We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Yorkshire Pub” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Ship Inn

The Ship Inn
Ranked #26 of 90 Restaurants in Filey
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Bar, British, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Cheap Eats, Child-friendly
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Whitley Bay, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Great Yorkshire Pub”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 June 2014

The Ship Inn Muston Near Filey North Yorkshire
What a great pub! We last called in for Father’s day and had the Sunday lunch (Choice of Beef or Pork) with mash and vegetables plus the biggest, freshest Yorkshire puddings and plenty of rich home-made gravy (and more vegetables if you need them).
The Ship is a traditional Yorkshire Pub. unpretentious but very welcoming. It’s full of antiques and fascinating bric a brac which keep your interest until the food arrives which has always been speedy. They had good selection of hand pulled local and other UK beers like Ruddles and Old Speckled Hen.
The landlady Linda and her team (Jane, Nicky, & Adam) are extremely friendly and the service is great. On a previous visit we were even treated to some magic tricks that Linda’s husband Gavin was showing to some children.
We also ate there one evening and I had the game pie which was fantastic, my wife had the Stroganoff which she said was great. The meals were very generous and couldn’t manage one of their delicious home-made puddings.
If you want a good Yorkshire Pub, serving good home cooked food at very reasonable prices, with a very warm "Yorkshire" welcome we would definitely recommend The Ship Inn at Muston near Filey.

  • Visited June 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank PAUL E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

113 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    75
    26
    6
    4
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“So good we returned two days later.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 June 2014 via mobile

We visited the Ship on Tuesday this week whilst staying at Primrose Valley and we enjoyed our meal so much that we couldn't resist returning again on Thursday evening. The food was excellent value and the staff couldn't have been nicer, especially taking time to chat to our 2 year old son. Our favourite meal was the giant Yorkshire pudding filled with steak, mash & veg which is a huge portion and the steak melts in your mouth. Our son also devoured his lasagne which although a child's portion was still a huge portion with veg & chips. Thank you to the staff for your hospitality, we can't recommend this pub highly enough.

  • Visited June 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Jenna1507
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
9 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Hidden Little Gem!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 June 2014 via mobile

We decided to take the folks to Filey for a weekend, whilst here I searched for a dog friendly pub in the area and I'm glad I did.

The Ship Inn is a hidden gem, a proper british pub full of character and a warm welcome from all the staff. The food was delicious and the chef was more than happy to make me something that was not on the menu. I personally recommend the Stroganoff to anyone, rich and creamy without being sickly.

The giant filled Yorkshire pudding is also amazing, great value and perfect for walkers or those like us who have a larger appetite.

They even cooked two sausage's for our dog, so she could eat with us, fantastic food great service and a good selection of drinks. We will be visiting again in the near future.

Helpful?
4 Thank Neil P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Matlock, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
63 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Hearty”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 May 2014

At first view the sign saying that the car park and beer garden are not being used, doesn’t seem too appealing, however the inside of the pub is quirky and interesting. It’s full of knick knacks, photos, old sea memorabilia, and has lots of character. It offers a range of guest beers, but the Sam Smiths Bitter was excellent. The staff were very friendly and helpful, explaining what was available in the range of special meals, and checking the ingredients for a food intolerance that my wife has. Both our meals were home cooked, and included a cheese and tomato pizza with vegetables and home made chips, and a giant Yorkshire pudding absolutely stuffed with steak, potato and vegetables. They were delicious, and we both struggled to finish the meals due to the amount on the plate. This is a good place to come for a meal and a drink, were you can expect to get a hearty welcome, and an even heartier food. We will definitely go back again.

  • Visited May 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank jay3791
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oldham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Wow!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 April 2014

Went for an early evening meal here- what a pleasant surprise. Unbelievable welcome, nothing too much trouble and a fantastic atmosphere. Well done to the staff. Never ordered a meal before and asked what sauce I would like, made to order. You tell them what you would like and they will supply. We had a lovely red wine sauce to accompany the meal. My son ordered the home made steak pie and this is the first time ever he cleared his plate during a meal out. Will definitely be making this our favourite place to eat when in filey.

  • Visited April 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank brambles2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Ship Inn also viewed

Filey, Scarborough District
Filey, Scarborough District
 
Filey, Scarborough District
 

Been to The Ship Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing