We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Filey Grange Guest House
Ranked #6 of 19 Filey B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 28 June 2014

We had a fantastic couple of days at Filey Grange. Brill welcome with tea and warm scones. Lovely and comfortable room (room 2). Amazing choice for breakfast and all cooked to perfection. I in particular loved the homemade marmalade! Would definately recommend and look forward to staying again.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
1  Thank Nicola M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
pippits, Owner at Filey Grange Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded 1 July 2014

Thank you for your great review of Filey Grange. Its lovely to know that you enjoyed our home made preserves and breads!
Kind regards
Michael & Jennifer

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (319)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

124 - 130 of 319 reviews

Reviewed 14 June 2014

Stayed here at the end of walking The Wolds Way - arrived damp and dripping and Jennifer whisked our wet walking gear away and showed us to our room. I had a blissful bath - lots of hot water - and Jennifer was a fount of local knowledge as to where to eat later. Bed was fantastically comfortable and nothing was too much trouble. Really excellent breakfast as well. Totally recommend

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank blue-lobster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
pippits, Owner at Filey Grange Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded 1 July 2014

Thank you very much for your lovely review of Filey Grange We are so pleased that you enjoyed your stay at the end of your Wolds Way Walk.
Kind regards
Michael & Jennifer

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 June 2014

This was only our second visit to Filey Grange - the first being almost a year to the day.......NOTHING has changed. You still get that warm cosy feeling as you step inside. You are greeted with a charm and warmth that you'd really only expect from family. Our room (Number 4) was bright, cosy and immaculately clean, and the welcome pot of tea with fresh scones, butter & jam was welcomed. The bathroom was huge and bright, the bed wonderful and the facilities in general were faultless. One gets the feeling that nothing would be too much trouble. Breakfast was fantastic and fresh. Our hosts were lovely and we got the feeling that they would have chatted all day with us if needs be. What a cracking place. Highly recommended for those who want exactly what proper value for their money. Well done Filey Grange.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MJKBarnbyDun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
pippits, Owner at Filey Grange Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded 1 July 2014

Thank you for taking the time to write such a fabulous review of Filey Grange, it was lovely to see you on your return vist, we hope very much to see you again in the future.
Kind regards
Michael & Jennifer

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 June 2014

We booked to stay here as a last minute break for the bank holiday weekend in May. We wanted to get away and had a look on the internet but there wasn't much choice that took our eye in the area. As my parents were staying in the area we asked them to have a look around and find some telephone numbers of somewhere for us to stay for a couple of nights. We were lucky that they got us a handful of numbers but had said that this place did look the nicest so I decided to call them first. Lucky for us there was one room available!
When we arrived (the day after we booked) we were due to arrive there quite late in the evening but had pre-warned them of this, so when we arrived at 9pm all went smoothly, we were shown to our room on the top floor while being given a tour of the building and given instructions on how breakfast worked.
When we got into the room we were amazed that Jennifer the owner had made us some fresh scones and jam as she knew we had a long day before arriving! We were amazed and what a great touch this was! We were shown the welcome pack and given directions to local restaurants & bars for a nightcap.
What a perfect welcome and great start to our mini break.
In the morning we had breakfast downstairs which was pre ordered the evening before and made fresh as we came down to eat, all grilled, none of this fried rubbish, and real quality meat with the breakfast.
I also had some fresh fruit, strawberries and melon aswel as so many other items to choose from. Another lovely touch to breakfast was the fresh bread they make and the home made jams- where else can you get such fantastic finishing touches?!!
We had booked to stay here for 2 evenings and on our second day we took my parents up to the room to show them what a fantastic place is it to stay and they have said that if any friends or family visit them in the area again they will be recommending them to stay here.
As for us, we are planing on returning for a weekend maybe in October, and we are also planning on booking for a couple of friends as a wedding gift to them.

Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
1  Thank ni-cool-a-uk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
pippits, Owner at Filey Grange Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded 1 July 2014

Wow! thank you so much for this fantastic review of Filey Grange, we are so pleased that you enjoyed your stay wilth us and hope to see you again in the future.
Kind regards,
Michael & Jennifer

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 June 2014

Thank you for a very enjoyable stay, excellent friendly service, high quality accommodation and superb Breakfast, made our celebration very memorable, the location is very convenient for enjoying the east coast resorts, Filey beach is a real treat. Gary and Maggie.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Maggie S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
pippits, Owner at Filey Grange Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded 1 July 2014

Thank you so much for you wonderful review of Filey Grange! we hope to see you again in the future
Kind regards
Michael & Jennifer

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 May 2014

I'm wary of giving a 5 star review - I think that it raises expectations for future guests. Filey Grange deserves a glowing review though. We stayed for 2 nights in May 2014, the sunny weather did help make a great weekend, but the B&B was top notch.
The welcome was great, with a tray of tea and scones. Our room was spotlessly clean. We were on the top floor (there are a lot of steps), but a quiet room with everything you needed. It's great and rare to find a proper tea-pot in a B&B!
The breakfasts were some of the best I've ever had. Fresh fruit, homemade bread and preserves (make sure you try the Lemon Curd) and the cooked breakfasts were cooked and served simply to make to most of great ingredients.
Very highly recommended. Oh, and thanks again for the loan of the rucksack!

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank nottmfoodie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
pippits, Owner at Filey Grange Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded 27 May 2014

Thank you very much for your fantastic review, we are delighted you enjoyed your stay and our delicious breakfasts! we are pleased you enjoyed your walk on the costal path. We are more than happy to loan our guests rusk sacks,maps ,binoculars, walking poles and flasks!!
Kind regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 May 2014 via mobile

Stayed for 2 days and so pleased we chose filey grange. When we arrived we were given a tray of tea with homemade scones and jam. A lovely clean and comfortable room. A very welcoming b&b. We will recommend to our friends.

Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank Sue B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
pippits, Owner at Filey Grange Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded 27 May 2014

We are so pleased you enjoyed your stay with us and will be recommending us to your friends!
Kind regards
Michael & Jennifer

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Filey hotels
0.3 mi away
White Lodge Hotel
White Lodge Hotel
#2 of 3 in Filey
430 reviews
2.3 mi away
Wrangham House Hotel
Wrangham House Hotel
#1 of 1 in Hunmanby
199 reviews
0.1 mi away
Athol House
Athol House
#5 of 19 in Filey
149 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Esmae House
Esmae House
#2 of 19 in Filey
122 reviews
2.4 mi away
The Southgate Bed & Breakfast
0.2 mi away
White Rose Guest House
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Filey Grange Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Filey Grange Guest House

Address: 27 West Avenue, Filey YO14 9AX, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Scarborough District > Filey
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 19 B&Bs / Inns in Filey
Price Range: £89 - £115 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Filey Grange Guest House 5*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
5* accommodation. Beautifully clean, comfortable rooms with lots of luxurious little touches; a huge choice of delicious, freshly cooked breakfasts using only the very best locally sourced ingredients; and hosts who look after all your needs without being intrusive. Sounds too good to be true?Not at all – it’s exactly what you’ll get at Filey Grange. The house may be Victorian, but the service is anything but. One recent guest was moved to tell us that the ‘worst part of staying was having to go back !And if you can drag yourself away from the ‘faultless accommodation (that was from another recent guest), then you’re just minutes’ walk away from the spectacular sweep of the beach at Filey Bay – great for relaxing in the summer, and something a little more bracing in the winter. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com and Expedia so you can book your Filey Grange Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Filey Grange Guest House Yorkshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing