We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Delicious Sunday Lunch”
Review of The Royal Oak

The Royal Oak
Ranked #24 of 92 Restaurants in Filey
Price range: US$5 - US$20
Cuisines: British
Dining options: Breakfast, After-hours, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, After-hours, Reservations
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Delicious Sunday Lunch”
Reviewed 23 July 2014 via mobile

But don't judge this book by it's cover, the Sunday roast we had was tasty, plenty of choice and cooked to perfection and the portions are huge! A small plate is enough for anyone with a healthy appetite. Reasonably priced and friendly staff that accommodated us, although the exterior could do with a little kerb appeal! Will be returning next time we pass by. Recommend to book a table tho as it is very busy!

Helpful?
Thank Glesy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

460 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    245
    108
    47
    29
    31
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Market Rasen, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
205 reviews
145 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 102 helpful votes
“Get past the exterior.”
Reviewed 20 July 2014

This old pub doesn't look a 100% from the exterior which is a shame as it disguises a lovely interior with friendly staff and great value food.

A varied and exciting menu. The onion rings are the tastiest and largest I've ever seen.(And I have been to the USA)

Whilst the address for this establishment is Filey, it is out of town on the way to Hunmanby

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Martyn B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“A warm Yorkshire welcome”
Reviewed 16 July 2014

Immediately entering the pub, we were made welcome, my son offered the wifi code for his iPad ... Good fresh food ( not microwaved) at a reasonable price, and we felt like they wanted our custom... A rarity these days, to sum up a top notch pub with friendly staff & good food.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Steve L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hawick, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Lovely grub”
Reviewed 8 July 2014

Visited after reading reviews on trip advisor. Decided to order the large fish and chips but after talking to staff decided to go for the '3rd best steak pie in England'. Definitely the right choice. While waiting for our food we were disappointed about some disapproving looks from other diners when our 18mnth son made a little bit of noise. Nevertheless we thoroughly enjoyed all of the food and the staff were very friendly and we would definitely return here in future and suggest you do too.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank gordon g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Howden, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
45 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“Fantastic steak pie”
Reviewed 2 July 2014

We went for a meal today, two of us had steak pie, two of us had sweet and sour chicken and I had a Madras curry. The portions were of a gigantic size and cooked to perfection. Everything was piping hot but the comments my dad and one of our friends said that was the steak pie was the best they've had!! The pub/restaurant could benefit from having new cutlery but on the whole the service was good and the food was excellent. Worth the visit, we will return!!!!!

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Jamie P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Royal Oak also viewed

Filey, Scarborough District
 
Filey, Scarborough District
Filey, Scarborough District
 
Filey, Scarborough District
Filey, Scarborough District
 

Been to The Royal Oak? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing