We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fantastic place to stay” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Rutland West Guest House

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Filey
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Rutland West Guest House
Ranked #10 of 19 Filey B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
1 review
“Fantastic place to stay”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 September 2013 via mobile

I was recommended this accommodation by another hotelier in Filey as they had no twin rooms available. I would like to thank them for this as the Rutland West is a fantastic place to stay and a treasure I am pleased to have found.There are no bad points at all, room spotless, comfort beyond belief and the breakfast is to die for, we didn't need to eat again until late evening. Debbie and Chris are most welcoming and make your stay complete and they are willing to help whenever they can. I can honestly say I will book again and I am already looking at when I can fit it in. Having looked at the other reviews on here for Rutland West then trust me they are all good and believe me are not exaggerated. Thank you Chris and Debbie your accommodation is a very special place to stay.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Thurcroft
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
rutlandwest, Owner at Rutland West Guest House, responded to this review, 7 November 2013
Wow! What a fabulous review, thank you so much. We are so pleased that you enjoyed your stay so much and hope you'll be back again to enjoy our hospitality.

Kind regards
Debbie and Chris
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

114 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    112
    2
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
49
37
5
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (27)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
22 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 August 2013

We stayed 2 nights with our granddaughter, Jodie. What a lovely place, the family bedroom was immaculate and the breakfasts were delicious, especially the home made waffles. Debbie and Chris made us feel very welcome and nothing was too much trouble. We had a lovely weekend. Thank you

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jbackhouse136
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
rutlandwest, Owner at Rutland West Guest House, responded to this review, 7 November 2013
Thank you so much for your lovely comments. It is wonderful to know that we make our guests feel welcome. Please come and stay again.

Very best wishes
Debbie and Chris
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 August 2013

We stayed 1 night at this B&B in July. The owners Debbie & Chris are very welcoming. The house is really clean with modern fresh decor. The bed was extremely comfortable, nice toiletries in the bathroom and the breakfast was fabulous. Next time we stay in Filey we will definitely try to stay here because it was great.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Carolyn D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
rutlandwest, Owner at Rutland West Guest House, responded to this review, 7 November 2013
It was very kind of you to right such a kind review. We hope to see you here again next year.

All the best
Debbie and Chris
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
cumbria
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 August 2013

This really is the best b+b we have ever stayed in, Chris + Debbie are great, and the house is really nice. We stayed in the family room which was really good and had plenty of room for 4 of us. Breakfasts were really good, kids loved the waffles with chocolate spread!! Was a great weekend and really hope to go back to Rutland West again in the near future.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank psbous
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
rutlandwest, Owner at Rutland West Guest House, responded to this review, 7 November 2013
Thank you for your really lovely comment. We looking forward to seeing you all again in the near future.

All the best
Debbie and Chris
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Derby, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
23 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 August 2013

Although we only had a one night stay we were so impressed by this beautiful guest house! The furnishing and fixtures are top quality and are a credit to Debbie and Chris who told us they have only been here just over 2 years and did the place up from scratch. It's hard to believe this lovely, welcoming and friendly couple have been in the business such a short time. The room was amazing, double aspect bay windows, light and airy and every thing perfect. Breakfast was brilliant, no fatty streaky bacon here, only the best meaty rashers and perfectly cooked. All in all the best B&B we have ever stayed in, thankyou Debbie and Chris for everything, we'll be back!

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Val B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
rutlandwest, Owner at Rutland West Guest House, responded to this review, 7 November 2013
Thank you so much for such a wonderful compliment, it is reassuring to know we are getting it right. Please come again and stay longer!

Best wishes
Debbie and Chris
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Belbroughton, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 July 2013

Been visiting Filey for years, and this is definitely the best B & B by a big margin. Even booking is brill - they actually offer to take in your luggage early till you check in later in the day. Lovely friendly welcome for us on arrival from Chris & Debbie. The room was superb, with a supersoft superking bed and very high spec decor, and absolutely spotless. Drink set-up really good with proper fresh milk brought up in a flask for our whole stay. Location great just a couple of minutes from the beautiful Crescent Gardens and the most amazing view of Filey. Beach in 5 mins. Breakfast pre-ordering is quick & simple with a great choice, and actual food is first class - really delicious. Filey is an absolute gem, and don't look anywhere else to stay but Rutland West. Brilliant.

Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Chris W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
rutlandwest, Owner at Rutland West Guest House, responded to this review, 7 November 2013
Thank you very much for such a great review. It makes all the hard work worth while.

All the best
Debbie and Chris
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
26 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 July 2013

Just got back with my hubby and Millie our dog
What a beautiful place
Loved it has soon has I saw it
Loved the decor it was home from home and very classy
Lovely lovely people and made us feel so welcome
The breakfast was gorgeous ( I'm a fussy eater )
And they made a lovely fuss with our dog
What I loved about this is been able to find somewhere that is of high standard and been able to take our dog
I would certainly go back again
Thankyou for a lovely stay and for a lovely place x

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank donna_marie_whatmore
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
rutlandwest, Owner at Rutland West Guest House, responded to this review, 7 November 2013
Thank you so much for such a wonderful review. We are very pleased you enjoyed your stay, please come back again! Sorry for the delay in replying, we have had a busy year.

Best wishes
Debbie and Chris
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Filey hotels
0.3 mi away
White Lodge Hotel
White Lodge Hotel
#2 of 3 in Filey
4.5 of 5 bubbles 337 reviews
0.2 mi away
No photo provided
Hallam Guest House
#7 of 13 in Filey
4.5 of 5 bubbles 131 reviews
2.5 mi away
The Royal Oak Near Filey
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Binton Guest House
Binton Guest House
#14 of 19 in Filey
5.0 of 5 bubbles 53 reviews
1.9 mi away
The Bay
The Bay
#9 of 19 in Filey
4.0 of 5 bubbles 751 reviews
0.0 mi away
Cherries Guest House
Cherries Guest House
#17 of 19 in Filey
5.0 of 5 bubbles 28 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rutland West Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rutland West Guest House

Property: Rutland West Guest House
Address: 2A Rutland Street, Filey YO14 9JB, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Scarborough District > Filey
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 19 B&Bs / Inns in Filey
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A beautifully refurbished Edwardian Bed and Breakfast, which is perfectly situated between the town and beach. Our aim is to make your stay with us as relaxing, comfortable and memorable as possible. Our family run accommodation comprises of four luxury guest rooms, all with en-suite, one of which is on the ground floor. Each room has Freeview TV, DVD player and radio, hairdryer, alarm clock, complimentary toiletries and hospitality tray. WiFi is provided throughout. High chairs and travel cot available on request. Our rooms are double, twin, king, superking and a family room. You can also relax in our cosy TV lounge. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Rutland West Guest House Filey, Yorkshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing