We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good location and site”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of The Bay

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Bay
Ranked #9 of 19 Filey B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
58 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Good location and site”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 November 2013 via mobile

We booked a three night weekend away via the Hoseasons website. The price was good and a good choice of accommodation for our family of five. We were keen on a place on the coast, but with facilities should the weather be too bad for walks on the beach.

Arriving on the Friday evening the staff were very helpful on check in and with our initial questions about the house.

The house was clean and tidy with all the items you would hope for. It was well appointed near the central area and path to the beach. We spent our weekend on the beach, in the pool and visiting Filey. We did use the pup but the coffee shop was closed, perhaps because we were off season.

We will be back but did think that the property could do with slightly better management - ie they are cutting a few corners that do not make sense such as having a log stove with no complementary logs, or facility to pay for them (we used drift wood from the beach!), no oven gloves or kitchen soap etc. cleaning could have also been a bit more thorough .

We did need to call for assistance with faults, but staff where quick to respond. There was a fault with the pool heating that was a bit disappointing.

Overall a good stay, with just a few niggles that did not effect our stay

Stayed November 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Paulfm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

769 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    338
    258
    94
    45
    34
See reviews for
433
178
4
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (125)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Derbyshire, England
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 November 2013

Overall The Bay offers a lovely stay with good customer service. Got a cheap price as off peak season much cheaper than a hotel over weekend. We stayed in a Solo apartment which was adequate with all amenities. Could have been a little cleaner but there wasn't anything worth being too bothered about. Nice pub with friendly atmosphere. Some building work going on but it didn't disturb our stay.
Would definitely recommend.

  • Stayed November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AliceMac91
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dereham
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 November 2013

The developement, beach house & fixtures & fittings were very good. We stayed here for 3 nights via Hosesons but were disappointed that we had to pay an extra £15 if we wanted to check in before 5. The staff were not that friendly compared to other places we have stayed at. Although the beach house was built to a high standard & all fixtures & fittings were very good we couldn't understand why you would want flashing coloured lights in the kitchen but no dish cloth, tea cloth or oven gloves supled. On the kitchen floor was a big fluffy rug which looked abit dirty & carn't have been cleaned underneath because we removed it & found 20p under it. Another negative for us was that the front door had clear glass & could have done with a blind for nights. Lastly the bathroom lights came on as you opened the door & after you had gone out they stayed on a good 10min's or more which seemed rather a waste of electricty. We still had a good time & did a good walk along the beach to Filey & then back along the road.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank millstreamDereham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 November 2013 via mobile

The rooms and location is very good! We arrived on Friday night, due to us arriving late we have to call the number on the reception door, the security guard arrived very quick and showed us our rooms. He advised to call back tomorrow to pay a £100 deposit, when questioned this he said they would take a swipe of our card and not take any money (hoeseasons advised us of this) due to the very short break we didn't go on the Saturday as we was enjoying the warm
Weather on the beach which was a very short walk from where the complex is situated! The pub is ok, the staff seem to be very brisk and feel irritated that by you asking for a drink, very short with you and not really any smiles unless the staff are talking to each other! So we was getting ready to go out on the Sunday and we had a knock at the door from the receptionist asking us to go to reception and pay our £100 deposit???! So we went and they said we would have to pay the £100 and they would refund this in the next 7-10 working days??? Never heard something so stupid? So we wasn't very happy and the receptionist advised she would do this as a "sale" and she would refund this the day of our departure! We arrived home and checked our bank? Still no money credited from the bay? Called them and said this should be there, so we are still awaiting our £100 deposit! Think they just say whatever they like just to get us off there back! Please be aware to have an extra £100 if ur booking a cheap weekend away before payday as we did!

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank Jonboy08
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
South Shields, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
55 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 November 2013

This was our second visit to the Bay- we stayed at 4 Sunrise Drive, booked through Simplicity Holidays and paid a very reasonable price for the week. The cottage was very comfortable and more than adequate for 2 adults and 1 child. The Bay is a very impressive new build holiday village right on the coast just outside Filey. Great location for touring the coastal resorts in this area and also if you enjoy walking, the Yorkshire moors are a short drive away. We used the pool every day and had a few meals in the pub on site - if it's busy (it was when we were there- half term) you will need to book a table, even going early in the evening doesn't guarantee a table. Food was good. They had a party for Halloween which my son really enjoyed. Very enjoyable self catering holiday!

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ChuckieEngland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 November 2013

Have just returned from a 3 night stay in a 'Clipper' 2 bedroomed cottage booked through Hoseasons. Really lovely cottage. Before we booked we looked at the other accomodations available but i'm glad I booked the Clipper as the kitchen was separate from the living area so felt a lot more spacious than the others looked. Very clean and well equipped though could have done with more door mats as I was worried about dirty shoes on the carpet. Plenty of storage space to hang coats and store your holdalls etc. There was a couple of board games, dominoes and packs of cards in the cottage too which I think is a nice added touch. We paid the early check in charge of 15.00 so we could have the cottage from 1pm instead of 5pm which was excellent as it meant we could settle in and really start to enjoy our break. My husband took our 2 son's swimming which they loved. We didn't do any of the other activities as we wanted to explore the area. Beach is a nice walk down through the park past the bigger houses and the Beach Houses. There is still a lot of work going on which we were aware of and it didn't cause us any problems other than being a bit muddy. The site is missing a good on-site shop. That would finish it off nicely and a bigger play area for children. Didn't think much of the on-site pub/restaurant. We had lunch in there on the 1st day but there wasn't a great deal of choice. My son's both had chicken nuggets and chips....the chips were VERY greasy and the chicken didn't really make an appearance. It was ok for a quick drink after a day out but that's all for us. Sure it would appeal to some people.
All in all a lovely break and would recommend and hopefully return to The Bay.

Room Tip: Ask for pet free accommodation if you don't have pets
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank victoria d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lincoln, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
43 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 November 2013

We spent a week at half term at The Bay with our daughter, son-in-law and three grandchildren.
The accommodation was very good with everything we needed. Reception staff pleasant although I consider the 5.00pm check in is a bit late.The on site pub is fine - food not great, having said that, we only ate there once on a particularly busy night..

Lovely walk along the beach to Filey (about 30 minutes or so) and a number of the other east coast resorts within a short drive.

I feel that the site would benefit from a small convenience store, for newspapers etc rather than the existing pharmacy.

Overall a very enjoyable week and we would stay here again

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Charlie186336
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Filey
1.7 mi away
White Lodge Hotel
White Lodge Hotel
#2 of 3 in Filey
4.5 of 5 bubbles 350 reviews
1.6 mi away
Wrangham House Hotel
Wrangham House Hotel
#1 of 1 in Hunmanby
4.5 of 5 bubbles 176 reviews
8.2 mi away
The Crown Spa Hotel
The Crown Spa Hotel
#6 of 28 in Scarborough
4.0 of 5 bubbles 4,638 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
The Royal Oak Near Filey
4.2 mi away
Crows Nest Caravan Park
2.1 mi away
Dale Farm
Dale Farm
#1 of 4 in Hunmanby
5.0 of 5 bubbles 64 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Bay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Bay

Property: The Bay
Address: Moor Road | Hunmanby Gap, Filey, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Scarborough District > Filey
Amenities:
Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 19 B&Bs / Inns in Filey
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Whether you are looking for a relaxing break or an action packed getaway a holiday at The Bay Filey will not disappoint. Set amongst peaceful parkland, woodland and meadows and fronting miles of beautiful sandy beach, The Bay Filey is a prestigious, award winning development of traditionally constructed holiday cottages and apartments and New England style Beach Houses.A holiday at The Bay Filey is ideal for families, couples or more senior holiday makers with plenty to do on site and further afield. For those seeking a leisurely break you can enjoy a stroll along the wide sandy beach or follow the trail through our meadow and around the fishing lake. For something more adventurous why not try some of our Hoseasons Go Active activities or if you want to venture further afield you are within an hour of York, Leeds and Hull and the North York Moors are on our doorstep! Please note that The Bay Filey comprises of homes built by us but now owned by private individuals and let by several third party operators who are in no way affiliated with the managing of this page and physical site. The views expressed are not representative of any single company or business entity in regards to the properties reviewed. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline so you can book your The Bay reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Bay Hotel Filey
The Bay Filey, Yorkshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing