We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“best breakfast ever !!!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Rutland West Guest House

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Filey
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Rutland West Guest House
Ranked #10 of 19 Filey B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
durham
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“best breakfast ever !!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 May 2013

Stayed for one night with our young son debbie and chris were very lovely people and down to earth.The room was fresh and clean and modern the breakfast was fantasic and would recomend the rutland west to any one it was a real family friendly atmosphire.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank nicola79x
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
rutlandwest, Owner at Rutland West Guest House, responded to this review, 22 June 2013
Thankyou ofr you comments we are very pleased that you found us to be very family friendly. Best wiishes Debbie and Chris
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

114 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    112
    2
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
49
37
5
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (27)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Bingley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 April 2013

We have just been to Filey for the weekend with our dog and found the best guest house! Debbie and Chris are lovely and their guest house is fantastic. We had to find accomadation that accepted pets and luckily The Rutland West was just the place. The guest house is modern, super clean and nothing was too much trouble. It was friendly, cosy and a great find! We arrived early and we were shown to our room (4) which had a super king size bed (wow), lovely en-suite and it was very modern, great decor! We had a tray with tea,coffee,hot chocolate, cuppa soups, biscuits and fresh milk. It was a pleasant surprise and very well presented. Breakfast was great, huge selection and tasted lovely! Seriously if you are looking for a great place to stay we promise you will not be disappointed! We would recommend it to everyone and we will definitely be returning. Just want to say a huge thank you! From us and Pepsi :)

Room Tip: Room 4 - very modern, bed was huge!!! (Super king) So comfortable and the best nights sleep ever!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank EmmaHar1907
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
rutlandwest, Owner at Rutland West Guest House, responded to this review, 22 June 2013
We are so glad you enjoyed your stay with us. Thankyou for taking the time to write such a kind review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 April 2013 via mobile

We have just returned home from yet another visit to Rutland West Guest House in Filey. This place is simply Fantastic !! We travelled with family, and we all feel this is a home from home. Debbie and Chris are the most brilliant hosts, and nothing is too much trouble. The accommodation is amongst the most comfortable we have ever stayed in, and the quality of the food is second to none. Filey town and surrounding area is beautiful, and the brisk walks in the fresh Filey air are definitely good for the soul! Thanks again for a simply fantastic stay, we miss you all already.

Lynne,Joe,Paige and Ross xx

Stayed April 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
2 Thank Lmwhitaker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
rutlandwest, Owner at Rutland West Guest House, responded to this review, 24 April 2013
Thank you for leaving another great review. We always look forward to and enjoy your visits. It really is like having friends to stay. We look forward to your next trip here. All the best, Debbie and Chris .
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sheffield, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 April 2013

We arrived early on saturday 6th at 14:30 & were welcomed by Debbie & Chris they had no problem with us arriving early & showed us to our room which we found spotless & plenty of room with a king size bed Debbie then arrived back to our room with a flask of fresh milk which we thought was a lovely gesture as we are not really keen on the UHT milk that you find in other B&B/hotels. We went out to meet friends to watch the grand national at the local snooker hall then had a tour around Filey as this was our first visit the location of the guest house was really good as we could walk to everything we needed & did not have to bother with taxi's. We returned back to the Rutland and had a really good night's sleep in a lovely bed, we went down for breakfast at 09:00 and found a lovely variety of fruit,cereal's & plenty of orange & apple juices/coffee/tea we then had our full english breakfast which was as excellent & well presented, Debbie & Chris made us really welcome & could not be more helpfull during our 2 night stay & we would recommmend the Rutland to anyone who visit's Filey.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank willy_d1960
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
rutlandwest, Owner at Rutland West Guest House, responded to this review, 24 April 2013
We are very pleased to know we helped to make your first visit to Filey such a success. We hope you will stay with us again the next time you are visiting friends. Best wishes Debbie and Chris.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 April 2013

Had a lovely two night stay and returned home today. We are a family of two adults and two kids. We had a lovely family room with king size bed and bunk beds. Clean, comfortable, stylish guest house. Very friendly welcome, we had everything we required from the minute we arrived. Beautiful breakfast with plenty of choice, catered for our older and younger child wonderfully. Made to feel very welcome. Would definately recommend this guest house for all ages. Good location, everything you could need within a short walk. Fantastic stay x

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BecsS34
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
rutlandwest, Owner at Rutland West Guest House, responded to this review, 24 April 2013
Thank you for taking the time to leave such a marvellous review. Hope to see you all in Filey again in the near future. Best wishes Debbie and Chris.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
22 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 April 2013

Chris and Debbie really made me and my family feel welcome. Due to mobility problems and access with stairs etc they moved furniture to accommodate my family in the ground floor in room one, which was immaculate and decorated to a very high standard! Breakfast was the best we've had in any hotel or b&b. Nothing was too much trouble and both were great with our children (11 and 6). We have already booked our next stay and as we have family in Filey we will be regular visitors at the Rutland West guest house. It's just a shame this visit was under such sad circumstances (bereavement) but Debbie and Chris were more than helpful. Thank you both so much from the Stanley family

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Stanleys4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
rutlandwest, Owner at Rutland West Guest House, responded to this review, 24 April 2013
Thank you for your great review. Look foward to seeing you all again in happier circumstances.
All the best Debbie and Chris.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SHEFFIELD
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 April 2013

We stayed over Easter w.e. This was our second stay with our springer spaniel, Baxter. We enjoyed it so much in January, we decided to visit again.
Chris and Debbie are fantastic hosts and made us feel very welcome.
We have stayed in two different rooms, and they are immaculate and very nicely decorated.
The breakfast is definitely worth a mention. The fruit salad is lovely. The food is fresh, and tasty, our favourite being the bagel, salmon and egg.
Filey is a nice to stay. We enjoyed Cayton Bay, and next time will get in the water and surf!
It felt like we were visiting old friends this time!
Thanks again.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KatieSimonSheffield
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
rutlandwest, Owner at Rutland West Guest House, responded to this review, 24 April 2013
Once again, thank you for leaving us such a lovely review. Myself, Chris and Perrie look forward to your return visits.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Filey hotels
0.3 mi away
White Lodge Hotel
White Lodge Hotel
#2 of 3 in Filey
4.5 of 5 bubbles 337 reviews
0.2 mi away
No photo provided
Hallam Guest House
#7 of 13 in Filey
4.5 of 5 bubbles 131 reviews
2.5 mi away
The Royal Oak Near Filey
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Binton Guest House
Binton Guest House
#14 of 19 in Filey
5.0 of 5 bubbles 53 reviews
1.9 mi away
The Bay
The Bay
#9 of 19 in Filey
4.0 of 5 bubbles 750 reviews
0.0 mi away
Cherries Guest House
Cherries Guest House
#17 of 19 in Filey
5.0 of 5 bubbles 28 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rutland West Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rutland West Guest House

Property: Rutland West Guest House
Address: 2A Rutland Street, Filey YO14 9JB, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Scarborough District > Filey
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 19 B&Bs / Inns in Filey
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A beautifully refurbished Edwardian Bed and Breakfast, which is perfectly situated between the town and beach. Our aim is to make your stay with us as relaxing, comfortable and memorable as possible. Our family run accommodation comprises of four luxury guest rooms, all with en-suite, one of which is on the ground floor. Each room has Freeview TV, DVD player and radio, hairdryer, alarm clock, complimentary toiletries and hospitality tray. WiFi is provided throughout. High chairs and travel cot available on request. Our rooms are double, twin, king, superking and a family room. You can also relax in our cosy TV lounge. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Rutland West Guest House Filey, Yorkshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing