We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Hawes
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
The Old Dairy Farm
Ranked #9 of 23 Hawes B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 15 April 2011

Celebrating our Anniversary and being our first ever visit to the Dales and on top of that finding the Old Dairy Farm Hotel....was pure perfection......
The welcome was so friendly...the Hotel is far from the Maddening crowds....our room was very luxurious.....including the bathroom...and sooooo comfortable...It pays to enjoy the long walks around so you can enjoy the gorgeous food that is served in the evening.....we will certainly return.......just leaves me to say if you go ENJOY!!!!

Room Tip: Very Peaceful!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tiggerseven
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (153)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

143 - 149 of 153 reviews

Reviewed 5 February 2011

This was our second stay at the Old Dairy farm and we will definitely be back. The warm welcome by Paul and Pam was much appreciated and the facilities top class. We dined in the new restaurant (an addition since our previous stay). The food, wine and ambience were all excellent and contributed to a really relaxing, pamper weekend.

  • Stayed: October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PeteNyland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 August 2010

In the middle of nowhere, this place is definitely a hidden gem. We did not stay but had Sunday lunch - £15 for 3 course - excellent value but more than that - the food was superb! Will certainly return and will recommend to friends. If you are thinking of going - do!

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank tracyhhblue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 July 2010

We have just returned from a two night stay with Paul and Pam.

When we take a break we require perfection!
Within 20 minutes of arrival as Paul met us on the driveway and within moments was serving us coffee and happily chatting away in the bar, I knew immediately as I soaked up the surroundings that this was an amazing place and as the story and service unfolded bit by bit it soon became clear what excellent hosts Pam and Paul are!
Pam is the most wonderful cook, paying absolute attention to detail, Paul is the perfect host and I am not sure we have ever drunk so much coffee in our lives as our cup was never allowed to be empty, as soon as we returned from trips out he was there greeting us and chatting asking about our day and pouring the coffee :)

The Old Dairy Farm is in a beautiful location, a lot of thought has gone into the contemporary design with lovely comfortable furnishings. Paul and Pam take great pride in their hotel and have such passion in everything that they do, their pride and passion was totally valued and apprecriated by us. Never in my life have I met such amazing hosts, well done you two you should be very proud of all that you have created.
Many thanks to you both for such a wonderful stay ! :)

  • Stayed: July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank sue3003
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 July 2010

Agree with all previous reviews without reservation or exception. Many thanks to the previous reviewers that were the trigger for us to go to Pam and Paul's place.

We can add new feedback as to the suitability of the Old Dairy Farm for kids - we have 4 (from 14 to 6 years old) - we took all 3 rooms!

Pam and Paul were tolerant, flexible and extremely good with the kids. No end of breakfast variations were accommodated and we eat evenings meals most nights there too - once you have found a winning formula with such a large family you tend to gravitate back to it. The food and service were so very good and having the private lounge for the kids to sit and play made the formula difficult for any of the local alternatives we tried in the area during our week to replicate.

    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank GAKill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 July 2010

We only stayed the one night but felt right at home.

Rooms are of a unique high quality. Food excellent.

Only a few rooms means that everyone is treated as a true guest.

  • Stayed: June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PastorJM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 May 2010

Just returned from yet another trip to this fabulous boutique hotel with my husband. We've been staying several times a year since Paul and Pam opened the hotel, having experienced their hospitality at the Blacksmith's Table in Washington, and haven't had a bad stay yet. This last weekend was the best weather we have had in Hawes, but even when the sun isn't shining it's a great place. Paul and Pam are such good hosts, and Pam's cooking is wonderful. After a three course dinner we somehow manage to eat a full English breakfast, but don't need to eat again till the evening! However, if you have got space, the Wine and Coffee Lounge is open for meals and snacks during the day.

The Old Dairy Farm is the original producer of Wensleydale cheese, which can now be tasted and bought in the Wensleydale Creamery in Hawes, well worth a visit whilst in the area. There are lots of other interesting places to visit in the area, and the scenery is spectacular.

  • Stayed: May 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Gladys50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hawes
3.6 mi away
Stone House Hotel
Stone House Hotel
#1 of 2 in Hawes
429 reviews
11.2 mi away
The Wheatsheaf in Wensleydale
3.4 mi away
Simonstone Hall Country House Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.8 mi away
The Board Inn
The Board Inn
#12 of 23 in Hawes
204 reviews
1.8 mi away
Thorney Mire Barn
Thorney Mire Barn
#3 of 23 in Hawes
301 reviews
2.7 mi away
Southview Bed & Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Old Dairy Farm? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Old Dairy Farm

Address: Dairy Farm Widdale Nr Hawes, Hawes, Yorkshire Dales National Park DL8 3LX, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Yorkshire Dales National Park > Hawes
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Kitchenette Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 23 B&Bs / Inns in Hawes
Number of rooms: 46
Also Known As:
The Old Dairy Farm Hotel Hawes
The Old Dairy Farm Hawes, Yorkshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing