We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“night away”
Review of Athol House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Athol House
Ranked #5 of 19 Filey B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 9 June 2013

I can not find the words to tell you about this beautiful place, but i will try, 100% goEs to the following , FOOD, ROOM, DECOR, CLEANLINESS, RECEPTION, and as for the owners ,sue and dave, amazing, funny lovely, lovely people, i will be going back , nothing was to much trouble , outstanding in every way, case carried up to the room for us, sue is an amazing cook, i wanted to dismantle the bed and bring it home, so comfy, i am so looking forward to going back, very close to all amenities of filey, FANTASTIC, thanks sue. mucho love, will be back again, with hubby this time.xxxxx

Room Tip: just go and try it, beautiful.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank nanajanet76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (148)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

121 - 127 of 148 reviews

Reviewed 29 May 2013

Just stayed at Athol House Filey the warm welcome from Sue and Dave instantly made us feel as though we were Royalty nothing is too much trouble for them, as usual Dave carried our cases to our Room we stayed in "Victoria" Room .The breakfasts are a delight to eat cooked to perfection by Sue. Filey is a wonderful place to visit made even better by our stay at Athol House. we have stayed there at least 6 times and look forward to our next stay.

Room Tip: leave it to Sue
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dennis Arthur J... B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 March 2013

Just spent the weekend at the Athol House in Filey and can highly recommend it. Sue and Dave gave us a warm welcome, and carried our suitcases upstairs. We stayed in the 'Margaret' room, which was beautifully decorated (as is all the house) very clean and had comfortable bed. What can I say about the breakfast? it was great, Sue and Dave remembered me saying I didn't like egg white, so a full English breakfast arrived in the morning and my fried egg was just the egg yoke, brilliant touch! Will be visiting again very soon.

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Joanne M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 March 2013

we've stayed at the Athol house for the last 4 years and they never fail to satisfy. From carrying cases up the stairs to good, clean rooms and warm welcome with great breakfast. I would strongly recommend that anyone considering a trip to Filey look at this lovely, warm, family run hotel. Needless to say we've just booked again for this year - and only just managed to get in!

Room Tip: go for the queen margaret room - spacious and warm
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mags h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 February 2013

We spent a lovely weekend here in summer, the weather held out for us, the breakfasts were great and sue and David are very accommodating and very helpful with information about where to go and what to see. We think it's great value, very comfortable beds and very clean and well-decorated, we would recommend staying here! The location is very handy for the town and just as close to the beach too...keep up the good work guys, you're great for Filey!!

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank chris h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 August 2012

We have stayed with David and Susan many times,this time after a visit to the Rydale Show.Rooms clean,well presented,breakfast fantastic.Nothing is too much for Dave and Sue.i would recommend this to anybody,knowing that is good value,great location and just a home from home.thank you again.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jeffBarnsley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 July 2012

Stayed here for 2nights, coudnt have hoped for a better bed and breakfast in filey!
david and sue are lovely made us feel really welcome, the rooms were spotless and comfortable. the bed and breakfast itself is in a fab location 2 mins walk from the small town centre and 5 mins down to the beach.the breakfast is brilliant fresh fruits and cereals,toast full english ,always topping your tea and coffee up definetly sets you up for the day!
would definetly stay here again loved it!

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kaydeelou
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Filey hotels
0.2 mi away
White Lodge Hotel
White Lodge Hotel
#2 of 3 in Filey
426 reviews
2.2 mi away
Wrangham House Hotel
Wrangham House Hotel
#1 of 1 in Hunmanby
199 reviews
0.1 mi away
Esmae House
Esmae House
#2 of 19 in Filey
121 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.3 mi away
The Southgate Bed & Breakfast
0.1 mi away
Binton Guest House
Binton Guest House
#14 of 19 in Filey
56 reviews
1.2 mi away
The Royal Oak Near Filey
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Athol House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Athol House

Address: 67 West Avenue, Filey YO14 9AX, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Scarborough District > Filey
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 19 B&Bs / Inns in Filey
Price Range: £72 - £120 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Athol House 3.5*
Number of rooms: 5
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia and Booking.com so you can book your Athol House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Athol House Filey, Yorkshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing