We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Simply the best!”
other travellers have booked this property
Hidden Gem - Frontage
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Hidden Gem - Frontage
Sitting Room Sitting Room
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
45 reviews
Hidden Gem - Frontage
Sitting Room
Sitting Room
Sitting Room
Dining Area
Kitchen
Kitchen
Breakfast Dining Seating - Ground Floor
Bedroom 1  - Ground Floor -  King Size bed
Bedroom 2 - Ground Floor - Double bed
Nautical Themed Twin Bedroom - First Floor
Nautical Themed Twin Bedroom - First Floor
Children's Garden Beach Hut
Children's Garden Beach Hut Interior
Play Room - First Floor
Conservatory
Rear Patio and BBQ Area
Rear Courtyard Garden and Parking
Front Garden
Front Garden
Front Patio
First Floor Shower Room
Ground Floor Family Bathroom
Hidden Gem Holiday
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Bungalow -
3 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 6
Filey, Scarborough District, North Yorkshire, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 45 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
gibbs1234
Barnsley, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Simply the best!”
Reviewed 13 September 2015 for a stay in September 2015

We are currently staying at this FIRST CLASS property. First class in every respect from ideal location and it is only 6 minutes to walk to the beach yet it is in a quiet location. This is the best property we have stayed in and over 20 years we have stayed in many cottages across the UK. It is spotlessly clean, very spacious, decorated and furnished with taste and the kitchen is full of clean glasses, crockery, cutlery, pits and pans as well as clean kitchen equipment in good working order. The beds are comfortable, with nice quality bedding and plenty of good quality towels in both bathrooms. The lounge and dining furniture is modern and comfortable and the gardens, back and front are well kept and a joy to sit in. Obviously a lot of care and attention has been spent to make this property the best it can be for all guests.

Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
14 Sep 2015
Thank you for your lovely review of Hidden Gem - we are delighted that you have all enjoyed your stay and found all the facilities to a high standard. We set out to keep the property just as we would like to find it if we were using it and we are happy that you appreciate it too. Thank you for leaving it so tidy.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
550elaine
Leicester, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“A perfect holiday hideaway.”
Reviewed 5 August 2015 for a stay in July 2015
1
person found this review helpful

As an extended family, with two very young grandchildren, we couldn't have chosen a better place to stay. The accommodation was of a very high standard and there was everything you needed for a great holiday. The children enjoyed the well-equipped beach house, garden toys and play room, which made their parents very happy! We look forward to returning to this perfect holiday hideaway.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The layout and cleanliness of the property, the gardens and location.
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
5 Aug 2015
Thank you for your review of Hidden Gem, we are pleased that your family enjoyed the facilities. We hope you will consider staying again and we'll try to keep the rain showers in April next year!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
strayfanm...
Hayes Middlesex
Level 2 Contributor
1 review
“The Perfect Hidaway”
Reviewed 6 July 2015 for a stay in June 2015

Having stayed at other bungalows around the country I can honestly say that The Hidden Gem was the cleanest holiday home we have stayed in. I say this up front because I know the first question we all want to know is ' Is it clean'.

Tucked away at the top of the town, you enjoy the privacy of an enclosed bungalow with plenty of space. A large garden and patio area to sit in after a hard day sitting on the beach! To make your stay as pain free as possible the owners have tried to think of everything you may need and they must be commended for this

My brother-in-law is disabled and has limited walking ability and he was able to move around the accommodation without any problems and grab rails were placed in the bathroom to help.

Local amenities include several fish and chip shops within walking distance, a large Tesco's store for shopping - open until 10pm so if you have been out for the day you can still grab some food. As a Londoner we found it difficult to grasp that all the local restaurants were closing by 7pm, so Tesco's became very handy.

Access to the beach is down steep roads so if you are pushing a wheelchair or buggy down, remember you will need to push it back up!!

Overall, if you are looking for a holiday in North Yorkshire look no further than the Hidden Gem a great base for seeing the North Yorkshire coast

Travelling group: Extended Family
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
7 Jul 2015
Many thanks for your review. We are pleased that your brother in law had no mobility problems at the property. It's important potential guests can read your comments regarding mobility before chosing to stay. We take a lot of pride in the cleanliness of the home and it means a lot to us when guests appreciate it. Thank you for all your other comments, for choosing Hidden Gem and leaving it so clean.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lynn C
Sheffield, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“What a fabulous house”
Reviewed 20 June 2015 for a stay in June 2015

A lovely house in a very convenient location. It has everything you could possibly need and more. Especially loved the conservatory. Would love to return.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Everything
Liked least: Nothing to dislike
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
12 Jul 2015
Thank you for your review of Hidden Gem - we're glad you found a favourite spot and hope it holds fond memories for years to come.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Debd66
Derby, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Perfect for family stay.”
Reviewed 9 June 2015 for a stay in May 2015

We had a four night stay at this lovely property with our parents and two children aged 12yrs and 14yrs. Booking and communication with the landladies was quick and easy, all appropriate information we needed and more was provided.
The property is ideally situated for very easy walk to the beach, town centre and nearby Tesco. Very easy to reach Scarborough or Bridlington for days out. The off road parking is a bonus and the property was exceptionally well kitted out.
Spacious bedrooms, kitchen and lounge, plenty of storage, lovely conservatory for morning sunshine and private patio area for afternoon/evening. The children loved their own space and bathroom in the upstairs area. The kitchen was very well equipped including a lovely welcome basket. Little things like including shower gel, hairdriers, umbrellas and the choice of books/games etc really made a difference.
Would definitely recommend.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: location and general facilities of property
Liked least: nothing significant enough to mention
Travelling group: Extended Family
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
12 Jul 2015
Thank you for your review of our Holiday Home. We appreciate all your comments, as it helps potential guests make a decision on whether it's the right choice for them. Thanks again from the owners.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ncoles197...
1 review
“Definitely a 'hidden gem'!”
Reviewed 29 May 2015 for a stay in May 2015

Lovely property which catered for all our needs! Great size, lots of room both inside and out and everything you need for a perfect holiday. 5 min walk to the beach or into town. Would highly recommend this property, we will certainly be booking again next year. Thank you!

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
30 May 2015
Many thanks for feeding back on your recent stay at Hidden Gem. We are pleased you enjoyed the facilities and location of the property. The house was left very clean and tidy and we appreciate this.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sarah H
Sheffield, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“Truly a Hidden Gem!”
Reviewed 19 May 2015 for a stay in May 2015

What a wonderful holiday cottage, and the most well equipped place we have ever stayed at. It's ideally located just 5 mins from town centre and sea front, and a short walk to a small play area, ideal for our little boy. We will return, thank you!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
20 May 2015
Thank you for your review of our Holiday Home. Hopefully, we ticked the boxes that made your holiday a place to fondly remember. We appreciate your feedback and look forward to your return visit.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing
;