We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Don't stay in Room 4”
Review of The Star Inn

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Harome
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
The Star Inn
Ranked #1 of 2 Harome B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 7 July 2014

My husband had booked a surprise weekend away for me for my birthday and knew that I wanted to visit the restaurant. Thankfully there was 1 room left which he booked. At the point of booking there was no mention of the fact that Room 4 was situated above the lounge/ breakfast area/reception and honesty bar. However, this was it's downfall. It was a small but very lovely room with a rope hung bed and a large shower area. In fact the room was exactly what we wanted, just in a different place. As soon as we arrived, we suspected noise may be a problem as we could hear the chitter chatter from people in the lounge at about 5pm. Depsite this, we went for dinner, confident that people would disperse from the bar area at 12.00pm to take drinks in their room. However, we were woken up by a large group at about 12.30pm who managed to put the music on which led to a pumping bass coming through the room and squeals of laughter and ranting. I knocked on the 'double glazed' window to ask them to be quiet, but it was only 30 minutes late that they decided to retire ( noisily) to bed. Unfortunately, I was then awoken at 7.45am by reception who were training up another receptionist and chit chatting very loudly. I had to put a robe on and go down to recpetion to ask them politely to be quiet whilst i had another 30 mins or so of sleep. They did shut up, but by this time, I was wide awake and had given up on any more sleep.

Breakfast was a triumph. It was relaxed, and the food and coffee was delicious. The only sour point was taking it with the people who were obvioulsy quite affronted that I'd asked them to be quiet in the bar area earlier that morning.

The Star Inn did redeem themselves by calling some 10 minutes after breakfast offering us an alternative room at no extra charge. Obviously we jumped at the chance and after a long exhausting walk that day, we took the opportunity to have a well earned nap before dinner. The room was larger and quieter than the previous night, but the chance to sleep was the most enjoyable part.

The staff were polite and friendly, and did their best to overcome the issues with the noisy room, If you are going to have accommodation so close to the bar/ reception where you know noise is an issue, then you should be a more effective policing of the bar being closed down at midnight or you should get the room more effectively soundproofed. I would only ever stay in the hotel again in a different room.

Room Tip: Do not choose Room 4
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Loobylou119
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
StarInnHarome, Owner at The Star Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 22 July 2014

I am sorry to hear of your experience, oddly enough room four is one of our most popular rooms and as we offer the honesty bar in our Lodge and guests then have the freedom to come and go as they please, which in turn then makes it rather difficult to police, unless we have a night porter or staff working through the night. Neither of these options will happen, but we have now put up a sign to ask residents to retire at midnight... We will see!!!

At least everything elsewhere was to your liking, if not the residents!

Regards

Andrew Pern

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (693)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

368 - 374 of 693 reviews

Reviewed 29 June 2014

We have just returned home after attending a wedding at The Star. Where do I start???
The whole place was as perfect as you can get, following the ceremony we all moved outside for a drink or two where we were served nibbles whilst photographs were being taken.
Then into the large patakata ( very posh tent). The inside was better than the majority of "posh hotels" and then the food was served. Very nice food served by pleasant staff.
We had Pate, followed by assorted Pork then a selection of Rhubarb desserts. The quality was exceptional and we could not fault it in any way.
The evening Barbecue was again cooked to a very high standard and the food was top quality.
The whole wedding day was as perfect as you could get and the staff deserve praise for the way the whole day ran like clockwork.
Well done to The Star, you have got it just right!!

Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank NorthExplorers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 June 2014

Overall the experience at The Star Inn was really good. The room we booked was amazing, beautifully decorated, and the champagne we ordered to be there on arrival was delicious. I was a little surprised when I asked for a iron and ironing board it was presented to me to walk through the hotel with, but not the end of the world. We booked in for the tasting menu with wine match. The restaurant was nicely decorated. however, there is something fundamental missing from the restaurant itself. Its hard to pin it down, however, it wasn’t helped by a family enjoying a row between their courses. It felt a little more gastropub than fine dining. That being said the food was very good and served at a nice pace. however, there was little to interaction from the staff. When we have experienced this type of meal before there has generally been some description of both the food and the wine that its has been paired with and why. i would struggle to justify a return visit which is a real shame as we had been looking forward to this for sometime and had managed to fit it in with a visit back to the UK.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Jatco75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 June 2014

We have eaten here many times when we lived locally and never been disappointed. We had lunch here last Sunday and it is just as good as I remembered it. It was a lovely day so we sat in the garden, which is a pleasant space. The service was excellent. The food was delicious. I cannot praise it highly enough.

I accidentally pressed Sleep Quality and now cannot remove it. I am sure it is excellent, however, as we once stayed in one of their cottages which was beautiful.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank hikingthree
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 June 2014

Brilliant food, service and atmosphere! This is a wonderful gem in a beautiful location.
Feels like being in a top class international hotel.
Please don't stop! It's a place you really want to come back to!

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BAILES2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 June 2014

If you want a wonderful boutique hotel/restaurant with a vibrant pub thrown in for good measure in a wonderful location atop the North Yorkshire Moors then this is the place to go! Bedroom, bathroom, breakfast dining, pub and restaurant all fantastic for a chill out weekend at a reasonable price - Great Milton in Yorkshire with a pub as well!

Room Tip: Ask for Room 2
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank talladega2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 June 2014

What an amazing place and such a delightful surprise this part of Yorkshire is a gift to behold we come to this area every weekend winter and summer staying in Castle Howard , and just love it The Star us the jewel inn the Crown in terms of a good watering hole drinking or eating you are always made to feel welcome with a capital W.

North Yorkshire simply the best .

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Steve B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
StarInnHarome, Owner at The Star Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 10 June 2014

Thank you with a capital 'T'! Very nice comments about our 'jewel-like' watering and eating hole. Cheers AP

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Harome
2.3 mi away
The Black Swan Hotel
The Black Swan Hotel
#2 of 4 in Helmsley
1,663 reviews
2.4 mi away
Feversham Arms Hotel & Verbena Spa
2.3 mi away
The Feathers Hotel
The Feathers Hotel
#3 of 4 in Helmsley
813 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.3 mi away
The Royal Oak Hotel
The Royal Oak Hotel
#1 of 4 in Helmsley
408 reviews
24.1 mi away
Raven Hall Hotel
Raven Hall Hotel
#1 of 1 in Ravenscar
1,272 reviews
4.2 mi away
Kings Head Hotel
Kings Head Hotel
#1 of 1 in Kirkbymoorside
155 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Star Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Star Inn

Address: High Street, Harome YO62 5JE, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Harome
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Harome
Price Range: £150 - £240 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 8
Also Known As:
The Star Hotel Harome
The Star Inn Harome, Yorkshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing