination of the fare on offer if you only want certain things. Be warned though, it is served at 8-9 only, so if you like a lie in be prepared to go elsewhere, although I am sure if you ask nicely they will save you a bit of something.
Yes there are other places that are that little bit closer, or have a pretty view and offer parking... but you will be paying for all those things. For the price, this place is a find and well worth the stay, and of course that they happily allow dogs (for an additional £8 p.n) is fantastic. We thank you Sam for having us and hope to see you again in the future.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank DoMnKeZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (136)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

69 - 75 of 136 reviews

Reviewed 8 April 2013

What a find! We needed somewhere last minute that had a family room, and that wouldn't charge the earth ( is it just me, or is anyone else sick of being charged the earth for being a family!) i couldnt believe my luck when i found this gem! Lovely owners, comfortable beds, clean fluffy towels, well kept room, and family friendly to boot! And the breakfast was excellent! Will be staying again soon!

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank pumpkinwife
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 February 2013

We spent 2 nights at the Hallam Guest House and we had a very comfortable and enjoyable stay. The owners were very obliging and helpful. The room was very clean and comfortable and the breakfast was excellent. There was a 'little box of tricks' for the little one which included colouring books, puzzles, books etc. For the price, you definately can't go wrong staying here. We are hoping to return later in the year for another short break!

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank shawk75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 February 2013

My wife, daughter and I had a lovely short break on the East coast and it was made extra special thanks to the very warm welcome and excellent service provide by Sam & Chris. Superb breakfasts and spacious, comfortable rooms. We would eagerly recommend a stay here :)

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank EggMonster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 February 2013

hi we have just had a great weekend in filey,hallam house is a great place to stay the rooms are spacious and warm ,the food was a good breakfast plenty of it.the owners was very keen to make sure we had a comfortable stay in the house also in filey ,a good few eating places and pubs what we noticed that everyone is so friendly.definitely recommend hallam house.john n chris

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank shents1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 February 2013 via mobile

Had a 2 night stay here in a cold february. Double room with on suite was spotless. Welcomed by a lovely lady who made us really welcome and cooks a great breakfast! Filey itself lovely and quiet. Would definitely recommend this as a place to stay

  • Stayed: February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kallan K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 February 2013

I booked hallam guest with my two sisters and nephew, and dog, I had an amazing stay here, it was clean, warm and comfy, the owners were very nice and even set a table up for us to eat takeaway, my sister liked that they even had childs cultry for her two year old and a child booster seat for him to eat with us, not many places do this, breakfast was outstanding, will definatly stay again if I come back, also close to town and beach, thank you for a great stay!

  • Stayed: February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank niclady
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Filey
0.5 mi away
White Lodge Hotel
White Lodge Hotel
#2 of 3 in Filey
426 reviews
2.3 mi away
Wrangham House Hotel
Wrangham House Hotel
#1 of 1 in Hunmanby
199 reviews
6.4 mi away
Cumberland Hotel
Cumberland Hotel
#9 of 26 in Scarborough
284 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
The Royal Oak Near Filey
2.4 mi away
The Southgate Bed & Breakfast
2.3 mi away
Crows Nest Caravan Park
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hallam Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hallam Guest House

Address: 5 Station Road, Filey YO14 9AR, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Scarborough District > Filey
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 16 Speciality Lodging in Filey
Price Range: £51 - £69 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hallam Guest House 3*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hallam Guest House is situated in the centre of Filey. Our primary aim is to provide guests with a relaxed informal setting. Newly refurnished, we can now offer all our rooms en-suite. Each tastefully decorated offers a warm, luxurious stay. It is the perfect retreat to explore the many delights of Filey on foot. Shops, local nightlife and good restaurants are all within a 5 minute walk. Train and bus station opposite. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Book Direct Rooms, Ebookers and HotelsClick so you can book your Hallam Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hallam Guest House Filey, Yorkshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing