We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good have been so much better.”
Review of The Bay

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Filey
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
The Bay
Ranked #9 of 19 Filey B&B and Inns
Birmingham
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Good have been so much better.”
Reviewed 25 January 2014

We stayed in a Dartmouth on Green close (plot 287), which was a beautiful spacious cottage. Ideal for a big family, but it was poorly maintained. We walked in to a disgusting smell, which we eventually discovered was coming from the bin. The bin had been emptied, but the used bin liner was left in there and not replaced. Scrubbing and bleaching a bin to get rid of the smell was not a good start to my holiday. The rest of the cottage needed a bit of extra cleaning, cobwebs etc in places. There were also other minor maintenance issues, like broken window handles. It was not enough of an issue to spoil our holiday though.
The beds were uncomfortable and cheap, making it difficult to get a good nights sleep. But the cottage was warm, even in January, and the location was good.
The site was pleasant and quiet, however they are still building in places. The swimming pool was clean, and the beach is worth a visit. We also enjoyed a few nights in the on-site pub.
I would visit this site again, but book privately, rather than through Hoeseasons. The cottage we stayed in was lovely, but could have been so much better with a little more care.

Room Tip: Book a privately owned cottage recommended on Trip Advisor
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JessicaBirmingham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

817 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    358
    278
    98
    45
    38
See reviews for
460
192
4
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (130)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
g_scott
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 January 2014

We booked our trip last minute through hoeseasons, as I am NHS staff and get discount, it is worth checking here and with the bay direct to see who's prices are most reasonable.

In our party there was 2 adults and 3 children aged 8, 3 and 4. We stayed in a 'bilander' property. Check in was easy took all of two minutes, the cottage itself was lovely, very nicely done out. Rooms were lovely and cosy. Included in it came with a high chair, two travel cots and a hoover. Not always worth paying the £10/15 to hoeseasons if the property already comes with a travel cot. We obviously didn't use it but its definitely worth checking out before you go :)

The village itself is lovely, very well presented, ideal for a cosy weekend in the cottage with wanders down to the beach or a trip to the pool. Or its really close to Filey itself (just a few minutes in the car) if you fancy a change of scenery.

Its an ideal places to talk dogs and kids, make of it what you wish. We took our own food and didn't eat in the pub but instead got a chinese takeaway delivered from Filey which was fab!

We will return here as it has been a great weekend.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank gc_scott
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
53 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 January 2014 via mobile

Stayed in a 3 bed "anchor" house. Great layout, design and spacious. House was spotless and well thought out. Owners had clearly added some nice touches. Couldn't believe we had 5 tvs - one in dining room, lounge and every room! Very quiet and great location - would recommend. (Number 15 green close / plot 271)

Stayed December 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank ajs1974x
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wakefield, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 January 2014

Stayed at The Bay, Filey over New Year 2013. Overall great relaxing holiday, accomodation was a 2 bedroom cottage on The Parade. The cottage was spacious and had everything with needed.
The site still has quite a lot of construction going ahead but as it was winter there was no work going on whilst we were there, I would imagine that in summer months there could be a problem with dust blowing around due to the building work.
We found the site to be very clean and tidy and there's plenty of parking close to all accomodation. The setting close to the beach and with the huge field for dog walkers was great, it's a shame more holiday sites aren't as open to dogs as this one. We used the pool and found this to be clean and well kept. The pub on site is also worth a visit, traditional in style it's great for a quiet drink and the meals we found to be good value.
Only slight niggles I can think of are that you can't book in until 5pm which we found a bit of a pain, it also meant that at 5pm it was near on gridlock around reception, only other slight issue would be cleanliness of cottage - although overall it was fine I think a bit more attention to details is needed - fluff and dust behind doors on floor - table mats had food stains on them - chocolate mark on armchair.
Site is in a great spot for visiting Filey, Bridlington, Scarborough and the beach is beautiful - although it was wild and wet when we stayed we still enjoyed some good walks down there.
I would definitely recommend The Bay for a relaxing break and will probably be booking in again for later this year.

Room Tip: We booked direct with reception, the lady who dealt with us was great and was able to tell us which...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Allfunfam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Huddersfield, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
63 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 January 2014 via mobile

We stayed at the Dartmouth over the new year for four nights with the family of 5 adults two kids and two dogs. It's Large open plan with good amenities. It's close to the beech so ideal for dog owners. Could of been a little cleaner if I'm really picky however we would stay here again

Stayed January 2014
Helpful?
Thank Richard H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Durham, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
170 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 224 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 January 2014

Our second stay at The Bay, we stayed in a much larger property in Feb 2013. This time we stayed in a Helm. This was ideal for disabled Mum (ground floor double room), my married daughter and her husband and my wife and I. (Two doubles upstairs)

The Helm has a small lounge which meant that when all 5 of us were in there we had to use the dining table- but the lounge/ diner/ kitchen in one room lends itself to this.

Our house had a TV in two out 2 bedrooms as well.

Plenty of crockery/ utensils and towels provided as well.

This is definitely the way to stay with an extended family- the total cost was £600 for the Mon-Friday, split 3 ways makes the vacation quite affordable.

House was clean and, unlike last time, all the light-bulbs worked!

There are ALWAYS minor niggles (on-suite is tiny and the owners have not made the best of it in terms of hooks/ cupboards etc, the bathroom extraction fans do not switch off so a previous occupant had turned them off, the main bedroom is more Gypsy Rose Lee than boudoir) but these are insignificant weighed against the terrific amount of care that has gone into the pictures, equipment and furnishings of this house (No 3) and the site generally.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Feenee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
lincoln uk
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 December 2013 via mobile

We rented a cottage which was just opposite the John Paul Jones pub. We have stayed at the Bay on several occasions renting various cottages.
At first we rented through Hoseasons but have founf it cheaper to go with the owner direct or various other smaller holiday companies.
The bay is lovely and the beach is a short walk away which is excellent for walking your dog.
Food and service good at the pub and a lovely swimming pool.
We will return again.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank baggyjim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Filey
1.7 mi away
White Lodge Hotel
White Lodge Hotel
#2 of 3 in Filey
393 reviews
1.6 mi away
Wrangham House Hotel
Wrangham House Hotel
#1 of 1 in Hunmanby
190 reviews
7.9 mi away
Ambassador Hotel
Ambassador Hotel
#24 of 28 in Scarborough
1,237 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.2 mi away
The Crown Spa Hotel
The Crown Spa Hotel
#6 of 28 in Scarborough
4,862 reviews
0.7 mi away
The Royal Oak Near Filey
4.2 mi away
Crows Nest Caravan Park
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Bay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Bay

Property: The Bay
Address: Moor Road | Hunmanby Gap, Filey, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Scarborough District > Filey
Amenities:
Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 19 B&Bs / Inns in Filey
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Whether you are looking for a relaxing break or an action packed getaway a holiday at The Bay Filey will not disappoint. Set amongst peaceful parkland, woodland and meadows and fronting miles of beautiful sandy beach, The Bay Filey is a prestigious, award winning development of traditionally constructed holiday cottages and apartments and New England style Beach Houses.A holiday at The Bay Filey is ideal for families, couples or more senior holiday makers with plenty to do on site and further afield. For those seeking a leisurely break you can enjoy a stroll along the wide sandy beach or follow the trail through our meadow and around the fishing lake. For something more adventurous why not try some of our Hoseasons Go Active activities or if you want to venture further afield you are within an hour of York, Leeds and Hull and the North York Moors are on our doorstep! Please note that The Bay Filey comprises of homes built by us but now owned by private individuals and let by several third party operators who are in no way affiliated with the managing of this page and physical site. The views expressed are not representative of any single company or business entity in regards to the properties reviewed. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
The Bay Hotel Filey
The Bay Filey, Yorkshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing