We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Superb East Coast Base with Excellent Facilities”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of 20 The Parade

Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Very good
23 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Condo/Apartment -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 2
Filey, Scarborough District, North Yorkshire, England

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 23 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Wendy S
Huddersfield
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Superb East Coast Base with Excellent Facilities”
Reviewed 24 September 2015 for a stay in September 2015

The Bay is a great base to tour the East Coast with Filey, Bridlington and Scarborough all within 15 mins drive. The Bay has excellent facilities with a swimming pool, gym, cycle hire and a pub and café all on site. We had a one bed apartment which was modern, tidy and with everything you need for a long weekend stay. A short walk to the beach from The Bay led to miles of sand and you can walk along to Filey (at low tide) which takes about an hour. On Saturday we did the Sewerby Hall Park Run on a lovely coastal route. Just 10 mins away. We enjoyed our long weekend break at The Bay and would certainly go again.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The facilities on site
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Helen T
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
“Another relaxing stay”
Reviewed 19 July 2015 for a stay in July 2015

This is the third time this year we have been to 'The Bay - Filey' A lovely base to visit places on the Yorkshire coast. The Bay is a good mixture of brick build properties with accommodation to suit all couples/families and it is dog friendly. There is a lovely meadow walk and access to a safe sheltered beach although access is via a steep path so maybe not accessible for all. There is a Italian where you can eat in or take out , a pub and a pharmacy that sells essential groceries as well as a swimming pool and gym etc to work off those extra indulgences!! We stayed at 20 The Parade a 1st floor apartment - The accommodation has one large double bedroom, bathroom and lounge with kitchen and dining area with a double bed settee for sleeping extra guests. It felt spacious and was clean with all the facilities required for a relaxing break. We thoroughly enjoyed our 4 night break and would recommend this accommodation. The cost of the accommodation beats staying in a caravan that actually costs more!!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Warm,clean accommodation
Liked least: Nothing - the accommodatin and location is great!
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PaulaMcNa...
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Great stay again”
Reviewed 5 March 2015 for a stay in March 2015

On arrival we were able to get in earlier. This is the third time we have stayed and the only problem was the water which was rectified immediately. I think somebody had messed around with the timer. The apartment is in a good state and the location is great . I have recommended this place to several of my frienDs and would stay again. The owner Bev ( or Manager ) is very helpful and to be honest I have read some of the previous reviews about poor service this is not true at all. Will be booking again soon

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
munkie23
norwich
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“AVERAGE”
Reviewed 8 October 2014 for a stay in October 2014
1
person found this review helpful

Apartment that i booked was not the one in the photos, had to chase up three times for key info.
The apartment was an ideal base for sightseeing, nice complex. Altho it did need some decorating the bath seal was disgusting with mildew and along the side of the bath, No instructions for washing machine, no ceiling lights working in the bedroom, outside hall light kept flickering .

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
14 Oct 2014
The apartment is in the photos. The bath seal was redone and I am surprised there was mildew. The lights - as we are so busy light go at anytime and I cannot understand why you did not contact us to allow us to rectify the problem. A guest who left this apartment on Monday contacted me to say what a lovely clean apartment and intend to book again. He also informed me about the light but said it was not an issue as there are 2 side lamps. The key information is sent by e-mail on booking and on the automated e-mail when the finale balance is paid to holiday lettings
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
nokomis50
Lincoln, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Great stay”
Reviewed 26 August 2014 for a stay in August 2014

Loved this rental, The Bay was very clean and well looked after. Our apartment was very nice, large bedroom, bathroom with bath and shower, open plan kitchen, living room. My sister not over keen on bed settee, wouldn't say it was big enough for 2 adults. Kitchen had everything we needed. Did use the washer but no instructions, so what we thought would be a quick wash took ages, not sure what the flat below thought when it was still going after 9 p.m. We had take away pizza from the cafe which was really nice, tried to get a table next night but very busy, didn't know we should have booked. Went to the pub instead and also had a good meal there. Used the pool once, you can walk up and down, so not deep, my grand-daughter loved it. Bit of a steep walk to beach, beach lovely. No phone signal inside the apartment, not sure if that would be for everyone's phone. Will definitely stay again.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Quiet and secure
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
kathryn h
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“The bay filey”
Reviewed 15 July 2014 for a stay in July 2014

Fab place peaceful, beautiful and relaxing.
The apartment was great and the owner very helpful regarding our check out time .
John Paul jones staff well done big thanks to Claire xx

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lesley H
Grantham, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“Nice property.”
Reviewed 1 July 2014 for a stay in June 2014

Property was quite near the sea but a steep walk down to it, and up again. Property itself very clean but could do with one or two "tweaks". A clothes horse would be useful to dry wet clothes on. An ironing board would be useful as an iron is provided. Parking can be difficult if all properties are let. Apartment door needs sealing as it rattles every time the main door is open/closed and if the hall window is open and its windy, rattles all the time. Pub on site has excellent food and reasonable prices. Pharmacy and Italian café both good. Didn't use the indoor pool so can't comment.

How easy was it to book the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Tidiness of site
Liked least: Walk down to the beach
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing