We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great food, great prices and HUGE portions...”
Review of The Royal Oak

The Royal Oak
Ranked #25 of 92 Restaurants in Filey
Price range: US$5 - US$19
Cuisines: British
Dining options: After-hours, Breakfast, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: After-hours, Breakfast, Reservations
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great food, great prices and HUGE portions...”
Reviewed 19 April 2013

Went in last night. Felt extremely comfortable. I heard some mixed reviews about it but we decided to try it. I ordered a triple stack burger - 3x16oz burgers, chips and side salad. The portion of chips was huge. My wife ordered chicken pie. The pie was huge and so was the portion of chips.
The food really is great. Anyone visiting Primrose Valley should really give this place a try. It's only a 15 minute walk away, just along the main road outside the caravan park. Probably the same price as one of the onsite restaurants but the Royal Oak won't have you still feeling hungry when you leave.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank CarlFox79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

448 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    238
    105
    46
    29
    30
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Sunderland, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Fantasic!!!”
Reviewed 17 April 2013

We own a caravan at Primrose Valley and decided to try a meal at the Royal Oak. The food here is outstanding. The meal portions was very large. The service here again is outstanding. best pub in the area by far and i would say one of the best pubs i have ever been in. Must try the Sunday lunch - FANTASTIC!!!

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank gavthorn123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sunderland, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Excellent”
Reviewed 17 April 2013

Excellent food have eaten her a number of times and its always lovely. Great atmosphere friendly staff great with the kids. have a caravan on Primrose valley so its a lovely local to have close by. Sunday lunch lovely and so is the bar food lovely starters and massive desserts can not wait to visit again on this Saturday with your friends. Never had a problem getting a table always fit you in and normally 6 of us .

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank 227059emma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Filey, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“too in your face”
Reviewed 14 April 2013

i went there with a buissness partner to discuss work but the man on the bar would not leave us alone im sure he was very nice but would not go away and then started asking personal questions like my age etc i found this too in your face quite irritating reallly

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank james h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Steve M, General Manager at The Royal Oak, responded to this review, 15 April 2013
Hello James H, thanks for taking the time out to post a review. What a pity you didn't do this while in the pub. A simple "We are having a business meeting and would prefer a little privacy" would have worked don't you think??
Our apologies that you believe our customer relations too much in your face, but all you had to do was mention this at the time.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Thorne
Level Contributor
36 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“excellent”
Reviewed 10 April 2013

the royal oak is a must if visiting the filey area.excellent food and friendly atmosphere.great service and family friendly.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank tonyhannant
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Royal Oak also viewed

Filey, Scarborough District
 
Filey, Scarborough District
Filey, Scarborough District
 

Been to The Royal Oak? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing