We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“superb” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Desi Thali - CLOSED

Desi Thali
Cuisines: Indian, Asian
Dining options: Dinner, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol
Elgin, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
“superb”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 May 2014

Superb value and still one of the best Bangladeshi restaurants in filey. The buffet deal is £10-£12 excluding drinks. Includes papadum,starter, main,side, rice, and nan.

  • Visited April 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank wanderlust88792
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

45 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    19
    9
    7
    6
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Didn't even get sat down despite booking!”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 May 2014 via mobile

Well not much I can say food is lovely service is disgusting we booked hours in advance got there only to be told there wasn't enough tables so I explained I had booked and the guy told us to sit at 2 different tables with our backs to each other despite there being another table next to it! So we went to another restaurant instead that was happy to seat us! Normaly come here all the time as we live in filey but will not be coming again

Helpful?
3 Thank mbrown4283
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Canterbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Tasty food. Not much for vegetarians”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 May 2014

Went here by chance when another restaurant we wanted was shut. The food was fantastic but only counted two dishes that were meat free. Not a problem for us but would put some off. The food that was there was really tasty and the staff were attentive and friendly.

  • Visited May 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Gorebie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
St Helens
Level Contributor
45 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Brilliant and Amazing Choice”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 May 2014 via mobile

We attended here as a group of 3 friends and we definitely weren't disappointed... Great buffet food selection which was kept fresh and hot and the service also matched... Around £12 for the buffet you couldn't go wrong it was great!

Helpful?
Thank MatP1990
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ashton-under-Lyne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
53 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Poor customer service!”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 April 2014

We booked for this buffet restaurant a few days in advance. We had booked for Easter Sunday as a treat. We duly arrived 10 mins early and we noticed that there were only two tables in use. However, we were told by one of the waiters to sit on the waiting area seating. We explained that we had booked and indicated that we would like to go straight to our table. We were told that we must wait in the waiting area. Then a couple came in and a family of 7 people, of which neither party had booked. They were told that they could have a table. A waiter directed the family of 7 to two adjacent tables and the couple to another table. We were gobsmacked as we had booked. We checked with the waiter who appeared to be in charge and he led us to a table by the window next to the couple. The trouble was that you could get in but would not be able to get out without disturbing the table adjacent and vice versa. We asked another waiter if we could move to a different table (of which there was only 3 to choose from) and he agreed, so we moved. No sooner had we got comfortable and the 'head' waiter came over and said that he would need that table in 10 minutes. We told him that we had booked and were not happy about being shoved in a corner after watching him place 9 other people at tables before us who had not booked and just called in by chance. He reluctantly let us stay at that table but by this time we were fed up with playing musical chairs and told him that we would leave.

What is the point of taking bookings if you are not going to prioritise those that have booked!! The restaurant is a buffet restaurant and people are going to be getting up, back and forth from their tables all of the time but the physical space can not accomodate this without others having to be put out.

Complete waste of time! it is too small for a buffet restaurant and lacks customer service. Won't go again!

  • Visited April 2014
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 14Deb17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Desi Thali also viewed

Filey, Scarborough District
 
Filey, Scarborough District
Filey, Scarborough District
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing