We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“78 Sunrise Drive is the place to stay at The Bay”
Review of The Bay

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Bay
Ranked #9 of 19 Filey B&B and Inns
Reviewed 23 February 2014

We recently stayed at The Bay near Filey, we rented a privately owned property near to the pub, where we found it to be of an excellent standard with everything needed for our break and not at the extortionate cost that Hoseasons wanted to charge!! the owners were really helpful and there were lots of added extras, I would not hesitate to recommend, only downside pub food could have been better but we got a two for one offer out of the local paper.

  • Stayed: February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank lovesholidays123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (878)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

621 - 627 of 878 reviews

Reviewed 21 February 2014 via mobile

Booked a short stay over the half term weekend in the 2 bedroom Capstan
Well designed and excellently furnished base. Towels, kitchen equipment, DVDs, books, games, even toys for the dog!
Superb place, lovely and warm too

Still building on the site, may be too busy when totally full. The pub on site served good value and tasty food, again may not be large enough in peak season
Also a pool and activities to do too

Would recommend to other family members

Stayed: February 2014
1  Thank Richardc1970
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 February 2014

Stayed at The Bay in January, got my family together with partners for my birthday. On arriving in a beach house we soon had a knock at the door and a gas man came to fix a leak... we were supposed to be meeting the family in Filey... after about an hour he left to return with a park employee.. we had to move lock stock and barrel.. safer I assume no problems with that " we will refund your early and late check in money" we were told. we missed meeting the family as it was by now pitch black. On Saturday morning (we had decided to go out for lunch after missing tea the night before) No bolier so not hot water eventually a man came and fixed it but we had missed going out for lunch. On Monday, late check out day, we were awoken by a massive crane rumbling past along with the shouts of workmen,, could have got up early and gone home, when I dropped the key off and mentioned the refund I was told " we will get someone to call you" Still waiting for that. I emailed them and Hoseasons who had the decency to reply The Bay didn't, a week later I emailed again, they claimed not to have received either my or Hoseasons email and they would get to me.... still waiting... To their credit Hoseasons refunded my deposit to date, 3 weeks later, no contact from The Bay (I sent them another email from a different email address asking about prices and surprise surprise they got that one!!!)
In this day and age you would think they would be bothered about customer care... no they are bothered about taking your money tho...
I really cannot stress enough the park is lovely and if you don't have a problem I am sure you'll have a nice time but if you have any problems don't expect any help... they washed their hands of us as soon as we drove out

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Vistoma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 February 2014

We arrived at The Bay Holiday a bit early so was told we could make use of all the facility's, so we took the dog for a walk in the grounds, this was the main reason for booking The Bay as it was dog friendly. We got the keys for our apartment and a map and set of on our search to find our accommodation, this didn't take long to find and when we got in we were very pleased with what we found. The apartment was very clean and modern, it comprised of a large living/ diner/ kitchen room. A lovely bedroom and a very plush bathroom with bath and shower combo. The village had a cafe, a pub and a swimming pool incorporating sauna, jacuzzi and gym. The main attraction for me was the fact it was dog friendly and it was. He was welcome in the pub the cafe and everywhere on the site even going into reception to introduce himself.......My one piece of advice is to book direct with the sight, I booked through Hoseasons and it cost significantly more

Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
2  Thank Phillys848
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 February 2014 via mobile

We choose The Bay as a holiday for four adults and two babies. We booked to stay in a Beach house property. WOW!!!! We stayed in Beach house 385. A three bed roomed New England style beach house. The property was immaculate throughout. Very stylish and modern nautical/shabby chic furnishings. The property was very spacious with everything that you would require for a self catering holiday. The three bedrooms are all ensuite. Two have wet rooms with rainfall ceiling showers and one has a bath with a rainfall ceiling shower. The property also has underfloor heating and a wood burning stove. We never used the stove as the underfloor heating was more than adequate. The property is well located within the holiday village - adjacent to the swimming pool, pharmacy and pub. Unfortunately the cafe was closed during the duration of our stay. It was approx a 7-10 minute walk to the beach. The Beach house is great for people with small babies / toddlers as its all on the flat with no stairs. The rooms were big enough to accommodate travel cots too. Having read the other reviews about The Bay I can only comment on this property which was superb. We would def return to the Bay but I would want to stay in a beach house property. The staff in reception were very pleasant and helpful however other staff who we came into contact with did appear a little abrupt at times. The holiday village is still under construction so it will be interesting to see what other facilities are planned.....

Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
2  Thank Kelly E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 January 2014

We stayed in a Dartmouth on Green close (plot 287), which was a beautiful spacious cottage. Ideal for a big family, but it was poorly maintained. We walked in to a disgusting smell, which we eventually discovered was coming from the bin. The bin had been emptied, but the used bin liner was left in there and not replaced. Scrubbing and bleaching a bin to get rid of the smell was not a good start to my holiday. The rest of the cottage needed a bit of extra cleaning, cobwebs etc in places. There were also other minor maintenance issues, like broken window handles. It was not enough of an issue to spoil our holiday though.
The beds were uncomfortable and cheap, making it difficult to get a good nights sleep. But the cottage was warm, even in January, and the location was good.
The site was pleasant and quiet, however they are still building in places. The swimming pool was clean, and the beach is worth a visit. We also enjoyed a few nights in the on-site pub.
I would visit this site again, but book privately, rather than through Hoeseasons. The cottage we stayed in was lovely, but could have been so much better with a little more care.

Room Tip: Book a privately owned cottage recommended on Trip Advisor
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JessicaBirmingham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 January 2014

We booked our trip last minute through hoeseasons, as I am NHS staff and get discount, it is worth checking here and with the bay direct to see who's prices are most reasonable.

In our party there was 2 adults and 3 children aged 8, 3 and 4. We stayed in a 'bilander' property. Check in was easy took all of two minutes, the cottage itself was lovely, very nicely done out. Rooms were lovely and cosy. Included in it came with a high chair, two travel cots and a hoover. Not always worth paying the £10/15 to hoeseasons if the property already comes with a travel cot. We obviously didn't use it but its definitely worth checking out before you go :)

The village itself is lovely, very well presented, ideal for a cosy weekend in the cottage with wanders down to the beach or a trip to the pool. Or its really close to Filey itself (just a few minutes in the car) if you fancy a change of scenery.

Its an ideal places to talk dogs and kids, make of it what you wish. We took our own food and didn't eat in the pub but instead got a chinese takeaway delivered from Filey which was fab!

We will return here as it has been a great weekend.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank gc_scott
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Filey hotels
1.7 mi away
White Lodge Hotel
White Lodge Hotel
#2 of 3 in Filey
436 reviews
1.5 mi away
Wrangham House Hotel
Wrangham House Hotel
#1 of 1 in Hunmanby
201 reviews
1 mi away
The Royal Oak Near Filey
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2 mi away
Dale Farm
Dale Farm
#1 of 5 in Hunmanby
88 reviews
4.2 mi away
Crows Nest Caravan Park
2 mi away
Binton Guest House
Binton Guest House
#14 of 19 in Filey
56 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Bay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Bay

Address: Moor Road | Hunmanby Gap, Filey, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Scarborough District > Filey
Amenities:
Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 19 B&Bs / Inns in Filey
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Whether you are looking for a relaxing break or an action packed getaway a holiday at The Bay Filey will not disappoint. Set amongst peaceful parkland, woodland and meadows and fronting miles of beautiful sandy beach, The Bay Filey is a prestigious, award winning development of traditionally constructed holiday cottages and apartments and New England style Beach Houses.A holiday at The Bay Filey is ideal for families, couples or more senior holiday makers with plenty to do on site and further afield. For those seeking a leisurely break you can enjoy a stroll along the wide sandy beach or follow the trail through our meadow and around the fishing lake. For something more adventurous why not try some of our Hoseasons Go Active activities or if you want to venture further afield you are within an hour of York, Leeds and Hull and the North York Moors are on our doorstep! Please note that The Bay Filey comprises of homes built by us but now owned by private individuals and let by several third party operators who are in no way affiliated with the managing of this page and physical site. The views expressed are not representative of any single company or business entity in regards to the properties reviewed. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
The Bay Hotel Filey
The Bay Filey, Yorkshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing