We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Godsend”
Review of The Station Hotel

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Filey
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
The Station Hotel
Ranked #16 of 19 Filey B&B and Inns
Reviewed 15 July 2013

Ideally located at the end of the Cleveland Way, very close to train and bus stations.
My room was excellent , very clean and comfortable. I was greeted with a smile and treated like I was a returning friend. I had a slight mishap whilst staying, but the owners were very understanding with it being an accident. I would recommend this hotel to anyone who needs a great place to stay if in the area, cannot fault the place or the people. Thanks to all who made my stay so memorable.

Room Tip: Only ten minutes away from the end of the Cleveland way.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank garybarrs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (73)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

46 - 52 of 73 reviews

Reviewed 2 June 2013

This lovely friendly pub is truley yorkshire through and through. Warm, welcoming and great value.
The beds are comfy, rooms are clean with everything you need and more.
The home cooked food is truley home cooked and fresh.
Just a 2 minute walk from the train station and bus depot you can be anywhere in minutes.
We would definitely stay here again.
Thanks guys see you soon.

Room Tip: They are all good rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SarahandDarren523
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 June 2013

Last minute booking at 7pm and arrived just before 9pm. Welcome was warm even at the last minute in a busy pub on a Friday evening and the room was clean and comfortable. Not 4 star hotel standard but really good B & B standard. We had a family room with plenty of room, nice sized shower room and the handy addition of a small kitchenette. This would be a real boon if we had been there for more than the one day.
Loved the fact that the rooms were across the beer garden then down a flight of steps and across a courtyard from the pub. OK .... we could hear the people having a smoke and the karaoke but quietened down just after midnight and wasn't bad at all. The smoking in the beer garden wasn't a problem.
Atmosphere in the pub was great and we were made to feel very welcome when we dropped in for a quick one ... or two!
We'd decided to have the cooked breakfast and it was great to be asked what time we'd like breakfast. This meal is to be recommended as was freshly cooked when we arrived, tea and coffee was plentiful and there was a nice feeling of attentiveness but not being a nuisance even though we were the only ones eating that day.
All in all a wonderful find and somewhere we'll be visiting again and would recommend.

One thing - please consider changing the very 'clean' smelling toilet blocks in the room bathrooms - I have a chest and throat problem and it did aggravate it.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GaynorAlan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 May 2013

Stayed over for one night.
Great hosts, room was spotless. A stone throw away from the beach.
Had a band on, it had a great local feel with the other customers. Selection of really good cask ales and the quality was spot on.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 63garry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 May 2013

Menu misleading most of what was advertised they didn't have ! Waited for food for more than forty minutes no other customers in the pub had orderd food. Once food arrived sent my steak sandwich back as it was stone cold approximately 30 seconds later same plate of food was brought out to me clearly been nuked in The Microwave, Curly fries was so greasy couldn't pick them up!! Wouldn't serve this sort of food to an animal never mind paying customers !! Stick to serving drinks as food is such poor standards health authorities should pay them a visit!!! AVOID AT ALL COSTS !! Food Poisoning waiting to attack somebody !!

  • Stayed: May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank theworthyseccles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ForestTop, Owner at The Station Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 26 May 2013

We're sorry you had a poor experience. The vast majority of our customers give us positive feedback and when we get constructive negative comments we always act on them. We have been serving hundreds of meals a week for several years and have a good local reputation. To condemn all of our food offering after just one sandwich is a little over the top.

Scarborough Council have visited us and awarded us top marks for our Food Hygiene Rating which includes our procedures, food preparation and storage. Ratings can be found on the government website http://ratings.food.gov.uk/

Rather than shy away from this disappointing review we posted it on our Facebook page asking for comments from our customers who don't use TripAdvisor. The comments left are there for all to see. We did have one private message which will acted on.

The accurate parts of this review have been taken on board with a view to improvement.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 April 2013

We stayed here as we wanted to enjoy being in a pub, the evening meal and the few drinks with it were so welcome we had a nap after and missed the evening karaoke, which sounded well attended and lively!
Good sized room and helpful staff. Would stay here again

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rosiv D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 April 2013 via mobile

We stayed here for two nights. We arrived and were shown to our room by a very pleasant man who carried our case for us through the pub to the rooms.

Rooms.... More like flatlets or chalets as had main room with beds in and tv, little kitchenette area comprising microwave kettle, ample tea coffee sugar and plates bowls cutlery and wash up equipment!

Bathroom had sink toilet and shower, and although bit dated was adequate for our needs.

Pets were welcome in the rooms and in the pub.

Accomodation is basic but really suited our needs as we just wanted a base whilst we visited areas along the coast.

Staff were extremely helpful and always pleasant.

Value for money budget accommodation but we felt more like part of their extended family. We will definitely be returning later in the year as felt so welcome and at home!

Great value!

  • Stayed: April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mandy P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Filey hotels
0.5 mi away
White Lodge Hotel
White Lodge Hotel
#2 of 3 in Filey
416 reviews
2.5 mi away
Wrangham House Hotel
Wrangham House Hotel
#1 of 1 in Hunmanby
199 reviews
2.9 mi away
The Royal Oak Near Filey
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
No photo provided
Hallam Guest House
#7 of 16 in Filey
135 reviews
2.5 mi away
The Southgate Bed & Breakfast
0.3 mi away
Esmae House
Esmae House
#3 of 19 in Filey
118 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Station Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Station Hotel

Address: 15 Church Street, Filey YO14 9ED, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Scarborough District > Filey
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #16 of 19 B&Bs / Inns in Filey
Price Range: £40 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Station Hotel public house is situated in Filey close to the beach and country park. We offer a large selection of food from tapas, to homemade pies and delicious steaks. You can also sample our regular cask marque ales. We are children and dog friendly. We also have chalets to let all year round. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
The Station Hotel Filey, Yorkshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing