We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Great base for exploring area”
other travellers have booked this property
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
83 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 4
Filey, Scarborough District, North Yorkshire, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 83 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Clarkefam...
Hamilton, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“Great base for exploring area”
Reviewed 27 October 2014 for a stay in October 2014

Excellent house with everything you could imagine carefully supplied by Suzie.
The house was spotless and in perfect position in a lovely holiday setting.
The only fault was with the central amenities in that the pool was cold and the showers FREEZING - not good for 8 year old daughter.
Would certainly recommend this property and will automatically request a booking if in the area again.

Date of stay: October 2014
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Peaceful, lovely location
Liked least: Poor amenities
Travelling group: Other
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
30 Oct 2014
Thank you very much for your kind comments about the house and setting. We are really pleased you liked it. I'm very sorry to hear about the issues you had with pool and shower temperature. I have been in touch with the leisure centre about this. Apparently they did have a problem with the settings on the shower one evening recently, which has been rectified. Our children haven't ever had any issues with the temperature of the pool, so it looks like this was hopefully a one off too. The leisure centre has, however, said that they have to keep the main swimming pool at a constant 29 degrees for swimmers. I have checked and this is in line with recommendations for a pool which is used for recreation and swimming. I will certainly be checking out the pool myself and shower myself this weekend. We'd love to welcome you back again.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Baildonor...
Baildon, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Fabulous stay”
Reviewed 17 October 2014 for a stay in October 2014

We have just returned from a long weekend at Meadowside Cottage. What an absolute gem of a place this is. The cottage has been lovingly decorated and fitted out with everything you could ever need. The owners have thought of everything. There was a wonderful welcome basket awaiting us upon arrival which ensured we were not lacking in anything on our first evening. The cottage is spotlessly clean and perfectly equipped, with plenty of outside space and parking. The grounds are all very well maintained and litter free and despite the number of dogs staying in the area there was absolutely no fouling of the pavements or grounds. The cottage is easy to find on the main street and a short walk from the amenities and the beach. Just across the street is a lovely lake situated in a large meadow with a wooden jetty and under cover area with tables and chairs, ideal for an evening glass of wine or day time picnic. There is also a small grass football pitch where our son enjoyed playing with other like minded lads. We had a wonderful stay and felt very much at home. Our only regret was that we were only there for two nights. We intend to rectify that though and have booked a week long stay next Spring. We cannot recommend it highly enough.

Date of stay: October 2014
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: It was a real home from home
Liked least: Having to leave
Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Families with young children People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
18 Oct 2014
Thank you so much for your fab review. We couldn’t have hoped for nicer comments. So glad you’ll be returning.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
howes46
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“lovely cottage”
Reviewed 20 September 2014 for a stay in September 2014
1
person found this review helpful

had a lovely stay at this cottage,first time booked privatly as in the past booked with hoeseasons at the bay but will return again,just nice touches like the welcome pack and the toys for our pooch which we forgot make the difference,also the cottage is very clean,will recommend to friends and family.

Date of stay: September 2014
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: how clean the cottage was
Liked least: no guest ales at on site pub
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
24 Sep 2014
Thank you very much for your kind review. It's good to hear you had a good time and liked the cottage and extra touches. We look forward to hearing from you again in the future and thank you for recommending us to friends and family.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pmcn11
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“A fantastic property in a wonderful location”
Reviewed 8 September 2014 for a stay in August 2014
1
person found this review helpful

We had a wonderful few days at The Bay. The property owners had ensured the property was in excellent condition and left a very thoughtful hamper which included lovely touches such as little gifts/chocolates for our kids, bottle of wine, some filter coffee and lots of other useful things. There was also a box with spares in case you had forgotten something - a nice touch. A useful location for exploring the area and the property was just a short stroll to a lovely big beach. The onsite pool with Sauna and steam room was a hit for all.

All in all we will definitely be looking to book again and would whole heartedly recommend it.

Date of stay: August 2014
Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
24 Sep 2014
Thanks ever so much for your great review. We're so glad you liked it and it's nice to hear you liked the welcome hamper and the extra touches. It's great to hear you will be back
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
cathmclea...
Leeds, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Perfect”
Reviewed 16 August 2014 for a stay in August 2014
2
people found this review helpful

We enjoyed our holiday very much. The cottage was beautifully decorated throughout and very comfortable, in a great location and access to a lovely beach which was perfect for our two dogs. Dog friendly pub and cafe on site which served great food, especially the pub. The whole site is very pretty and would definitely recommend.

Date of stay: August 2014
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
24 Sep 2014
Thank you very much for your lovely review. We are very glad you and your dogs had a lovely time.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pamela A
Southampton
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Well equipped, lovely location, good for kids.”
Reviewed 10 August 2014 for a stay in July 2014

We stayed here in july and were lucky to have good weather. The house itself is extremely well equipped and decorated and furnished well throughout. (sorry for the broken badminton racket) The owners seem to have thought of everything that a family with young kids needs. (even had some blackout blinds!)
The Bay itself has a nice pub and restaurant and are dog and kid friendly. There are nice walks on your doorstep and the private access to the beach is also an advantage. The beach is sandy and great for kids.

Date of stay: July 2014
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: well equipped
Liked least: didn't notice the cupboard full of books and dvds until the night before we left!
Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
17 Aug 2014
Thank you for your kind review. We are glad to hear you liked the cottage and The Bay and liked how child and dog friendly it was. It’s also good to hear you felt it was very well equipped. That is certainly our intention. Don’t worry at all about the badminton racket. Accidents happen! Thank you ever so much for the toy you left in it’s place though. I’m sure other guests will appreciate it and we certainly do.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sarah P
Newark-on-Trent, United Kingdom
1 review
“Fantastic what more can I say”
Reviewed 1 August 2014 for a stay in July 2014

Great cottage, great location. The cottage had everything in it there seems to be everything in there and more. The welcome pack was great as not wanting yo travel with milk in the car to arrive and be able to have a cuppa was great. Y
Cottage was exceptionally clean and we loved just bring there.
The facilities on the bay were great and we went swimming and to the gym which is usually unheard of. The pub food is lovely as is the cafe Italian who do great food particularly breakfasts if you don't want to cook.
Overall I will definitely be back

Date of stay: July 2014
Travelling group: Teenagers
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
17 Aug 2014
Thank you for your kind comments. We are glad you liked the welcome pack and had a great time. I’m impressed to hear you used the gym and swimming pool. We will have to try the breakfast at the Café Italia. We have enjoyed other meals and the gorgeous huge cakes we have had there but it’s good to know that you recommend the breakfast too. It’s very good to hear you will be back
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, Tripadvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing
© 2021 TripAdvisor LLC All rights reserved.

This is the version of our website addressed to speakers of English in United Kingdom. If you are a resident of another country or region, please select the appropriate version of Tripadvisor for your country or region in the drop-down menu.