We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great weekend”
Review of Hallam Guest House

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Hallam Guest House
Ranked #8 of 15 Speciality Lodging in Filey
Certificate of Excellence
Wigan, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“great weekend”
Reviewed 5 June 2014

My family spent a great weekend in Filey at the Hallam b&b.
Great value for money. Rooms are very large and comfortable (if a little tired). The owners were very friendly and breakfast was a well cooked full English. The only downside was parking, but lots in side streets.I will stay there again when I next visit Filey.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Pauline T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

134 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    82
    30
    15
    4
    3
See reviews for
39
63
4
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (27)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Chorley, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 June 2014

Has a fantastic 2 night stay in the family room. The beds were very comfy and we all had a good nights sleep. The Full English in the morning was fantastic. Slight downside is there is no car park but this seems to be the same no matter where you go in Filey. We easily found parking across the road. The staff were very friendly and helpful and I would definitely stay here again. There were even children's books and coloured pencils under the bed for the children to play with.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DavidTT2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leeds, England, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 May 2014

my partner and i decided to overnight in Filey so we booked into the Halam Guest house .the price was very reasonable for a double room with a king size bed.the place was spotless . there was ample parking on the derestricted streets near by.and we had a five minute walk to the Imperial pub in the center of town.The breakfast in the moring was delicious .i got a Double yolked egg with my bacon and beans.the proprietor.told us he gets his eggs straight from the farm.its ages since i had a double yolker.we will use this guest house for future visits to Filey.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Robert H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, England, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 April 2014

I wish I could have given this Guest House a better review..After reading all the positive reviews
on Here! We decided on this Guest House.
We booked one night B&B with our Shi-Tzu dog.It was my partners 70th Birthday & our Daughter
(who was on a short break.at Haven Caravan Park) had paid for the Guest House & arranged a
Meal as part of his present.
On arrival we where lectured on what we could do & not do., with our dog...no allowing her on the beds.,in the dining room ect ect..the lady complained of other guests not complying with rules..her manner could have been better..She then said, for Breakfast,we may need to check when a table became available.,so that would mean climbing up & down a steep flight of stairs
each time to check for a vacant table..both my self & partner are not in the best of health.He suffers from Heart failure.
We arrived back at the Guest house after our meal..to a very cold room.,no heating, it was only 10pm.
I could not sleep due to inadequate bedclothes(one thin quilt) no extra blanket in wardrobe..
Although the owners had made it plain that no parking outside the Guest House..they had said
we should be able to park in the street opposite,.this proved to be untrue,. We drove around for 30 mins looking for a parking space..Which was a good 10 mins walk to the B&B.
At 7am we decided to skip breakfast & make our way back home..
forgot to mention , the toilet serenaded us every time we turned on the tap..only positive was the room was clean.. wont be returning.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Evelyn M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Doncaster
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 April 2014

We stayed two nights at the Hallam for my wife's birthday, our room was very clean & comfortable with a king size bed. the breakfast was freshly prepared and filling & the staff were very friendly. we were made very welcome and we were able to come and go as we pleased.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank christopher t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston Spa, Yorkshire, UK
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 March 2014

We stayed at Hallam Guest House for two nights and I have to say, we couldn't find fault for the price that we paid. We have a lovely room with a super king size bed and bunks for the kids. The room was clean and had everything we needed, right down to cotton buds in the bathroom. The lady who checked us in was very friendly and helpful. She also made a fantastic breakfast. The beds were very comfy and we had plenty of tea, coffee and hot chocolate along with biscuits. Will definitely be going back.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Julie7186
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leeds, England, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 27 November 2013 via mobile

Stayed here for four days food was brilliant both staff members were so welcoming opp train and bus station could not have asked for a more peaceful retreat beach is within 10 mins fairly cheap for how nice my room was

  • Stayed November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Graham D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Filey
0.5 mi away
White Lodge Hotel
White Lodge Hotel
#2 of 3 in Filey
385 reviews
2.3 mi away
Wrangham House Hotel
Wrangham House Hotel
#1 of 1 in Hunmanby
187 reviews
6.5 mi away
Travelodge Scarborough St Nicholas Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.0 mi away
Ambassador Hotel
Ambassador Hotel
#24 of 28 in Scarborough
1,216 reviews
6.4 mi away
Marine Residence
Marine Residence
#20 of 28 in Scarborough
81 reviews
2.8 mi away
The Royal Oak Near Filey
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hallam Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hallam Guest House

Property: Hallam Guest House
Address: 5 Station Road, Filey YO14 9AR, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Scarborough District > Filey
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 15 Speciality Lodging in Filey
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Hallam Guest House 3*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hallam Guest House is situated in the centre of Filey. Our primary aim is to provide guests with a relaxed informal setting. Newly refurnished, we can now offer all our rooms en-suite. Each tastefully decorated offers a warm, luxurious stay. It is the perfect retreat to explore the many delights of Filey on foot. Shops, local nightlife and good restaurants are all within a 5 minute walk. Train and bus station opposite. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Ebookers and Book Direct Rooms so you can book your Hallam Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hallam Guest House Filey, Yorkshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing