We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing”

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Filey
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Downcliffe House Hotel
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Filey
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 19 March 2014 via mobile

On arrival I was greeted by Danielle who the most wonderful warm hostess you could wish for. I was shown to my room where I was amazed by the decor and individual ness of the room which was homely and inviting. We stayed and dined in the restaurant which was picturesque with its sea views and elegant with its decor. We ordered the 'Ginger Pig' which was delivered as promised by 'Luke' the head chef. Full of succulence and flavour. I would recommend 'The Downcliffe' to anyone in the area.

Stayed: March 2014, travelled on business
Thank Eleanorbrigginshaw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (552)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

306 - 312 of 552 reviews

Reviewed 12 March 2014

We stayed here for a Saturday night after a day in Filey. It was a lovely haven of luxury. The bedroom had 2 windows overlooking the beach, a massive bed, a well stocked wardrobe (with tea, coffee, chocolate, biscuits and sweeties) and a bathroom with a really deep bath and whirlpool. The toiletries were Molton Brown - a nice touch, and the decor was very 1930's. We had dinner that night in the smart restaurant, and were not disappointed. My lemon sole was more like a Dover sole, and the fish and chips were excellent. The service was first class throughout our stay. It would have been nice to stay longer, but we ran out of time. We will definitely return. The owner could not have been more helpful. Thoroughly recommend this hotel - we think it's the best in Filey.

Room Tip: One on the front, overlooking the beach is best.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Liz J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 March 2014

I arrived at The Downcliffe on Saturday 1st March after cycling 80 miles to get there, I was in much need of refreshment before taking the train home. To my horror I left the house that morning without my switch card and only had minimal cash and had no phone signal to sort anything out.....Lizzi was great she invited me to use her landline to get my bank details from home, these were efficiently processed, I received a drink and cashback for my train journey home....Fantastic friendly service....thanks again....Adrian

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Adrian48
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 February 2014

We have just called in for lunch at the Downcliffe and sat outside on the lovely terrace area as we had our dogs with us. My friend and I ordered smoked salmon and prawn sandwiches and handcut chips and my husband a steak sand with and chips. Both these dishes were steeply priced at £9.95. The chips were delicious and the sandwiches were stuffed full of salmon, prawns and beef - although it wasn't smoked salmon. The meal was let down by the bread on both dishes. I went for brown bread on my sandwich which turned put to be an everyday sliced brown loaf. My husband's steak sandwich was ordered on white but this was even worse as it was a very thin sliced white loaf and with the addition of large amounts of warm sirloin steak just collapsed. If the hotel is going to charge just short of £10 for sandwiches and chips the bread needs to be more exciting and less ordinary.

  • Stayed: February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Deborah5063
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 February 2014

Myself and my other half spent a stormy night at the Downcliffe hotel and will definitely be coming back. The hotel itself is decorated and kitted out tot he highest standards. The owners Darren and Lizi almost make you feel like you are having a sleep over at their house which gave the whole trip a lovely warm feeling on what was one of the stormiest nights of the winter.

We opted to eat at the hotel restaurant in the evening and food was fantastic, all locally sourced ingredients. The Yorkshire breakfast was fantastic too!

Room Tip: Ask for room 11, the view of the sea are amazing!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank troyplatts
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 February 2014

We stayed for 3 Days and had a very enjoyable time in this lovely sea front location. Parking was no problem as the have 6 parking spaces and there is ample parking overnight outside on the sea-front.

The hotel is well decorated and has a boutique style of its own.

The room was well furnished and the en-suite was of a very high quality with Villeroy and Bosch fittings and supplied with Molton Brown toiletries.

The staff were "top class" ,friendly without over-familiarity and extremely efficient. We learned that they keep staff for a long time at this hotel and it shows.

The food at breakfast, and particularly at dinner, was really well-presented and very tasty .

We stayed for 3days -2 days for Dinner B & B and 1 day on B & B basis. The price of £210 per person was value for money for the quality of accommodation and food.

The only thing stopping this stay being "perfect" was the fact that although the weather was cold the room would have benefitted from double - glazing. The restaurant too was in need of supplementary heating. After all most people do benefit from that in their homes. We did ask if they had a supplementary fan-heater to loan us but they didn't !

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank istanbul187067
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 February 2014

Recently my wife and I spent a couple of nights at the Downcliffe House Hotel. This was not our first visit and it won't be our last! At dinner on the first night, we were informed that the soup-of-the-day was tomato and basil, which we declined; not I must add because we doubted its quality but we have found on past occasions that a main course followed by a sweet is more than adequate for our particular appetites. However, such is the care taken with this hotel's cuisine that one would not have been surprised if the owners were able to source the tomatoes and indeed the basil back to the exact location they were grown, probably on the slopes of a warm Italian village smallholding, tended by someone called Alfonso and his wife Isabella! Please allow me this slice of poetic license, as this hotel is something very special. We never tire of visiting it and the quality of service and personal care taken by Darren & Lizzie plus all their staff never changes; its an experience that is rather like a good wine, one to sip and take time over and not to be rushed. Shall we stay there again? Of course we will is the simple answer and if you dear reader have never booked a room in this quality hotel, then I would strongly suggest that you do so as soon as possible. Book in, sit back and enjoy the hotel, the food, the views and the service, over and over again!
Tony&Kath Rose Driffield East Yorkshire.

Room Tip: We have stayed in several over the years but this time we had room 8. Highly recommended!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tony R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Filey
0.1 mi away
White Lodge Hotel
White Lodge Hotel
#2 of 3 in Filey
426 reviews
2.3 mi away
Wrangham House Hotel
Wrangham House Hotel
#1 of 1 in Hunmanby
199 reviews
24.9 mi away
Raithwaite Estate
Raithwaite Estate
#2 of 20 in Whitby
2,119 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.8 mi away
Wrea Head Hall
Wrea Head Hall
#1 of 26 in Scarborough
1,928 reviews
6.7 mi away
The Crown Spa Hotel
The Crown Spa Hotel
#6 of 26 in Scarborough
4,949 reviews
6.4 mi away
Ambassador Hotel
Ambassador Hotel
#22 of 26 in Scarborough
1,278 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Downcliffe House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Downcliffe House Hotel

Address: The Beach, Filey YO14 9LA, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Scarborough District > Filey
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Filey
Price Range: £53 - £129 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Please note Downcliffe House is a Hotel with 24 hour reception, please note we are not a bed and breakfast and amend our listing to a hotel Kind regards Darren Booth ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Downcliffe House Hotel Filey, Yorkshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing