We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent value for money for a weekend get-away”
Review of The Bay

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Filey
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
The Bay
Ranked #9 of 19 Filey B&B and Inns
Reviewed 1 April 2012

Overall a very pleasing stay dispite the ongoing build improvement work that is taking place as we heard no indication of this occuring.
Great value for money for what we received. All of the rooms in our apartment were spotless and were more than adequate in size.
All of the onsite staff were helpful, theres a nice onsite pub. Leisure facilites on site were within a 2 minute walk and were well equipped with sauna and steam room.
We had to allow a good 10 minutes to walk down to the seafront, but with nice weather a plesant walk!
The only downside (a very minor one) would be that a decent sized supermarket is around a 10 minute drive away in Filey town centre, but we wouldnt let this in any way affect the outcome of our review!
We would recommend this holiday rental to any family or friends and would go back ourselves anytime!

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SeekingOutTheBest
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (857)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

821 - 827 of 857 reviews

Reviewed 26 March 2012

first impresessions were very good. building work on going but did not affect our break. accomadation was nice and clean and spacious we stayed in clipper 2bed, staff friendly. swimming pool a little deep for small children who are non swimmers. does hav a baby pool. pub and cafe on site very nice but pub is ver quiet on a nite maybe could hav entertainment. could do with a larger kids play area and some football nets. i booked with hoseasons.would go again only for a short break not enough things going on for a week with 2 kids. lucky the weather was nice to go to the beach..did have a dishwasher and washing machine in accomdation and iron and ironing board.

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank helen f
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 March 2012

Before I begin, I'll just say why we chose to stay here:
We are a young couple with a 7 month old baby. Before having a child we would usually choose to holiday abroad, somewhere all-inclusive and hot. Right now I couldn't fathom a flight with a baby, trying to keep a baby who's into everything entertained or running to someone elses schedule so a cottage / holiday park was ideal.

The Bay had everything we wanted; it was relatively cheap (£170 for 4 days for a 2 bed cottage), it was close to quite a few places and had some nice walks nearby. We got out of this holiday exactly what we wanted and would probably say we got value for money.

That said,
- The site is one massive building site at the moment (and it's quite clearly going to be that way for the next 12 months looking at the scale of the building work). We booked through hoseasons who neglected to mention any of this building work. We knew it was going on due to tripadvisor. This didn't really bother us because we didn't spend much time on site but if we had of done it might.
- The pool is very. In high season this would be rammed, it was quite busy in the middle of march.
- The cottages are quite tired; they've tried to paint over stains/marks and it's quite clear the whole wall hasn't been done. The fittings are also quite poor, curtain rails massively lob sided, the bed was quite badly damaged and the sheet provided didn't fit the bed. I will say the kitchen and fitted units were very good although the utensils provided were in a poor state of repair.

The main issue i have with this place is that if u want to go in high season (july/august) it's nearly £1000 a week for a 2 bed cottage. Seriously??? You can get a 5* all-inclusive, somewhere hot for a family of 4 for under £2k for 2 weeks. So why the hell would you stay here?

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank philipiouk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 February 2012

First impressions of the site were good. Pretty houses and easy layout.

We were told the accommodation would be ready at 5 but if we did arrive earlier they'd see what they could do. We arrived at 4pm and were told we had to wait until 5. I actually couldn't believe that every single piece of accommodation was ready at bang on 5 but we were happy to wait as there is a lovely on site cafe and pub.

We booked our trip really last minute and I decided to book over the phone as I needed two cotbeds. When we got to our cottage, there were no cotbeds. I went back to reception who said it was odd there wasn't one in any of the cupboards as all accommodation kept one in the cupboard but we still needed the second one. I asked they make it a priority as we had two very small children to get to bed.
Within ten minutes of being back in the cottage, the security man pulled up with two cotbeds. Very good quality and clean so we were pleased but it wasn't the best start we wanted.

First impressions of the cottage were good. Clean, nice layout etc. but the heating hadn't been set as we were told. Luckily it didn't take long to warm up.

The kitchen was well equipped and everything was clean.

My husband found the bed very uncomfortable. I had no problem with it but he commented he had the worst nights sleep he'd had in a long time.

Excellent nice clean powerful showers and bath.

When I booked, looking at the description, I was led to believe there was one master bedroom, one double and one twin. Instead of the twin we had one with bunk beds. For us it wasn't a problem as my son was in the cotbed but had we had adults with us, I would have been unhappy that we weren't given the rooms as described.

The onsite cafe was really nice and the coffees a good price. The guy behind the counter was lovely too and very friendly with our children.

The pool was clean however the children's smaller pool was quite cold which we warned about just as we got in.

Overall we really enjoyed our experience at The Bay and would recommend it to others

  • Stayed: February 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 101180D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 February 2012

Just returned from a fabulous half term break. Our LA had half term a week later than the rest of the country therefore enabling us to book the bay for only £199 for Mon- Fri. A real bargain.

This is our third visit to the bay. We love the stylish houses and good quality, modern fixtures. Once again on this visit we had a lovely house (33 sunrise drive). I booked it over the phone and requested a house not too far from the facilities - I didn't fancy a long February walk back from the swimming pool. Everything Perfect.

The complex is still experiencing building work however it didn't interfere with our holiday and everynight a road sweeper came to clear any mud from the diggers etc.

My children enjoyed the swimming pool and I am sure that the facilities and activities will be fab in the summer.

Overall a great holiday. This is not the place if you like busy but if you like relaxing and comfortable you will love it.

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank nessnorth72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 February 2012

I went to The Bay during February half term with my family consisting of 6 adults and my 2-yr old niece. We booked through hoseasons online which was a hassle-free easy service and paid a pittence - just over £300 for all of us for four nights.

We stayed in Green Close in the 'Dartmouth' accommodation. I cannot stress just how beautiful the 'cottage' was. It was really a life of luxury. The lounge and kitchen was more than big enough for the seven of us and the bedrooms were really comfortable. I had a better nights sleep in the bed there than I do at home! A real plus for us was that the 'cottage' had three separate bathrooms so we could have a bathroom per couple which was just amazing. All of the fixtures and fittings were top class and the kitchen was well stocked with knives, pots and pans, pie dishes and more than enought plates, mugs, glasses and cutlery. The accommodation had a hoover, iron, towels and very comfortable bed linen. You need to take your own tea towels though.

Of course, as many of the reviews say, there are stil building works going on on the site. The roads are a little muddy and if you take a walk to the beach you do have to walk through a bit of a building site, but we knew this before we booked and you the price definitely reflected this - well worth it in my opinion!

The pub is really cosy and feels like a local pub rather than one at a resort. The guys in the coffee shop were lovely - although I would avoid having your breakfast there as you'll be surrounded by builders and it gets VERY busy! Later on in the day though, it's lovely.

The swimming pool is just that - a swimming pool. With a small splash pool at the end for babies and toddlers but it's nice enough. The gym is well stocked and cost us £8 for the week. It's all new equipment and, although it's open to the public, it's quite quiet and you can have a good workout.

The beach is quite a walk but it's lovely when you get there. There are some, what look like WWII pill boxes on the beach that me and my husband searched around for a while - they really give you an idea of the history of the site.

The only 'entertainment' is the pub, the cafe and the leisure centre. If you want anything more then there's quite a lot close by. Scarborough is about a 20min drive away and Filey is less than ten minutes. There's a Tesco in Scarborough which seems to be the most local supermarket. However, there's a Jet Garage about one minute up the road (turn right when you come out of The Bay) and that has a well stocked Spar Garage behind it which could keep you going for the week. We also took a day trip to York (45-60min drive) and that was truly stunning. Think about the park and ride though as the parking in the city centre (by the Clifford Tower) was a massive £2.10 an hour!

Overall I would defintely recommend it and we are looking to return as soon as we can. We want to get in before all of the building work is finished and the prices hike up!

Room Tip: The 'Dartmouth' accommodation was superb!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ClaireTunni
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 January 2012

Stayed fri-mon and we were pleased with what we got as I was a bit apprehensive after reading some of the reviews. We booked though Hoseasons and a very good price. We stayed in a 2 bed cottage on Sunrise Drive near the pub on site. It was quiet as expected for early January, there were building works but we were informed before we booked, but didn`t have an issue as they didn`t work at the weekend. From arriving reception staff were friendly and helpful, the cottage was clean and most of what you would need, we were provided with fresh linen and towels, kitchen had usual utensils, cleaning products, washer/dryer and microwave etc. Very spacious cotttage with a small patio/garden to the rear.

On site activities but we didn`t try any but offered archery, crossbow, plenty of water activities in the swimming pool and gym, also fishing lakes and more but didn`t use them. On site pharmacy shop, coffee shop but both were closed all weekend. We had a lovely meal at the on site pub which was a lovely family friendly pub.

We visited Scarborough and Whitby and have to recommend `The Marine` in Whitby a lovely bar serving gorgeous food its just after the Dracula Experience on Marine Parade.

Overall great break at a great price and will be visiting again.

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank gizmoHalifax
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Filey hotels
34.9 mi away
White Lodge Hotel
White Lodge Hotel
#2 of 3 in Filey
418 reviews
36.1 mi away
Crows Nest Caravan Park
35.1 mi away
Esmae House
Esmae House
#4 of 19 in Filey
118 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
35.2 mi away
No photo provided
Hallam Guest House
#7 of 16 in Filey
135 reviews
32.9 mi away
Valentino's
Valentino's
#13 of 16 in Filey
8 reviews
35.1 mi away
Binton Guest House
Binton Guest House
#14 of 19 in Filey
56 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Bay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Bay

Address: Moor Road | Hunmanby Gap, Filey, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Scarborough District > Filey
Amenities:
Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 19 B&Bs / Inns in Filey
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Whether you are looking for a relaxing break or an action packed getaway a holiday at The Bay Filey will not disappoint. Set amongst peaceful parkland, woodland and meadows and fronting miles of beautiful sandy beach, The Bay Filey is a prestigious, award winning development of traditionally constructed holiday cottages and apartments and New England style Beach Houses.A holiday at The Bay Filey is ideal for families, couples or more senior holiday makers with plenty to do on site and further afield. For those seeking a leisurely break you can enjoy a stroll along the wide sandy beach or follow the trail through our meadow and around the fishing lake. For something more adventurous why not try some of our Hoseasons Go Active activities or if you want to venture further afield you are within an hour of York, Leeds and Hull and the North York Moors are on our doorstep! Please note that The Bay Filey comprises of homes built by us but now owned by private individuals and let by several third party operators who are in no way affiliated with the managing of this page and physical site. The views expressed are not representative of any single company or business entity in regards to the properties reviewed. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
The Bay Hotel Filey
The Bay Filey, Yorkshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing