We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A year on and could not resist another feast”
Review of The Ship Inn

The Ship Inn
Ranked #24 of 92 Restaurants in Filey
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Bar, British, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
cheshire
Level Contributor
173 reviews
80 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 99 helpful votes
“A year on and could not resist another feast”
Reviewed 6 October 2013

Yes we weren't disappointed, we both had the steak pie and what a monster pie it was with proper short crust pastry hand cut chips and plenty of veg, I don't like pies in pots so when I emptied it onto the plate it was a real plateful. The beer not quite as I liked but not one that I would normally drink at 4.8% I personally prefer the weaker session beers. Overall we were no different in our views of this pub as we were last year. Well done.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank TheBigdutchman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

114 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    76
    26
    6
    4
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
strathaven
Level Contributor
294 reviews
124 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 109 helpful votes
“Artefacts galore”
Reviewed 19 September 2013

Stopped for something to eat in this pub loaded with so many old items both inside and out the back,what can you do with 5telephone boxes? The welcome was warm and nothing seems too much trouble,food wholesome and good,seems to be usual Yorkshire fair,just wish that the menu could be a touch more adventurous and cater more for figure conscious.I would still come back to eat and drink in this good village pub,through the welcome of both landlord and customers.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank bigglesStrathaven
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Grimsby, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
44 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Wonderful.”
Reviewed 16 September 2013

This is my second review of The Ship in just over a month as on the first occasion I had the most basic of lunches and wanted to go further into the menu. This time we visited twice, once for a weekday lunch and then Sunday lunch. As before the friendly welcome and level of service was excellent. The food on both occasions was straightforward, very well cooked and presented, just good honest grub with some nice touches, for example, the Sunday lunch of well done roast beef was served with lovely Yorkshire puddings , roast potatoes and the richest of gravies, with an extra jug of alongside without having to ask. The seasonal vegetables were served separately, not plated up and the chocolate sponge and sauce to follow would have graced a Michelin starred restaurant. This with a pint of local ale and soft drink came to a little over twenty pounds for the two of us. At the earlier meal the lasagne was first class and the chips deserve a special mention; none of your cheffy thrice cooked,every chip the same size presented like a cube of Lego bricks stuff here, just steaming hot beautifully cooked golden chunks of Yorkshire spud. Wonderful. Return visit ? You bet!

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank smking323
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
England
Level Contributor
48 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Fantastic Country Pub”
Reviewed 6 September 2013

A wonderful country pub offering a wide selection of drinks and a fantastic menu for lunch & dinner. The food was delightful with a great selection on the menu. The dinners we had there during our visit to Scarborough were great & we returned a number of times during our stay up North. Overall I would say make sure you visit this lovely pub if you are looking for a freshly cooked meal....!! Can't wait to return on my next visit up north..!! Thank you to The Ship Inn ::))

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank LadeeLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
england
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Cracking pint and steak”
Reviewed 25 August 2013

On holiday from Worcestershire searching for a place to eat etc turned off main road and came cross this pub by chance (lucky us) real old time pub atmosphere with a very friendly landlady who made us most welcome.. i settled for a Stella which was excellent..my partner had the landladies choice of ale and said it was excellent also (best shes had in years)...we ordered a couple of steaks and a pizza for the 12yr old all three meals were excellent and came with hand cut chips (what a treat from the usual frozen ones)... if your ever in the area i would make a beeline for the ship you wont be disappointed.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank moonchild1250
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Ship Inn also viewed

Filey, Scarborough District
Filey, Scarborough District
 
Filey, Scarborough District
 
Filey, Scarborough District
 

Been to The Ship Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing