We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Love this place”
Review of The Old Dairy Farm

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Hawes
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
The Old Dairy Farm
Ranked #9 of 23 Hawes B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 5 June 2014 via mobile

We stayed here with our 7 year old daughter for a weekend in July 2013 and loved it.

Food was amazing - so amazing we ate here both nights. Breakfast was fab - plenty to eat.

The room was gorgeous. Very beautifully furnished and comfortable with great views of the countryside. There is loads to do in this part of the world.

The owners were lovely people who bent over backwards for us.

Def would return again - gorgeous part of the world.

Stayed: July 2013
1  Thank Sarahjane G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (151)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

72 - 78 of 151 reviews

Reviewed 24 May 2014

Had a lovely couple of days staying at The Old Dairy Farm. We upgraded to Room 3 so we could experience the jacuzzi bath. As has been previously said, the water was so brown there was no way we would want to sit in a bath of it. Bottled water was provided and as it stated in the guest information about the brown water one does wonder if this is a regular or permanant occurance. We would certainly not have paid the extra for the jacuzzi bath and balcony had we known.
This said the room was lovely and very clean and the breakfasts were delicious. There is no mobile phone signal at the dairy farm and this could prove a problem if you need to be in touch with the outside world!!

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 2,927,316
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 May 2014

A lovely barn convirsion but definetly not 5*. We were greeted with a slice of cake each and tea and coffee. We had only just eaten so asked for the cake to be wrapped for us to have it later, this never happened and the cake just dissapeared.
Breakfast is the best ever. The food in general is very good but a bit on the expencive side, although we ate in the first night had the prices been a bit more what you would expect to pay from a bed and breakfast then I am sure people would choose to eat there more often.
Hated the fact the water was brown for washing and showering. We were given bottled water to clean our teeth but never felt really clean.
There was damp on the sides of the windows in room two and there had obviously been a leak in the roof of the entrance hall as a sheet was nailed to the ceiling. This bedroom was the poorest of the three bedrooms I must admit.
Paul was a very good host but only met Pam once when she popped out from the kitchen but never stayed to talk with us.

Room Tip: Room 1 is the largest but room 3 has a whirlpool bath, room 2 is the smallest.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank 150Patricia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 May 2014

We have just returned from a lovely couple of days at The Old Dairy Farm. We booked on a KGB deal. We were greeted on arrival with tea and home made cake then shown to our room which was spotless and of a very high standard. The evening meal was cooked and served to perfection as was the breakfast each morning. I would thoroughly recommend this place and hope to return soon

Room Tip: We paid a supplement to upgrade to Room 3 which has a jacuzzi bath and balcony so a lovely room. Un...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jean3445stephenson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 April 2014

from the moment you arrive and the tea and cakes are served paul and pam cant do enough for you the rooms are great and what a chef pam is the food is to die for we cant wait to return this is more than a bed and breakfast great setting great people great time

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Anthony H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 April 2014

Knows their clientel ! Paul and Pam are welcoming hosts as can be seen by the victoria sponge on arrival after a 6 hour journey ! Of equal merit is their wilingness to share a G&T or a whisky in my case, and have a decent yarn. We stayed in the cottage which was lovely and had everything we needed. This was our first trip to the Dales however we liked the area, the walking and the hospitality. As with other reviews the best recommendation is that we would return and stay again.

Room Tip: Go for the cottage !
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ruggerman75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 April 2014

This is a review of the "bed and breakfast" accommodation, which comprises three en suite rooms and is very "boutiquey". The premises are recently converted to an exceptionally high standard and the rooms finished with first class furnishings and fittings. The combined dinning room and bar is functional and everything is fastidiously ordered. The owners are very welcoming and fine hosts with coffee and cake on arrival a nice touch. Food is excellent with sumptuous breakfasts and high cuisine in an evening which, if anything, is on the pricey side. The other quests were also extremely friendly and likeable.The place is excellently situated for exploring the Yorkshire Dales, whether on foot or by car and many attractions are within easy reach. My stay was extremely enjoyable and I would readily return again.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Toastmaster51
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hawes
3.6 mi away
Stone House Hotel
Stone House Hotel
#1 of 2 in Hawes
420 reviews
3.4 mi away
Simonstone Hall Country House Hotel
11.2 mi away
The Wheatsheaf in Wensleydale
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.8 mi away
The Board Inn
The Board Inn
#12 of 23 in Hawes
200 reviews
2.7 mi away
Southview Bed & Breakfast
3.2 mi away
Ebor House
Ebor House
#4 of 23 in Hawes
328 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Old Dairy Farm? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Old Dairy Farm

Address: Dairy Farm Widdale Nr Hawes, Hawes, Yorkshire Dales National Park DL8 3LX, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Yorkshire Dales National Park > Hawes
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Kitchenette Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 23 B&Bs / Inns in Hawes
Number of rooms: 46
Also Known As:
The Old Dairy Farm Hotel Hawes
The Old Dairy Farm Hawes, Yorkshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing