We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A dirty dump”
Review of Three Tuns Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Three Tuns Hotel
Ranked #19 of 19 Filey B&B and Inns
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“A dirty dump”
Reviewed 20 February 2013 via mobile

We booked for 2 nights, booked out after 1,what a dump!dirty room,dirty bathroom,breakfast in edible,demanded our money back for night 2 which we got, don't Evan contemplate this hole ,very unclean .I really don't know what else I can add,other than slept fully clothed on top of bed as mattress was dirty ,don't stop here

  • Stayed May 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Mediumcaz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

60 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    7
    10
    5
    14
    24
See reviews for
16
30
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 August 2012

Did not enjoy are weekend 1 bit the noise from the karaoke was terrible , our window was at the back where everybody smokes it was very loud shouting and banging of doors till 2.30 in the morning would not recommend at all .

Room Tip: Do not stay here much to noisy ,
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PatB1960
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Filey hotels

Grimsby, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 19 August 2012

staff not bothered waited 20 mins for key then shown room ,paided £10 deposit for keys,the room had very dirty floors and not dusted for a long time, shared toilet with no lock or catch that worked, windows not cleaned, but the bed was the worst of all as it had metal springs and all was making loud noise and sticking through the bed, the window was outside the pub entrance and the language was very blue from customers from 10 at night until 12 this is no place to take a family, breakfast was a joke as chocolate coco pops and no milk ask for corn flakes and was told thats all they had, tables dirty, the other guests said they would never stop here again even if it was free, got my key deposit after the room was checked as this is standard here, PLEASE TAKE NOTE THAT FILEY IS A BEAUTIFUL PLACE AND IS WELL WORTH STOPPING AT ANOTHER HOTEL. filey is a clean and warm place.

Room Tip: dont stay any where in the three tuns
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 151markm151
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
40 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 July 2012

I stayed at the three tuns over a weekend and it is ideal if you want a cheap break to sample the many fine pubs in filey.I stayed in a twin room with my brother which were ok but could do with a facelift.The room I stayed in had a shared toilet/bathroom which where ok but again could do with a facelift.One problem with the room we stayed in was the fact we on the floor directly above the bar so is probably not suited for a family with young children also there are no double glazed windows and right below our window was the smoking area and even with the windows shut it was very noisy and also beware of the street cleaning vehicle which seems to go past the window a number of times early on a monday morning.Another problem we had was that you use the same door as the kitchen staff and especially during late morning/early afternoon you have to be careful you do not bump into them while serving food.The stand out for me was the breakfast which was served from 8.00-9.30 not 7.00-9.00 as stated when we bookd.I had the full english breakfast which as excellent and was accompanied by a choice of tea or coffee.There is a big free car park at the rear but please note that due to a market on a friday you can not park there till later in the evening.
All in all for a cheap weekend break to sample the delights of filey it is great for the price and there is the option for an en-suite on the 2nd floor which was unavailable when i booked.All in all for the rooms and breakfast I think they have got the price about right and i will probably return at some point in the future

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Nakes1878
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Liverpool
Level Contributor
58 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 July 2012

I stayed at the three tuns in Filey for a couple of nights with my Dad and brother, my brother and I stayed in the twin bedroom while my dad had the double room, both rooms had a shared bathroom / toilet.
The room I stayed in smelt of fresh paint, while the room my dad was in had a strong smoke odour. Both rooms are in need of a facelift, as is the shared bathroom / toilet, and the beds are not the most comfortably we have slept on, it is also worth mentioning that the rooms we stayed in were on the first floor and directly above the bar / lounge area of the pub so therefore it can be very noisy, especially at weekends. When we stayed there was a big event on in Filey and the pub stayed open until around 3am with karaoke banging out, needless to say none of us got much sleep that night!
On a more positive note, the Three tuns is situated in a great location to explore all that Filey has to offer, has friendly staff and the breakfast is nice, there is also free car parking for guests at the rear of the building next to a nice outside beer area, which is very nice in good weather. The price for the rooms is also reasonable and for slightly extra you can stay in an en-suite room located on the second floor.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank David H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Filey
0.4 mi away
White Lodge Hotel
White Lodge Hotel
#2 of 3 in Filey
373 reviews
2.3 mi away
Wrangham House Hotel
Wrangham House Hotel
#1 of 1 in Hunmanby
181 reviews
6.5 mi away
Marine Residence
Marine Residence
#18 of 28 in Scarborough
68 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.3 mi away
The Clifton Hotel - Scarborough
2.7 mi away
The Royal Oak Near Filey
0.2 mi away
No photo provided
Hallam Guest House
#8 of 13 in Filey
134 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Three Tuns Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Three Tuns Hotel

Property: Three Tuns Hotel
Address: Murray Street, Filey YO14 9DG, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Scarborough District > Filey
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #19 of 19 B&Bs / Inns in Filey
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Three Tuns Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 9
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Book Direct Rooms and Evoline ltd so you can book your Three Tuns Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Three Tuns Hotel Filey, Yorkshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing