We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Lovely dog friendly cottage”
other travellers have booked this property
Open the doors and let the sunshine flood in
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Open the doors and let the sunshine flood in
Sunny days at Bumblebee Sunshine on the terrace
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
29 reviews
Open the doors and let the sunshine flood in
Sunny days at Bumblebee
Sunshine on the terrace
Afternoon wine and nibbles
Log burner for cosy evenings in
Wine and nibbles by the fire
Spacious kitchen and dining area
Fully equipped kitchen that's perfect for self-catering
A relaxing place to unwind, king size bed
Time for a little romance on holiday
Plenty of room for all, including travel cot (supplied), all beds full-size single beds
Contemporary bathroom with rainfall shower
Lots to do!
The football pitch is almost within view from the balcony
A gentle game of boules
20m pool with sauna and steam room, included in the cost
Use of the gym is included in the cost
Fancy a pint in the on-site pub? Inside is a pool table and sky sports
Family and dog friendly pub with Sky sport and pool table
The wildflower meadow is only 2 minutes away and perfect for dog walking
Let's go to the beach...
Filey's only 30 minutes walk away at low tide (or 50 if you have two 10 year-olds in tow!)
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
2 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 5
Filey, Scarborough District, North Yorkshire, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 29 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
fionad400
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
55 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Lovely dog friendly cottage”
Reviewed 1 February 2017 for a stay in January 2017

We had a weekend at lovely Bumblebee cottage. There was a really nice welcome tray on arrival and the cottage was clean, comfortable and nicely decorated. It was also really well equipped with kitchen equipment, dvds, games, books and even balls for the dog.
The cottage is on a holiday site and a pass for the pool and gym is provided. There is a pub (certainly dog friendly in January, Italian restaurant and pharmacy. I was surprised there was no shop but there is a lot of building work on site so hopefully one is planned.
There is a lovely meadow about a minute from the cottage which was great for a half hour run around for the dog. Then 10 minutes walk takes you to the magnificent Filey beach. A walk into Filey along the beach is about an hour and tgere are cafes and fast food outlets - we always go for the fish and chips! Just check tide times.
We don't live too far from Filey but it was lovely to spend a weekend rather than a few hours so we'll definitely go back to Bumblebee Cottage.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
4 Feb 2017
Thank you so much for your lovely review and I'm glad you enjoyed your stay with us. Having a dog ourselves, we know how nice it is to feel that your dog is as welcome as you are on holiday. Ours loves the beach and running around the wildflower meadow as well. We agree that it is a shame there is no shop on site, although the pharmacy does sell basics during the week and the petrol station just along the road also has a minimart. As you mention, once the site is finished which we have been told will be in the next few months, hopefully there will be a shop. We look forward to welcoming you back again soon, as you were great guests
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Samantha...
Doncaster, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“Home from home, cosy little gem”
Reviewed 24 January 2017 for a stay in January 2017

My husband booked us a weekend break in Bumblebee cottage Jan 13th 2017 and I have to say, it was wonderful.
The welcome was fantastic, with Jenny leaving us fudge, champagne and even a 'Happy Birthday' banner for me!

The cottage is clean, well presented and well kept. It has everything you could possibly need, even stuff for the beach, or ideas on where to eat out, and even dishwasher tablets, washing up liquid, tea towels etc - (that I always forget!)

The location is great as its close to the beach and meadow, and the log burner was a fantastic welcome, after those long walks along the beach in the icy wind!

We have 3 children aged 11, 9 and 7 + a dog, so it was really lovely to all get away and spend time together, and as there is Wi-Fi, the older 2 were happy on the evenings chilling on the bunk beds upstairs!
There's plenty to do, with a fully stocked DVD collection (forgot how good 'War of the worlds is!), there's board games galore and the pool is close on-site which is great, and FREE!
.
We have stayed in Jenny's other cottage on-site also: (Kittiwake) last Summer, and I have to say, come rain or shine, the cottages cater for a very lovely get away. And we will definelty be back.
Filey is a lovely town, and we had another fab time here

Many Thanks, 10/10 A*!!!

Your age range 25-34
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
25 Jan 2017
Thank yo so much for taking the time to leave such a lovely review. Am glad you liked the home-made Birthday Bunting and treats that we leave out for our guests. Bumblebee is a very cosy cottage and is one of the few cottages on site with a log burner. We'd love to welcome you back soon as you were great guests so please get in touch when you've got new dates
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
murphy001...
Malton, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Book it, you won't regret it!!”
Reviewed 4 December 2016 for a stay in November 2016

We have stayed at many properties on The Bay and Bumblebee is most definitely one of the best and I would stay again without hesitation. It is without a doubt the most well equipped rental I have ever stayed in, there is nothing you could want as the owner has thought of everything...and then some. If you have children then the games and DVD selection is impressive, they could never get bored. We took our dog and she settled straight away in the house.
The cottage is so clean and tidy, something that has let other rentals on The Bay down. It feels like they use professional cleaners rather than the ones on site and it shows. It's spacious, the photos don't really show how roomy and well laid out it was.
Communication from Jenny the owner was fab and no issues at all from initial enquiry to refund of deposit.
As for The Bay itself, well we love it and so does the dog. Miles and miles of unspoilt beach and it never seems busy.
We will return of that I have no doubt and Bumblebee will be our first choice.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
4 Dec 2016
Thank you so much for leaving such a lovely positive review, it's much appreciated. As you say, we have put a lot of thought into furnishing Bumblebee Cottage as we want our guest to feel like they've arrived home! We'd love to welcome you back soon as you were great guests so please get in touch when you've got dates sorted. It's so nice that we would be your first choice. Hopefully we'll see you soon
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Elaine H
Warrington, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“We we're buzzing at Bumblebee Cottage”
Reviewed 22 November 2016 for a stay in November 2016

This is a superb cottage in a perfect location. The cottage has everything you need and more - lots of books, games and DVDs to while away your time. Lovely and clean with lots of charm - you may never want to leave. The location is quiet and tranquil, but with lots going on around it to keep you busy.

The village has a pub (which is dog friendly) and an Italian with beautiful freshly prepared food. The even do a mean breakfast.

We will definitely go back again, and cannot recommend it highly enough.

Thank you Jenny for letting us use your little spot of paradise :-)

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The whole ambiance of the cottage
Liked least: Having to leave
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
4 Dec 2016
Thank you for your fab review - I'm glad you had such a lovely time at Bumblebee. As you say, there is a great pub and restaurant. I particularly like their capricosa pizza! We'd love to welcome you back as you were great guests so please get in touch when you've got dates :-)
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
April B
2 reviews
“Amazing cottage in a beautiful location! ”
Reviewed 5 October 2016 for a stay in October 2016

Absolutely loved spending the weekend in this beautiful cottage. Had everything we needed plus more! Loved the fudge upon arrival and it managed to last us the whole weekend. Amazing location, so many restaurants to choose from! We had a delicious Indian from Filey. As we were walking through the town we kept seeing all these other restaurants we wanted to try... next time! It was a perfect base as we tried to cram as much as we could into the 3 nights we were there. We took the dogs for a day out in the north york moors which was stunning and just a 40 min drive from the cottage. We also did a walk along Flamborough cliffs starting at the lighthouse and walking to North landing beach and back. This was beautiful, and the beach was a very cosy cove beach. So much to see along this walk, would thoroughly recommend it. Bridlington beach is also amazing, stretches on for miles! Of course, not forgetting Filey beach which is a 12 min walk, that is also lovely. The whole location is just stunning and I would highly recommend this to everyone. Hopefully we will be returning!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
6 Oct 2016
Thanks for taking the time to leave such a fab review. Wow, you did such a lot in your short stay with us! We'd love to welcome you back again soon, as you were great guests, so yes, please get in touch when you've got dates sorted
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
milospad
Wakefield, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Would never go anywhere else”
Reviewed 12 September 2016 for a stay in September 2016

Absolutely lovely cottage extremely easy to book. Had the best pizza ever at lorenzos and breakfast at Hunmanby gap had stunning views and dog friendly staff. The bay has a lovely meadow and swimming pool.we shall be returning

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The cottage is beautiful and has everything you need 😀
Liked least: When our stay came to an end 😞
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
12 Sep 2016
Thanks for your fab review - you were great guests and we'd love to welcome you back again soon :-)

ps. I agree about the pizzas (delicious) and the view from Hunmanby Gap Café is great, as are their cakes!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
vaccentre
Mansfield, United Kingdom
1 review
“Would recommend Bumblebee to anyone first class”
Reviewed 30 August 2016 for a stay in August 2016

First time we have booked with Bumblebee and what a pleasurable experience from start to finish
Dog friendly , Child friendly , a nice place to be

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
31 Aug 2016
Thanks for your lovely feedback and am glad you found Bumblebee both dog and child friendly. We'd love to welcome you back as you were great guests :-)
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing