We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“"Home from home"”
Review of Athol House

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Filey
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Athol House
Ranked #4 of 19 Filey B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“"Home from home"”
Reviewed 12 February 2012

Just spent two nights with the lovely Sue and David in their lovely home in Filey. First time we have stayed there after a recommendation. It was perfect, nothing was too much trouble and Sue and David really looked after us. We were greated with a warm welcome and felt at home, breakfast lovely and room nice and spacious and warm which is a good job because it was freezing outside!. We visit Filey yearly and we have found our 'place' now, thanks Fiona and Paul Thurgoland Sheffield.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank polly053
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

131 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    129
    2
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
38
55
4
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (27)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
30 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 July 2011

Have recently returned from another great stay with Sue & David. As usual nothing was too much trouble. If you're looking for somewhere to stay in Filey - look no further as this is the place to be !

Room Tip: It doesn't matter which room you are allocated - they are all of the same very high standard.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank babs186364
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tamworth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 July 2011

just got back from a four night stay at athol house,first time we had stayed there but will not be the last,david and susan are the perfect hosts they made us so very welcome. place was spotlessly clean throughout and the breakfast was cooked and presented beautifully. ian and wendy-tamworth

Room Tip: victoria room was excellent
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ian B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Huddersfield, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 3 June 2011

Our fourth visit to Athol, Sue and David are the best hosts, with kind hearts and an excellent B&B! CLEAN and TIDY, with lovely breakfasts and a warm welcome! Previously stayed for only one night at a time, but our five night stay was just as relaxing and comfortable! Rooms are spacious and modern, with an en-suite! Just a short walk to the centre of Filey and the beach, easy access with parking nearby and not too far away from bus and train station. Everything about this place is perfect, location, cleanliness and most of all the hosts! We will be back again!

Room Tip: All rooms are the best!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank teapot22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leeds, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 12 May 2011

We have just got back from a two night stay at the Athol for our anniversary.Sue and David were fantastic.Lovely clean accomodation,good cooked breakfast,and both Sue and David have wicked sense of humour.We felt like we had known them for years...Definately will return sometime soon.David and Carol.Leeds.

Room Tip: Victoria was perfect.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank craiglands11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
heysham
Level Contributor
59 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 April 2011

We have just done the wolds way , and our last stay was at the athol house , We found a Gem ! what a great place , owners were very friendly and really helpful ,I would recommend this B and B to anyone

Room Tip: Treat like one of the family
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank desley50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leeds, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 20 February 2011

Second time we have stayed at Athol house now and we were not dissapointed. Fantastic hosts, lovely rooms and tasty breakfast. Thank you very much for a lovely time.

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Joeyplops
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Filey hotels
0.2 mi away
White Lodge Hotel
White Lodge Hotel
#2 of 3 in Filey
4.5 of 5 bubbles 365 reviews
2.2 mi away
Wrangham House Hotel
Wrangham House Hotel
#1 of 1 in Hunmanby
4.5 of 5 bubbles 178 reviews
0.1 mi away
Esmae House
Esmae House
#3 of 19 in Filey
5.0 of 5 bubbles 102 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.5 mi away
The Royal Oak Near Filey
0.3 mi away
No photo provided
Hallam Guest House
#8 of 13 in Filey
4.5 of 5 bubbles 133 reviews
2.3 mi away
The Southgate Bed & Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Athol House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Athol House

Property: Athol House
Address: 67 West Avenue, Filey YO14 9AX, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Scarborough District > Filey
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 19 B&Bs / Inns in Filey
Number of rooms: 5
Also Known As:
Athol House Filey, Yorkshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing