We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Luxury, boutique at its very best!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Downcliffe House Hotel

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Filey
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Downcliffe House Hotel
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Filey
Certificate of Excellence
Ilkley
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Luxury, boutique at its very best!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 October 2009

Our stay at the Downcliffe Hotel in Filey was perfect from start to finish. Situated directly on the beautiful coast front, the views were simply stunning both day and night. We were greeted by the hotel owner, Lizzy, who was warm and welcoming upon our arrival and showed us to our room. Our room had a lovely view and was decorated in the most lavish yellow and cream colours with matching pillows and furniture. Together with the king size bed, whirl pool bath, soft, fluffy dressing gowns and complimentary sweets I was in hotel heaven! And that was just to start with. After we had settled in, we made our way downstairs for our evening meal. We made our way to the hotel bar and enjoyed a quick drink whilst pondering over the delicious menu, full of traditional English food and fresh sea food courses. I couldn’t decide what to eat, everything sounded delicious! The dining room was romantically lit and all the tables were set with lovely, white linen, flowers and modern plates and cutlery. A perfect atmosphere for my partner and I who were enjoying sometime to ourselves. When the food came, true to its description, it was divine and accompanied by the fine wine it was an altogether wonderful evening. Breakfast the following morning was just as sumptuous with every kind of fruit and cereal variety and the choice of a full English breakfast. We were sad to check out and leave the comfort of the Downcliffe behind, so after a walk along the coast we made our way back for a final cup of tea and a chunky scone with jam and cream on the terrace.
We thoroughly enjoyed our stay and would highly recommend to anyone who wishes to treat their other half to a romantic night away. Both the staff and attention to detail at this hotel made it worth every penny! I hope to visit again soon.

  • Stayed April 2009, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank DaniMacIlkley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

509 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    395
    68
    18
    11
    17
See reviews for
89
286
13
16
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (127)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Yorkshire
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 October 2009

We have just returned from a weekend at Downcliffe very disappointed by the attention to detail. As the wonderful promotional literature states that they pride themselves on attention to detail I would have to disagree.

We arrived to a very cold room as they had forgotton to turn on the heating, Lizzie blamed the chambermaids. I had a bath and when I turned on the whirlpool was covered in green algae as it obviously had not been cleaned out, again Lizzie blamed the chamber maids when I pointed out what a horrible experience it had been.

When our room was cleaned, the glasses we had taken upstairs from the bar were not taken away, and we had to go and ask for more loo roll and soap as they had not been replenished, again the chamber maids got the blame.

Breakfast used value ingredients and was tastless. Dinner was very poor, the 'luxury fish pie' was mostly mashed potato and the fish was not in a sauce, we were offered no vegetables or salad at all. The bread with dinner was cheap and doughy, and we were brought burnt toast at breakfast, but I was unable to get the waitresses attention to send it back. We pointed out to Lizzie that the toast was burnt, the waitress got the blame.

If I'm being really picky, for attention to detail to live up to it's hype I would expect linen napkins not paper, the tomato ketchup was served from a container which had been in the fridge so it was cold and wet from condensation. Both mornings the top of out caffetier was filthy. The bose sound system in the room could not get reception for a radio station and only played CD's and they only had terrestrial TV. The glassware was not of a good standard, and when we had a brandy in the bar Lizzie did not ask if we would like ice or provide any in our drinks. Small things, but things I expect from somewhere that sells itself on attention to detail.

We will not be going back, and would not recommend it to our friends. The sea views were fabulous and the room very nice, but over priced for what it offers

  • Stayed October 2009, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank herefordapple
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
east anglia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 September 2009

We found this hotel last year while walking on Filey beach, had coffe on the terrace and hoped one day we could return to stay. Well we did return this summer for a night while travelling around the area, we booked a few weeks in advance but were disappointed to find that we were given a room on 2nd floor that was very different from the rooms shown on the website, ok the carpet was very plush, but the furniture and overall ambience was just seaside b&b. The impression we got from Lizzie was that The Downcliffe is the new Manoir of the north. Ok, the refurb is great, but it doesn't deliver through your whole stay. It doesn't feel homely or friendly, you have nothing to guide you as to where anything is, the room has no folder or brochure with information of how the hotel works - ie - when breakfast is served, room service, newspapers, wi-fi - anything, you feel that it would be a nuisance to ask these things. The room had a kettle with a few tea bags, very ordinary, could have had a nicer selection of tea's and coffee.
The evening meal was very good, although the dining experience did feel very stuffy and old fashioned, over attentive if anything, but the girls were lovely and were just doing their jobs, Lizzie took our order and the chef got it wrong but she still charged us - unbelievable as she then apologised in the morning for the mistake and obviously felt justified for this when she gave us the bill.
Breakfast was very disappointing, a limited - very much 'little chef' breakfast and only an hous window to eat in - cheap bread for the toast and mediocre 'fry-up' - all said, it is a wonderful setting, Filey Beach is stunning, the town is old fashioned and doesn't have much to offer, the Downcliffe is the town's biggest asset, but sorry to say, you may have lovely brochure but the hotel and experience should match the 'hype'

  • Stayed September 2009, travelled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank rucolaEastAnglia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
York
Level Contributor
23 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 August 2009

We went to the restaurant for our wedding anniversiry. The staff were great we got a brilliant sea view table and were looked after very well. The complimentary foccacia tastes delicious and makes a welcome change to standard fare. The main courses were amazing. We had no room for desserts. The retaurant uses a lot of fresh fish and it really tastes amazing. I would highly reccomend the restaurant to anyone.

  • Stayed July 2009, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank drstephen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lincoln, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 June 2009

We only ate at the Hotel but we will be staying there in the future,the staff are so friendly
and the food is absolutely fabulous, its in the perfect spot overlooking the sea, can't wait to go again from what we saw I can tell we wont be disapointed.

  • Stayed June 2009, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank evette4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
london
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 May 2009

With a wife who was born in Yorkshire - and golf day at Ganton where else to stay for a couple of days than lovely Filey. It’s a little Victorian seaside gem. One of those few places in England where all the shops have “proper” shopkeepers who smile and offer a cheery good morning. Head for Sterchis chocolate shop – choccy’s made on the premises – to die for - www.sterchis.co.uk . – try the bakery next door for a Yorkshire curd pie, or for posh Edwardian tea and cake - Bramwells Tea Room. Know what a Ganzie is?? If not get over to the smallest museum in Yorkshire – Church Street Filey -and all will be revealed. Places like Filey are sadly fading from our English landscape, replaced by identically dull High Streets. The weather is pretty awful most of the time - but ride a donkey, hire a beach hut for the day – the kids won’t notice the rain- We stayed at the Downcliffe House Hotel. A large seaside house facing the sea. It’s absolutely great. Darren and Lizzie Booth are stylish hoteliers who have created a super boutique hotel in the midst of Victorian Filey. Trendy rooms with Bose radios and flat screen tv, but imbued old fashioned values – lovely staff and a real Yorkshire welcome- the added joy is the restaurant which serves delicious, locally sourced food. Generous (Yorkshire) portions beautifully cooked and presented – get there before the big stores arrive and spoil it! – Book early Downcliffe House is popular.

  • Stayed April 2009, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank jojo999London
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
leeds
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 May 2009

A stylish hotel in a fabulous location. The hotel rooms were luxurious, comfortable and decorated to a very high standard. Most had a sea view. The restaurant food was exceptional and the freindly greeting and service we received from Darren, Lizzie and their staff was fantastic.

  • Stayed April 2009, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank fileyflier
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Filey
0.1 mi away
White Lodge Hotel
White Lodge Hotel
#2 of 3 in Filey
4.5 of 5 bubbles 337 reviews
2.1 mi away
Wrangham House Hotel
Wrangham House Hotel
#1 of 1 in Hunmanby
4.5 of 5 bubbles 177 reviews
9.8 mi away
Wrea Head Hall
Wrea Head Hall
#1 of 28 in Scarborough
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,787 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
24.9 mi away
Raithwaite Estate
Raithwaite Estate
#3 of 20 in Whitby
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,908 reviews
6.7 mi away
The Crown Spa Hotel
The Crown Spa Hotel
#6 of 28 in Scarborough
4.0 of 5 bubbles 4,511 reviews
6.6 mi away
Red Lea Hotel
Red Lea Hotel
#12 of 28 in Scarborough
4.0 of 5 bubbles 347 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Downcliffe House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Downcliffe House Hotel

Property: Downcliffe House Hotel
Address: The Beach, Filey YO14 9LA, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Scarborough District > Filey
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Filey
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Please note Downcliffe House is a Hotel with 24 hour reception, please note we are not a bed and breakfast and amend our listing to a hotel Kind regards Darren Booth ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Downcliffe House Hotel Filey, Yorkshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing