We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Accomplished, honest cooking - smashing!”
Review of Star Inn

Star Inn
Ranked #2 of 2 Restaurants in Harome
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$0 - US$200
Cuisines: British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Special Occasion Dining, Local cuisine
Dining options: Breakfast, After-hours, Dinner, Lunch, Reservations
Reviewed 19 August 2014

We live within a couple of hours’ travel from Harome. Having tried for a mid-day snack here years ago while we were passing and giving up because the place was so packed, we always intended returning.

We successfully booked for lunch on our thirty-eighth wedding anniversary only to find that we had been trumped completely by a couple a few tables away who had made their vows sixty years ago!

The flat cap bread basket became totally secondary once we had tasted its oven-baked goodness. The black pudding rolls were my particular favourite.

‘Cured Hartlepool Landed Octopus with ‘Mollet’ Norfolk Quail Eggs, Deep-fried Anchovies, Black Olive Sorbet, Marinated Vegetables’
This was just utterly lovely. Every ingredient was treated with perfection. The vegetables had such a light touch that they might have been the stars of the show. However, the black olive sorbet picked up on the sea-life elements and became a subtle, salty ‘rock-pool’ backdrop to their fishiness. Wonderful.

‘Homemade Village Shot Roe Deer ‘Sausage’ with Pickled Red Cabbage Purée, Pontefract Cake and Pommery Mustard Seeds’
My wife enjoyed this a great deal. Liquorice is often a dangerous plate-fellow but could have been even more insistent here before going into Bassetts AllSorts territory. Meat and one veg in harmony.

‘Cutlet of Ryedale Lamb with its own Faggot, Lowna Dairy Cheese, Smoked Ratatouille-style Vegetables, Oregano Confit Tomato’
Perfectly cooked lamb… that is always a good start. With the cheese ‘lurking’ in the faggot and all vegetables, rather like the chef, on top of their game, this was another delight for my wife.

‘Barbecued Venison, Slice of Giant Puffball with Cobnuts, Rainbow Chard, Elderberry Juices’
No letting up here. On a warm summer day this dish could have edged towards autumnal heartiness. However, it was given the sort of consideration that planted it firmly in the realm of a bright and light season - well before any need for the serious business of pickling or preserving. The meat had been rescued from the coals at the perfect moment and every one of its plate partners gave texture, flavour and colour in abundance. Elderberry was left as a suggestion of thin, fruity, blood-hued meat juices. This decision was just right. A thicker, more syrupy reduction would have carried everything towards a later season.

The vegetable selection was almost unnecessary but, again, the cooking made it irresistible.

‘Iced Garden Lemon Balm Parfait ‘Sandwich’ with our own ‘Alpine’ Strawberries, Homemade Lemonade’
This was my wife’s selection and provided an eye-catching and palate pleasing end to her meal; very clean and light. It also determined me to include ‘Melissa officinalis’ in our garden planting next year!

‘Caramelised Rice Pudding with Sugar’d Skin, Homegrown Blackcurrant ‘Jam’, Deep-fried Apple Pie Custard Doughnut’
This could be considered as an inevitable nod to the passage of time, acknowledging cooler months and demand for heavier puddings. There is a distinct possibility that I made the wrong choice here but it didn’t match the heights of the rest of our meal. The crystallised or candied mint leaves were certainly lack-lustre, having lost any vibrancy. It was still as good as many offerings elsewhere and there had been so much previous excellence that it really didn’t matter that much.

Since we were both on driving duty, we allowed ourselves one glass of wine each. The choice is terrific and we easily found a suitable white and red.

Prices for this quality of cooking are more than reasonable. Ours was a quiet mid-week booking. The old part of the restaurant is intimate and slightly quirky. There are higher ceilings and more modern livery is installed nearer the kitchen. Service was attentive, responsive and informative. After eating, we explored more of the venue’s potential for larger occasions with family or friends. The lovely garden revealed some of the ingredients for our meal.

Were we suitably distracted from the intoxicating love which has developed between us? Indeed we were. Did we identify a reason to return? No… we found countless excuses to visit again very soon!

Michelin be damned… the Star at Harome still shines!

Date of visit: July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Cheoff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
StarInnHarome, Owner at Star Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 9 September 2014

Maybe I should ask you to write the foreword to my next book!!! Although with a review that long, you could be the author! I am glad you managed to dine with us and a very happy belated anniversary to you. Maybe you should stay with us next time!

Thank you for all of your great comments and we hope to welcome you back very soon.

Kind regards

Andrew Pern

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (848)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

520 - 524 of 848 reviews

Reviewed 17 August 2014

I'd been planning to dine here for years, just hadn't managed it. Had the chance for Sunday lunch and drove for nearly 2 hours to get there. As soon as we sat down and saw the menu we knew it was going to be more than worth the drive. The chef / owner manages to combine flavours from local produce at the very highest level. My starter, the North Sea mackerel dish and the main course of local grouse were of the highest order. Every single small ingredient could be tasted. The addition of liquorice to the mackerel was a master stroke, so was the smoky bed of heather the grouse arrived in.
The wine list is a serious selection but there are still affordable ones in there. Our choice of apple and plum crumble with the ginger ice cream was slightly disappointing as it resembled more a fruit compote with a flaked almond topping than my idea of a crumble but delicious nevertheless and I'm no master chef so I'll leave it there.
The restaurant has varied seating in the bar area for a less formal setting this goes through to a room within the original thatched cottage building and then a newer area that gets more sun. There's a coffee area upstairs and there's seating outside and also a well stocked vegetable garden that you can see the chefs wandering about collecting produce for the kitchen.
Waiters are very knowledgeable about the menu.
I find it difficult to fault this place and I went there with high expectations.
Well, there is one niggle. I'm a Yorkshireman too but isn't the Yorkshire cap that the bread comes in like something from a Monty Python sketch?
In all, unforgettable and I'll be back. Lots of times.

Date of visit: August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank TCdop
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
StarInnHarome, Owner at Star Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 3 September 2014

Excellent, thank you. We pride ourselves on using the amazing produce which we have around us, using a little imagination and flying the flag for the region and after 18 years at the helm enjoying what we do, we like to have a little fun. The use of flat caps for our bread baskets is a little tongue in cheek, but harmless. We tried to use whippets but they kept eating the bread!!!

Always look on the bright side of life.... See you next time.

Many thanks

Andrew Pern

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 August 2014

Nice place and a good pint of black sheep . Rose wine also good standard.
Pleasant garden setting and interior also to a high standard
Priced a little on the high side but this did not deter from the experience

Date of visit: August 2014
1  Thank Milanoman2810
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
StarInnHarome, Owner at Star Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 3 September 2014

Don't be deterred, enjoy the surroundings! You get what you pay for. 700 years of hospitality.

Many thanks

Andrew Pern

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 August 2014

From the moment we walked in, we knew we were in for a unique experience. The special cocktail options, the bread served in a Yorkshire cap, and then the starter and then the main....and, please, don't forget the delicious puddings. Our party of five was very satisfied every step of the way. We also had fun wait staff.

Date of visit: August 2014
Thank Mark W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
StarInnHarome, Owner at Star Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 3 September 2014

Perfect! I am delighted everything was to your liking, even the flat caps which always get a reaction!

All the best

AP

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 August 2014

We decided to pay a visit to The Star Inn as we have heard great things about it.
We had the set menu- the prawn cocktail was the best we've ever tasted, the sausages were perfect and the ice cream was delicious on one of the hottest days of the year! We even got an extra one because of the orders getting mixed up! To top it all off, our dog was given a bowl of water which cooled her down in the amazing heat!
We would recommend this hidden gem to everyone with or without a dog!

Date of visit: July 2014
1  Thank 46sonny46
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
StarInnHarome, Owner at Star Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 3 September 2014

Very nice to hear!! Everyone is welcome to our hostelry, even our four legged friends. Scarborough Woof next time maybe???

Thank you

AP

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Star Inn also viewed

Harome, North Yorkshire
Whitby, Scarborough District
 
Wombleton, North Yorkshire
Helmsley, North Yorkshire
 

Been to Star Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing