We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing”
Review of The Star Inn

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Harome
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
The Star Inn
Ranked #1 of 2 Harome B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Amazing”
Reviewed 25 May 2014

Having held our wedding here last May, my husband surprised me with a night at The Cross House Lodge and a meal in The Star Inn for our first anniversary and all I can say is amazing!

My husband, the lovely Anna and the rest of the staff had worked together to make our first anniversary one I shall never forget!
We stayed, once again!, in the beautiful room 8 with its high beamed ceiling, super comfortable bed and jacuzzi bath, heaven!

We then moved onto the Star Inn for dinner were we were shown to our table and given our menus, which turned out to be exactly what we had for our wedding breakfast!

We were then treated to the best service I have ever received in a restaurant, and the best food!

As each course came out we were transported back to our big day and the tastes and textures were just as I remembered.

Anna your fab! And Steve your food is amazing!!
All the staff at The Star inn are lovely and we cannot thank them enough!

And we can't wait to come back!

  • Stayed May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank em2612
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
StarInnHarome, Owner at The Star Inn, responded to this review, 10 June 2014
Belated Happy Anniversary! A great team effort! Cheers AP
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

651 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    482
    86
    43
    26
    14
See reviews for
98
373
3
9
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (92)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Yorkshire
Level 5 Contributor
74 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 May 2014

Stayed one night for my birthday. Had booked this as we wanted a quiet night away. Room 7 seemed to fit the bill.... But had no sleep due to the noisy people next door banging about after midnight, there are birds nesting in the wall so scraping and noise all night and then there's the rooster who started at 4am and called every 15 mins or so until early morning.
The shower didn't drain so i ended up not being able to have a proper shower and the bathroom needs descaling. No privacy unless you want to close the curtains and sit in the room with them closed.
On the plus side it's only a short walk to the restaurant and the lounge area was cosy.
I was really excited to stay here but sadly the lack of peace and sleep meant I wish I'd not bothered.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank miffyYorkshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
StarInnHarome, Owner at The Star Inn, responded to this review, 10 June 2014
Sorry that the pesky countryside wildlife interferred with your night's sleep! And very sorry to hear that Room 7 (one of our most popular rooms) was not up to your standards. Regards AP
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 May 2014

I won't repeat myself as I've written a lengthy review for the restaurant but the accommodation is just fantastic and the staff incredible!
It was an absolute pleasure to stay here for our second year running and they easily exceeded our already high expectations.
Flawless and we will be back next year.

Room Tip: We managed to have a nosey at most rooms this trip and they are all fabulous!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank andersoninkuwait
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
StarInnHarome, Owner at The Star Inn, responded to this review, 10 June 2014
Can't wait - 3rd time even luckier! Thank you for your continued support. All the best AP
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 2 May 2014

Had fantastic stay from beginning to end. Room was really comfortable and the food was out of this world. Fantastic experience. Would advise the star to anybody wanting a peaceful night away. We had a full tour of the place including the kitchen and gardens.

  • Stayed April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ashsingy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
StarInnHarome, Owner at The Star Inn, responded to this review, 7 May 2014
Like 'out of this world' food; maybe we should open a Star Inn on the moon? The trouble is - people would complain about the lack of atmosphere! Cheers AP
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
251 reviews
70 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 207 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 April 2014

This place is an absolute must if you love quality and superb service.
We stayed here last weekend as a belated birthday present from my wife.
There is such attention to detail that it defies belief!
We had room 7 which is situated across the courtyard from the main building. The room itself is huge and beautifully decorated with great facilities. Tea/coffee/mineral water etc all top quality, even homemade biscuits tempting you in!
In the afternoon (4-6 i think?!) they serve cheese and chutney (homemade and the best we've ever tasted!) and peit fours, all superb. These are indicitive of the food in the michelin starred restaurant.
Breakfast was served in the Wheelhouse (main Building) nothing was too much trouble, a fantastic array of the usual breakfast items as well as a few suprises. All pastries, jams and bread was homemade and delicious.
We will be returning next month and taking our friends for their anniversary. Can't wait!
GO-ENJOY!

Room Tip: All rooms are good and unique. Room 7&8 are in a seperate building and are beautiful.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Joynesie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
StarInnHarome, Owner at The Star Inn, responded to this review, 7 May 2014
Come back and enjoy again! Many thanks AP
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Helmsley, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
165 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 203 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 April 2014

We've dined at The Star a couple of times over the years & decided to use a voucher given to us by a family member at Christmas towards our stay & dinner for my husband's 60th birthday last Tuesday. Our room was no. 7 nice & cosy with lovely soft pillows & loads of fresh towels. Nice touches in the room from homemade cookies to chocolate bars & a couple of cans of drink coupled with the usual tea/coffee making facilities. On checking in we were shown through to a lovely room next to the breakfast room. With the fire on we settled down to read the papers & helped ourselves to the honesty bar. Remember to write down what you've taken so this can be added on to your room bill.
As this stay was for a special celebration we opted for the tasting menu with the flight of wines comprising of 7 tasters:
Foragers broth/mackerel/black pudding & fois gras/apple sorbet/ pigeon/ chocolate & rosemary pudding/truffled tunworth.
The flight of wines really complemented the menu which we felt was a tad too rich & not enough variance between dishes.
Price wise really rather high when comparing to the tasting menu's we've had in London at Petrus/Claridges/Banares & Marcus Wareing @ The Berkeley.
Had a rather disturbed night sleeps with all alarms & lights going off around midnight for approx an hour due to a power cut in the village. One would have thought that an establishment off this standing would have it's own generator? Seemed to take an age to rectify.
Breakfast was delicious with freshly baked breads that you could toast yourself lovely, home made marmalade & jam, fresh juices & a lovely choice of hot cooked options. I had bacon & eggs & hubby had the omelette. Faultless breakfast.
Would go back & dine again but this time choose from the a la carte menu.
Just a simple touch - when guests are celebrating a special occasion it would be nice that this is acknowledged even with a simple happy birthday as at the time of booking we made this clear.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rochalovesruby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
StarInnHarome, Owner at The Star Inn, responded to this review, 7 May 2014
The beauty of coming to the countryside is the unpredictable! You could be snowed in, surrounded by hounds, having a candlelit sing-song by the log fire - or just occasionally, someone goes through a power cable with a tractor. A lot of things we can organise but when the power goes off (which happens very infrequently - and hardly warrants a standby generator) there is not a lot we can do unfortunately! Regards AP
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
England -North East
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 April 2014

We stayed here as a treat after our wedding before we head off on our official honeymoon. The setting is beautiful and couldn't be nicer to wander to bed after an amazing meal at the Star Inn across the road. The rooms are all quirky, ours had a large bath at the bottom of the bed but others have snooker tables in or windows looking into the main living area. The rooms are reasonably large and have homely finishing touches such as molton brown toiletries, an abundance of fresh towels and a well stocked tea and coffee tray with chocolate bars. We had a brilliant nights sleep only to wake up to breakfast around a huge circular table in a fabulous room with wooden beams. A brilliant place for a family birthday or a catch up with friends.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Becky S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Harome
2.3 mi away
The Black Swan Hotel
The Black Swan Hotel
#2 of 4 in Helmsley
1,567 reviews
2.4 mi away
Feversham Arms Hotel & Verbena Spa
2.3 mi away
The Feathers Hotel
The Feathers Hotel
#3 of 4 in Helmsley
712 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
22.9 mi away
Raithwaite Estate
Raithwaite Estate
#2 of 20 in Whitby
2,024 reviews
19.1 mi away
The Grand Hotel & Spa
4.3 mi away
The Worsley Arms Hotel
The Worsley Arms Hotel
#1 of 1 in Hovingham
618 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Star Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Star Inn

Property: The Star Inn
Address: High Street, Harome YO62 5JE, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Harome
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Harome
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 8
Also Known As:
The Star Hotel Harome
The Star Inn Harome, Yorkshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing