We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Brilliant holiday”

Review of 27 Sunrise Drive

27 Sunrise Drive
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
27 Sunrise Drive
27 Sunrise Drive Lounge
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
21 reviews
27 Sunrise Drive
27 Sunrise Drive
Lounge
Dining Room
Kitchen
Double Bedroom
Double Bedroom
Twin bedroom
Twin bedroom
Bathroom
WC - Downstairs
Cottage - Rear view, patio area & shared garden
Public House - The Bay
A short cycle to the Beach!
Filey Beach towards Bempton Cliffs
Looking out over the Lower Lake
Boat House - Upper Lake
Beach Access
Indoor Pool
On site gymnasium
Water Walkers in Pool!
The Bay Filey - The Parade
Paddling Pool - Filey
Looking towards Filey from The Bay Beach Access
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 4
Filey, Scarborough District, North Yorkshire, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 21 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Brooksy61
Middlesbrough, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Brilliant holiday”
Reviewed 27 October 2016 for a stay in September 2016
1
person found this review helpful

This our third year in the cottage and it was excellent as usual. Everything you could ask for is there for a perfect holiday. We will soon be booking for next year.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Everything
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Katrina A
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Fantastic - amazing holiday home”
Reviewed 14 September 2016 for a stay in September 2016
1
person found this review helpful

27 Sunrise Drive ticks all the boxes - Location is fantastic - The bay is well maintain and is only a 10 min walk from the beach and a lovely part of the beach at that. The accommodation is above and beyond what you would expect, so clean and well looked after, it is bright and spacious and the owners have thought of everything. We thoroughly enjoyed our stay, with a visit to York and fantastic Yorkshire sunshine during our weekend stay we were truly spoilt! Would thoroughly recommend you will not be disappointed.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jualjo
Huddersfield, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Warm and welcoming cottage a short stroll from the beach”
Reviewed 13 September 2016 for a stay in August 2016
1
person found this review helpful

The cottage is well equipped and cleaned to a high standard. Amenities are close at hand. Lovely walks on the beach accessed directly from The Bay. Fantastic weather made the stay even more enjoyable. The owners provided clear instructions for access and were prompt in answering our queries on arrival. We would recommend the cottage and would not hesitate to return.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Cleanliness and location for access to the onsite facilities
Liked least: The bathroom would benefit from a blind being installed for privacy
Travelling group: Teenagers
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
igland1
Durham, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Lodge, static or cottage; where to stay in Filey?”
Reviewed 25 July 2016 for a stay in July 2016

OK. This review is specifically about 27 Sunrise Drive, The Bay, Filey. I have previously reviewed the Bay, rather favourably, and the facilities available there. For those of us looking for self accommodation on our travels in the UK without having to pull a caravan there are three options. A lodge, usually described as a log cabin but increasingly made of plastic, a static caravan which is static simply because the wheels have been removed and the axles propped on concrete blocks (although some lodges are similar) and the holiday cottage. WOW a cottage!
I would always choose a lodge over a static providing the wallet allows, simply because we live and holiday in the UK and the sound of rain on a van roof is no longer relaxing to me and the ensemble I travel with. I will shortly be going to the lakes and staying in a lodge.
Anyway, how about stopping in a cottage? Think thatched roof, think large utility room, think open fire, a beautiful range, low ceilings, think again! For some reason the tourism industry has changed what a cottage looks like. It is not what automatically springs to mind, I'm deliberately staying away from describing it as a carton that houses confectionery. None of this really has anything to do with 27 Sunrise Drive other than it being described as a cottage on some websites.

27 Sunrise drive would be described by an estate agent as an end terrace, or end link property. What it really is, is a lovely, relatively new build at the end of a row of three houses. It is clean, it is modern, it has a WC downstairs as well as the bathroom upstairs. It has a well fitted kitchen, French doors onto the communal gardens, a one minute stroll from the bins which are not in eyesight, a 45 second stroll to the pub (don't worry, we have stayed at the Bay for 4 years in a row and seen the pub busy but never rowdy or noisy), a 50 second stroll to the indoor swimming pool which has a gym above.The house has information about the area available as well as games, books etc. For a small additional fee WI FI is also available. There are lots of properties available at The Bay. We book ours directly through the owners rather than the site itself, this saves us a few quid, could be more risky if the holiday falls through but in our experience all owners genuinely want you to have a god stay and their customer service is great. One of the things that makes number 27 stand out is not only the closeness to the above facilities but it is in the section nearer to the beach than most. A smart 10 minute walk to the fabulous beach. Well worth a try, well worth a stay, well worth it.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Middlesbrough, United Kingdom
Reviewed 17 June 2016 for a stay in June 2016
1
person found this review helpful

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: It's location & cleanliness.
Liked least: Nothing.
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
EllesBell...
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Lovely cottage in an excellent location”
Reviewed 5 May 2016 for a stay in April 2016
1
person found this review helpful

The cottage has everything you need to have an enjoyable stay. Good sized rooms, nice and clean on our arrival. Would definitely recommend.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Angela R
Harrogate, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Superb cottage, Great location, Efficient owners”
Reviewed 28 April 2016 for a stay in April 2016
1
person found this review helpful

We stayed at 27 Sunrise Drive for a week in April during the Easter Holidays. The cottage is very close to the pub, Italian cafe, pool etc. The location was great for the kids who loved to go out and about on their scooters.

The cottage was an ideal base for us, it is very clean and pleasantly decorated. There is a spacious area at the back with outdoor table/chairs and bbq which i imagine would be lovely on a summers evening, sadly we did not get to experience this!

Despite a week of awful weather (sunshine, showers, hail & downpours) we managed to get down to the beach each day for walks/scoots via the private access road from The Bay. Once at the beach there is miles of wonderful coastline. We walked to Filey (slowly) which took about 40 minutes...

The Bay is very clean, there is a lot of building work going on but this did not intrude on our holiday at all. Despite it been the school holidays and obviously quite busy it did not seem crowded at all. As we were close to the pub I expected some level of noise at night but after about 9pm all was very peaceful.

Thank you to the owners who were very easy to deal with from initial enquiries, through the booking process, to more of our questions whilst at the cottage and finally locating and arranging the return of our USB cable that we accidentally left behind.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: location
Liked least: the washing machine (not sure which settings to use)
Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing