We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Cannot recommend highly enough - absolutely...”
other travellers have booked this property
The back of the cottage onto the boules court
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
The back of the cottage onto the boules court
Stunning seaview on the walk to the beach (direct access) Living/dining Area
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
73 reviews
The back of the cottage onto the boules court
Stunning seaview on the walk to the beach (direct access)
Living/dining Area
Bedroom 1
Bedroom 2
Entrance hall
Cottage from the front (it's the one with the red door)
Meadowside cottage taken from the meadow.
On-site swimming pool
On-site gym
More beach view en route to the Beach (via direct access)
Jetty onto Fishing Lake (in wildflower meadow). A great place for a glass of wine
View from Beach to Filey (which is an approx 40 min walk away via beach)
Hmm which way today
Dogs love it on the beach
A dip in the sea
Outside the pub area
Tennis Court
Play area outside the pub
Beach view towards Bempton Cliff
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 4
Filey, Scarborough District, North Yorkshire, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 73 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
FJF1971
Holmes Chapel, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Cannot recommend highly enough - absolutely fantastic”
Reviewed 15 November 2015 for a stay in October 2015

We stayed for a week in October with our dog after being recommended to the Bay village. We struck gold with Meadowside Cottage. It was beautifully decorated and lots of thought had been put into it and no expense spared. The kitchen was fully equipped and the welcome package was a lovely thoughtful touch. It is based one minute from a wildflower meadow and a short stroll from the beach so absolutely perfect for the dog. We had a pamper session at the beauty room on site which we can also recommend and enjoyed a lovely meal in both the pub and Italian restaurant. There is also a swimming pool on site and Leisure Centre. It just had everything. We will be going back to Meadowside Cottage again and again and again and would highly recommend it to anyone including families or couples.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
23 Nov 2015
Thank your very much for your great review. It really good to hear you liked the cottage,The Bay, the extra touches and appreciated the quality of what is provided. It's also good to hear you recommend the pamper session. We look forward to welcoming you back again and thank you for recommending us to others.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Inspire55...
2 reviews
“Sheffield”
Reviewed 31 October 2015 for a stay in October 2015

thank you Suzie for our wonderful stay in your beautiful cottage. everything was ten out of ten. the only thing that could have been better was the weather but we can't do nothing about that! we will be booking again for next year definitely! thank you

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
23 Nov 2015
Thank you very much for your kind review. What a shame the weather wasn't better but I'm glad you liked it anyhow and it's great to hear you will be booking again for next year.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jivequeen...
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Too Good to Miss”
Reviewed 28 October 2015 for a stay in October 2015

Booked a short weekend break with my husband in the Meadowside Cottage. Well what can I say! What a beautiful cottage every thing you need! A welcome pack awaits incase you do forget anything! The cottage is immaculate you only have to turn up with clothes that you need! My husband and I went the weekend of the 9/10 not expecting good weather! little did we know that we would be sitting on the beach sunbathing! watching our dog having fun with other dogs on the dog friendly beach! Thinking I would need to go and buy a beach towel! No the owner Suzie of the cottage thinks of everthing! (Spare beach towels) in the cottage!

You walk in the entrance of the cottage and it really is home from home! if you take children! buckets! Spades! games everything you would want if you take your children! teenagers! won't sulk with out gadgets! Wifi is in the cottage!

We took our pooch! and there is even thoughts for your pooch a basket with knick knacks and toys!

The beach is two minutes and there is a lake whether you fancy going for walks with your family or taking your dog for a holiday break! This cottage is a must!

The John Paul and Italian Cafe are 2 mins! very nice for eating and the Italian Cafe do a lovely breakfast both allow pets!

What a lovely place the Bay Village is everyone speaking to each other very friendly place to visit!

We enjoyed ourselves so much in the cottage! We have already booked again in November! A lovely cottage! I am sure we will be spending more happy times and with the short journey we have it could be our little weekend retreat after a hard week of work!

Fabulous! and Truly not to be missed! Thank you to the owners for making the cottage a special place to stay!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Everything the cottage is absolutley Fab
Liked least: There is nothing
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
23 Nov 2015
Thank you for your wonderful review. It sounds like you felt at home straight away and love the place as much as we do for very much the same reasons. How fortunate that the weather was good! It sounds like we can look forward to welcoming you back lots in the future, which is great.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marie E
1 review
“Perfect”
Reviewed 16 September 2015 for a stay in September 2015

We stayed at Meadowside Cottage for three nights in September 2015 with our two children, age 9 & 12. It was superb! The cottage is sooo comfortable and spotlessly clean. It had everything we could need and more! The extra touches added by Suzie really make the cottage feel very welcoming and super cosy. Outside the patio doors is a lovely green space where we could let the children run around whilst we watched (from inside on the cool day and outside on the warm day) - very relaxing! The pub on site offers good pub grub and Cafe Italia is great - the food and service were very good. We took the kids to the swimming pool for the 'inflatable obstacle course' session and they had loads of fun. Wish we had time for them to do some of the other activities on offer eg: sea scooters! We can't wait to go back to Meadowside Cottage!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
23 Nov 2015
Thank you very much for your great review. It's really nice to hear the extra touches make a difference. The green space out the back is a great place for the kids to play. I'm glad the children liked the splash session and hopefully you'll have a chance to try out more activities next time.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
113popcor...
Bradford, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“fantastic meadow side cottage”
Reviewed 25 August 2015 for a stay in August 2015

On arrival we were met with a fantastic welcome package which included a giant Toblerone each, a box of after eight mints, biscuits, fresh coffee, tea and a bottle of wine. The kitchen is extremely well stocked with things you would never expect to find in self catering accommodation such as sauces, oils, jams, and washing up liquid to name a few. A first aid kit is even supplied.. The whole cottage is furnished to a very high standard and a great deal of thought has been given to items which made our holiday more enjoyable. In the living room there are a selection of dvds for all ages so each evening we would watch a dvd with candles lit, all supplied by Suzie, and the patio doors open. Perfect. There were also a selection of boards games which the children loved playing. Toys/equipment are also supplied for the beach. You literally just have to take yourselves and your clothes,! The bedrooms are beautifully furnished and the beds extremely comfortable, the master bedroom has a tv. I was asked if anything could be added or changed to improve our stay and I can honestly say no, this has to be the best self catering accomodation I have ever stayed in. The Bay itself is in a gorgeous location with a private path to the beach, we had a lovely walk to Filey along the beach. On site we used the gym and swimming pool which are both kept to a high standard. We ate at the Italian restaurant one evening, the food was beautiful and very reasonably priced. If I were to be very critical, i would say the only thing missing is a small convenience store on site. We will definitely be returning to this beautiful cottage.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The attention to detail which ensured you wanted for nothing.
Liked least: The weather!
Travelling group: Young Children
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
23 Nov 2015
Thank you so much for your fab review. I'm glad you like the welcome pack and extras provided. We love to light the candles and settle down to watch and DVD and play games after a day on the beach too. It so nice to hear it's the best self catering accommodation you've ever stayed in. Thank you.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NSF1
Bradford, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
45 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Perfect holiday cottage. Great attention to detail.”
Reviewed 12 August 2015 for a stay in August 2015

Our family stayed here for most of last week and loved every minute of it.

The cottage itself is located in the beautiful Bay complex just outside Filey and has all the things you want. A pub, cafe/restaurant, swimming pool, fishing lake, private beach etc. It's very modern, very clean and a lovely place to stay.

And Meadowside Cottage only adds to the experience. Upon arrival we found the cottage fully clean, bathed in sunshine and even with a welcome pack containing essentials and luxuries! After Eight mints, Fox's biscuits, milk, coffee, you name it! There is also a bit of an emergency box with things that you may have forgotten, to tide you over until you get to a shop. Brilliant! This and loads of other information such as menu's for the pub, WiFi password (kids had the tablets hooked up in seconds!) were all in the very useful Guest Information book.

The cottage throughout is incredibly well maintained and modern with a lovely patio seating area that backs onto a great open space where the kids from all the cottages played. It feels very safe so we just let the kids run around and even when they were on the scooters, we never saw anyone driving quickly around the complex.

All told, Meadowside Cottage is by far the best place we have stayed in Filey and I can't really see us considering anywhere else in the future. Looking forward to going back!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
15 Nov 2015
Thank you so much for your fab review. It's so nice to hear that Meadowside Cottage is the best place you have stayed in Filey and you can't see yourselves considering anywhere else in future. We really look forward to welcoming you back.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Emma C
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
“lovely cottage by the bay”
Reviewed 10 August 2015 for a stay in August 2015

We've just got back from a wonderful break at this lovely cottage. The bay is in a great location and the beach there is stunning - our children played on it for hours. The cottage is very well equipped and had everything you could need. It was perfectly located looking out to the green at the back - lovely to sit out in the evening. We were very lucky with the weather so that made it extra special. We will definitely go back!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
15 Nov 2015
Thank you for your great review. It's good to hear you got good weather to make the most of the stunning beach and the green out the back. We look forward to welcoming you back.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing