We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely break excellent accommodation”
Review of The Bay

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Filey
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
The Bay
Ranked #9 of 19 Filey B&B and Inns
Cheshire, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Lovely break excellent accommodation”
Reviewed 31 May 2014

We stayed in the Capstan near the beach, bar and pool. Brand new accommodation modern and clean. There is building work going on as it is a new complex but did not bother us..Bar food very nice and reasonable priced pool spa and steam very enjoyable only bad point the weather ....

  • Stayed May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jubilee121
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

808 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    356
    273
    98
    45
    36
See reviews for
456
191
4
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (129)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Norwich, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 May 2014

My wife and I went to the Bay in Filey for a 3-night weekend break on a spur of the moment decision.

We had previously stayed here a couple of years ago and enjoyed our stay so much that when it appeared on a search through Hoseasons as a cheap "May" special offer we had no hesitation in booking it.

Last time we stayed in one of the two bedroom houses but this time we booked one of the Solo ground floor apartments with a double bed, open plan living/kitchen/dining area and a bath with overhead shower which was perfect for us as a couple.

The accommodation was excellent. It looked and smelt as though it had just been cleaned. All of the crockery, utensils and appliances were clean and worked. (Found the instruction manuals for the appliances, LOL)

It was everything that we needed for a fantastic relaxing long weekend.

Although the apartment has all of the relevant appliances to go self-catering we decided to make the most of the on-site public house/restaurant.

I had seen a couple of reviews that said that they had found the prices a little pricey or in one case extortionate but this could not be further from the truth.

My wife and I had several meals as well as several "pit stops" from our long walks along the beach back to our apartment and at no time did we feel that the meals and/or drinks were expensive or were disappointed in the actual quality the meals. (On two occasions we had to waddle back to the apartment as the meals were so big!)

We also got talking to a couple who have three young children who come from a holiday park down the road as they prefer the meals from the on-site pub here at the Bay.

As the weather was so good we didn't get a chance to use the other facilities whilst we were here, i.e. swimming pool, sauna, steam room, etc. as we spent most of our time on the beach.
(If you have young children or elderly members within your party the only "killer" is the walk back to the Bay from the beach there is a tarmac "hill" that you have to walk up to reach the Bay which will sort out the heavy breathers from the rest.)

All in all it was a very enjoyable and relaxing few days and we will definitely look at having another holiday here in the future.

(My only suggestion for a higher mark on the sleep quality would be thicker pillows and black-out curtains to stop the sunlight and street lights from lighting up the room.)

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank Glen M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lincoln, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 May 2014

we arrived there on the monday and we stayed for 4 nights. we were very pleased with the apartment very clean and tidy, great location 5 mins walk to the beach perfect for walking the dog, the apartments are dog friendly as is the pub and cafe on site too. the cafe is open for breakast in the morning and it stays open until 9pm for evening meals too which was great. the only small problem we came across was that there wasnt a shop in walking distance you need to get in the car and drive a couple of miles to the petrol station where they is a spar shop which wasnt all the world as we went out most days and just called in on the way back. on the whole great stay will be coming back again.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank biscuitlover89
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
retford
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 May 2014 via mobile

I recently stayed at the Bay in Filey and must say we all had a really good break, we opted for the Monday to Friday stay and for us this was just perfect, the accommodation was to a really good standard and modern. In the Bilander 5 that we were staying in it didn't have parking directly outside, however within a minute walk parking bays were available. The onsite amenities are well catered for and we enjoyed the refreshments and food available in the pub on site. However my wife's salad looked as if it had been prepared previously and not covered up as it looked a little wilted. There was also some building works very close to our stay, but we were out most of the days so this didn't impact on our stay to much, but it would have if we had stayed within the site. Signs to the Beach could be clearer as with ongoing building works it does give you the feeling that you have taken the wrong road. In summary I would say it met my expectations in general. Would I return for a break?? I would have to say yes

Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank pauldn22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Derbyshire, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 May 2014 via mobile

We have been holidaying at The Bay for several years now as we love the peace and simplicity of the resort. We stayed in number 88 Sunrise Drive and this was by far the most comfortable property yet and even has free wi fi and a BBQ area. The owner clearly takes pride in equipping the property with quality fixtures and fittings. We have noticed that these do vary across the properties with some looking a bit dated now. We will ask for this property again, it is away from any building and very close to all the facilities. The gym and pool are excellent and the beauty parlour, though tiny, worth a visit for a treat. Lovely 10 min walk to the beach and beautiful Filey Bay. All very well thought out.

Stayed March 2014
Helpful?
Thank speedwell1028
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Atherton, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
55 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 April 2014

Went to the Bay Filey, last September for a family weekend. It was my wife's 60th birthday. We have family who live in Scarbrough and it was a perfect venue for a family get together.
The four bed roomed accommodation was excellent, everything that we needed for a fantastic weekend gathering. No need to take anything except food and drink. The facilities were superb.
The children enjoyed the swimming pool. The on site pub was good, meals excellent, even if a little pricey. As the Bay was in the throughs of building, it did not deter from the excellent set up. It is on the old Butlins site, even a mention was given to Sir Billy Butlin near to the pub. there are numerous properties for hire, from two , three, four bed roomed properties, plus very smart Beach Huts that can accommodate up to eight people. We realy enjoyed the weekend, our extended family were very impressed with the facilities and area. We re looking forward to returning later this year s this is an excellent base for us.

Room Tip: As this is a self catering holiday, you have to book properties that suit your party. Looking to ha...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jimmy B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
leeds
Level 5 Contributor
50 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 April 2014

I stayed at the Bay over Easter with my husband and two children we stayed in a SOLO apartment (flat 54 plot 81).The apartment was excellent it looked like it had been recently refurbished and decorated it was well equipped and had everything we needed.it was close to al the local amenities and the beach.The bed was comfortable and in the living room was a l shaped sofa then transferred into a double bed,there was also a camp bed which was available to use.The apartment also had a high chair and a travel cot.
We used all the facilities whilst we were there , the swimming pool, sauna,steam room and the football pitch and thre beach which was extremely clean.i also used the gym . I ran out of time to use the beauty parlour which was a shame.my children also went to the Splash zone (inflatable session in the pool) they also went to junior musketeers which they loved,
I found the staff at reception and the leisure centre extremely polite and helpful. It was also reassuring to see security visible on the holiday site, even though they weren't required.
The weekend we were there the cafe opened under new management.The owners were really attentive and friendly.We had lunch there the food was fresh and plentiful and very reasonably priced, it is open 9 till 9 (7 days a week) they also sell takeout pizzas. The cafe also sells homemade bread and milk and the fresh cream cakes are fantastic.
The pub is worth a visit, but I would recommend that you reserve a table.
Whilst there we caught the 120 bus to scarbourough the bus stop is outside the bay, and it comes at 20 past the hour.it took around 50 mins. We also caught the train to both Filey and scarbourough from Humnamby station this is a 20 min walk from the Bay.Taxi's cost 7 pounds from Filey and 16 pounds from Scarborough. We walked to Filey along the beach which was very relaxing but check your tide times with the bay reception first. Whilst in Filey we visited the local Italian on the high street they have an happy hour between 5 and 6 every day all pizzas and pasta meals were 6.50 pounds, kids meals were 4.95.i would also recommend Desi spice Indian. In scarbourough we would recommend the Royal tandoori who do set meals for ten pounds the food and service was exceptional. We did the following day trips all of which I would recommend:
John Bull rock factory and play centre Bridlington - good value and the children get to make their own rock and chocolate lollipops. We also went to Amelia's chocolate shop scarbourough where we made Easter eggs, in may she is also doing pizza workshops.
Overall we had an outstanding holiday ,we will definiately be returning back this year!

Room Tip: Ask for a property close to the amenities
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank helensmithLeeds
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Filey
1.7 mi away
No photo provided
White Lodge Hotel
#2 of 3 in Filey
385 reviews
1.6 mi away
Wrangham House Hotel
Wrangham House Hotel
#1 of 1 in Hunmanby
185 reviews
8.2 mi away
The Crown Spa Hotel
The Crown Spa Hotel
#6 of 28 in Scarborough
4,843 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
No photo provided
4.2 mi away
Crows Nest Caravan Park
1.6 mi away
The Southgate Bed & Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Bay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Bay

Property: The Bay
Address: Moor Road | Hunmanby Gap, Filey, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Scarborough District > Filey
Amenities:
Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 19 B&Bs / Inns in Filey
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Whether you are looking for a relaxing break or an action packed getaway a holiday at The Bay Filey will not disappoint. Set amongst peaceful parkland, woodland and meadows and fronting miles of beautiful sandy beach, The Bay Filey is a prestigious, award winning development of traditionally constructed holiday cottages and apartments and New England style Beach Houses.A holiday at The Bay Filey is ideal for families, couples or more senior holiday makers with plenty to do on site and further afield. For those seeking a leisurely break you can enjoy a stroll along the wide sandy beach or follow the trail through our meadow and around the fishing lake. For something more adventurous why not try some of our Hoseasons Go Active activities or if you want to venture further afield you are within an hour of York, Leeds and Hull and the North York Moors are on our doorstep! Please note that The Bay Filey comprises of homes built by us but now owned by private individuals and let by several third party operators who are in no way affiliated with the managing of this page and physical site. The views expressed are not representative of any single company or business entity in regards to the properties reviewed. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
The Bay Hotel Filey
The Bay Filey, Yorkshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing