We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Lovely house, great location”
other travellers have booked this property
Living area
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Living area
living area 108 sunrise Drive
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Very good
15 reviews
Living area
living area
108 sunrise Drive
living area
main bedroom
main bedroom
double room
double room
Bathroom
Outside patio
Filey beach
Picnic are at The Bay Filey.
dinning room
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 4
Filey, Scarborough District, North Yorkshire, England

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 15 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
3fromthor...
Sheffield
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Lovely house, great location”
Reviewed 13 May 2018 for a stay in May 2018

Have wanted to try a stay at The Bay for a while and the opportunity arose so booked before checking reviews! Was a little concerned after reading the previous review so arrived complete with full cleaning gear including a vacuum! Needless to say was totally unnecessary - the house was fine, clean and not smelly. The kitchen was fully equipped - we were a party of 4 with 2 dogs, we didn’t struggle to cook and serve all meals. Only thing missing was something to dry towels on - an airer would be useful.
The location was great, short walk to dog friendly beach (dogs not allowed on beach in front of main promenade - May to end of September). Turn left,40 mins to Filey town or turn right for a longer walk to Hunmanby Gap. Didn’t use the leisure facilities at The Bay but did use the dog friendly pub, which was good.
Overall a fabulous short break and will definitely return.

Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lynn M
Wakefield, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“In desperate need of refurbishment”
Reviewed 2 January 2018 for a stay in January 2018
4
people found this review helpful

We booked this cottage for a 3 night New Year break, we’ve been to The Bay on a number of occasions, each time the cottages we booked have been very good, however not on this occasion.

We were so disappointed at the standard of the accommodation and the fixtures and fittings, or lack of them!

The kitchen was sparsely equipped, broken light fittings on the cooker hood and under cupboard units. The dishwasher had been changed and was literally hanging out of it’s housing so could not be used. The blind was missing a slat in it so gave no privacy from passers by. The kitchen table was of poor quality and we struggled to get 4 people round it. The lounge area had one corner sofa which smelled of sweat.

Upstairs was no better, the bathroom was grotty with hardly any of the spot lights working, mould around the bath and plaster that was sodden with water and almost hanging off.

Bedrooms, well, duvets were so old they were falling to bits as they were torn, pillows very old and uncomfortable and the mattress stained. TV in the back bedroom was fitted in the middle of the wall and had cables hanging down as the trunking was faulty, a safety incident waiting to happen.

Overall the cottage is desperate for redecoration and the furniture needs replacing, most of it is the original ‘moving in pack’ which all cottages had. We do not consider that we have had value for money and would definitely not recommend this cottage to anyone.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
karensmal...
Preston, United Kingdom
1 review
“Amazing”
Reviewed 8 September 2016 for a stay in August 2016

The accommodation was beautiful.
Had everything we needed(could do with a dish draining board), was a sort walk from the beach and also grassy wild flower meadows with large ponds ... we took our puppy... who absolutely loved it.
The leisure facilities on site were very good, pool wasn't too over crowded and the sauna/ steam was very relaxing.
Highly recommend, relaxing .. close to the beach.. plenty to do and beautiful walks.

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 August 2016 for a stay in August 2016

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
nu12015
Derbyshire, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Excellent accommodation and location”
Reviewed 26 June 2016 for a stay in June 2016

Holiday with my husband, 19 year old granddaughter and her boyfriend. The holiday village was beautiful. The houses were of differing styles but all very nice. Lovely shrubs and paths leading to little courtyards and seating areas. The roadways were excellent. A good pub and restaurant on site serving excellent food. The teenagers used the pool, sauna and steamroom and said they were good, and the showers were great. The path leading to the beach is great, ideal for wheelchairs and pushchairs. The wild meadow and lake walk is excellent for exercising dogs. Lots of bin areas around the houses but all secluded so not unsightly. The house we stayed in was perfect. A lovely lounge area with dining and kitchen. A downstairs toilet and sink which was great as there were four of us. Upstairs two lovely bedrooms and a bathroom with an enormous bath and shower over. The decor was fine all the ornaments and pictures were of a nautical theme which gave it that holiday feeling. We had a problem with the oven but the lady who looks after the property came out straight away and fixed it, so no complaints.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The location
Liked least: A shop on site would be useful
Travelling group: Teenagers
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Barry F
Macclesfield, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“First weeks holiday”
Reviewed 11 June 2016 for a stay in May 2016

Lovely end house, laid out just right, everything you need to hand.
Short walk to the pub and beach.
Made a great base for exploring Filey and Bridlington.
Will hopefully going again next year.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The way it had been laid out.
Liked least: Getting the dishwasher to clean properly
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
kjhb1
Huddersfield, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Needs some TLC”
Reviewed 15 April 2016 for a stay in March 2016

Curtain rails falling out of wall. Carpets did not appear to have been vac'd and when got the vac out from under stairs it was crusty and looked like not used in quite some time, the filters were kicking around in the cupboard and filthy so we had to wash and dry them and then attempt to clean up but it smelled really bad. Mop filthy and falling apart. Backdoor mat sodden and worn smooth so unable to avoid walking mud in. No useful cleaners- had to go out and purchase. Unable to open windows in bedroom, looked like dropped within the frame and stuck. Half the bulbs blown, replaced as many as we could but couldn't get into bathroom spots (you need a gadget apparently!) so really dark in there. Just looks a bit tired. I would still recommend the site, and with a little bit of maintenance, would definitely still recommend this cottage.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Being so close to the sea
Liked least: Having to start cleaning when we arrived
Travelling group: Other
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Families with young children People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
28 Apr 2016
The curtain rail had been broken by a previous guest who failed to alert us and the cleaner was in the process of getting raw plugs so that she could fix it. The vac has been broken for 6 months and I was not aware that she had not thrown it out as she uses her own which she prefers. She also uses her own mop and bucket and I was unaware there was one at the house. We do not leave cleaning solutions for guest as the cleaner supplies her own. If I had been made aware whilst you were there it would have been no problem for me to get Kym to pop down and sort any problems out for you at the time. We always strive to give the best service we can and Kym (the cleaner) is always happy to pop over if there are any problems.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing