We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“very good”
Review of The Ship Inn

The Ship Inn
Ranked #24 of 92 Restaurants in Filey
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Bar, British, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Filey, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
48 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“very good”
Reviewed 3 August 2014

visited this pub after seeing the scarecrow festival, food very good had a home made lasange and chips washed down with a shandy , no problems staff freindly, good service say no more

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank terry h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

114 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    76
    26
    6
    4
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
114 reviews
98 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 102 helpful votes
“Okay but nothing to special”
Reviewed 19 July 2014 via mobile

Went here whilst camping a week or so back. Pub was quiet with what appeared to be a few locals in. Nice old style pub with a good choice of beer. Food was okay but nothing to write home about. The homemade burger didn't seem to be homemade... The texture wasn't right for it. Chicken fajitas was okay but again not much to write home about. Staff were friendly and it was dog friendly too :)

Helpful?
Thank Jayp1985
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dalrymple, Scotland, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Typical country pub, rustic with fabulous food.”
Reviewed 16 July 2014 via mobile

Went here after reading other reviews. My husband had the tomato and basil soup, obviously freshly made and came with warm baguette, the clean bowl said it all. Son had sausages these were very tasty. My daughter had a half portion of steak pie whilst my hubby and myself had normal portion. Steak pie was the best I had tasted and the chips were to die for (chunky home made). Very good value for money and service from staff casual but very friendly especially towards the kids. Will be visiting again before heading back up north.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Rhona G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
144 reviews
85 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 107 helpful votes
“Excellent pub!”
Reviewed 8 July 2014 via mobile

Found this pub via Tripadvisor recommendations & had the Sunday lunch a couple of times in 2013. Twelve months on, nothing has changed, we once again had Sunday lunch & the quality of food, portion size, price & service by the staff has been maintained. Excellent.

Sunday roast sees a choice of beef, pork or chicken, all perfectly cooked, accompanied by fresh veg & fantastic Yorkshire puddings. The staff are always ready to offer additional veg if required but the meals are so substantial, you'll probably refuse, in order to leave room for a tasty dessert. Four adults, well fed for £47.

Also add the fact that this is a Sam Smith's pub so the drink is also reasonably priced.

This pub is well worth a visit but I'd book in advance.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank SeenIt9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hawick, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Excellent, just excellent”
Reviewed 8 July 2014

Visited on a very miserable wet day after reading trip advisor reviews and was not disappointed.
With our 11yo, 8yo and 18mth children, we were welcomed warmly and showed to our table. We ordered our food (I had rabbit pie, 1st time in years) very delicious. The kids were given colouring pencils and paper as we waited, we looked at all the different items around which must have taken years to collect. Our daughter especially enjoyed the many ships in bottles.
After demolishing our meal, (the home made chicken nuggets were a hit with the younger ones) our 8yo gave the owners a picture he had drawn whilst eating. They quickly showed it to the other staff then stuck it up on the bar, he was very pleased with himself. All in all it was a very enjoyable evening and we will certainly visit again next time we come to Scarborough or Filey.....
And so should you...

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank gordon g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Ship Inn also viewed

Filey, Scarborough District
Filey, Scarborough District
 
Filey, Scarborough District
 

Been to The Ship Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing