We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Peaceful relaxing break with great food”
Review of The Old Dairy Farm

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Hawes
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
The Old Dairy Farm
Ranked #9 of 23 Hawes B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 10 August 2014

For a peaceful, relaxing get away from it all weekend I would definitely recommend The old dairy farm. Paul and Pam are the very friendly attentive owners. Paul deals with front of house welcoming you on arrival with coffee and a choice of homemade cake. Pam does the cooking which is excellent. We stayed for 1 night, our room and en-suite was immaculate and tastefully furnished. We stayed for dinner which was out of this world. Breakfast was declared as one of the best he has had. A thoroughly pleasant and relaxing break which I would happily repeat.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sue C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (152)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

66 - 72 of 152 reviews

Reviewed 20 July 2014

Just returned from a two night break on a special offer. We received a friendly reception and a slice of cake on arrival. We were in Room 2 which was small but clean and tidy. There was no bath but a shower with 4 jets. As others have mentioned the water was discoloured but having worked in the water industry we were aware that this is down to peat and doesn't affect the quality of the water at all. Bottled water was provided anyway so we used that to drink.
We ate in the restaurant on both nights and the food was excellent. It was £24 for two courses which isn't cheap but seemed reasonable to us considering the home made quality food on offer and their was plenty of it.
Paul the owner was friendly and sociable throughout our stay and we found the whole weekend really relaxing. Would definitely recommend to others.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Lilo2008
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 July 2014

We have just returned from a two night break at the Old dairy farm. From the outside this place doesn't look anything special but inside is like a different world. It is modern and and you are greeted with a warm welcome from Paul. The bed and breakfast is about six miles from Hawes and is surrounded by hills. It is very peaceful indeed. The food is outstanding. We stayed in room three which is lovely. It has a small balcony and the biggest bathroom ever. The price is above the average but it is worth it. There are only three rooms so be warned that it is very quiet but if you are looking for a peaceful break then this is for you.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank PancakesRgreat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 July 2014

If you want to get away for a relaxing, away- from-it-all-break The Old Dairy Farm is the place to go.
You will be given a warm welcome, accompanied by delicious home-made cake and coffee, then shown to a lovely comfortable room with excellent on-suite bathroom facilities. I can only write about room 1, but I understand that room three has a balcony overlooking the Dales and a jacuzzi, this room does incur a supplement, but the people staying in it whilst we were there said it was well worth it.
The guest house is short drive from Hawes and is surrounded by hills, trees and sheep, it's a really peaceful setting.
There is no need to go out searching for somewhere to eat, just go downstairs and order a perfect home-cooked meal, cooked by Pam and served by an attentive Paul (the owners), first rate!
All in all a perfect retreat.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Tony831
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 July 2014

The old dairy farm is one of the best places I've stayed! Paul & Pam are a wonderful, friendly, helpful couple. We had tea and cake on arrival before being shown to our room. The room was cosy, I would have preferred a bigger room but it had everything we needed for our weekend away. The water is a little on the brown side but they provide bottled water I the rooms. I have to mention the food... Pam is an amazing chef! The food is excellent!!!

We will definitely go again and recommend it to our friends and family :-)

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Tracey H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 June 2014

You will get the warmest welcome ever here and the most fabulous food. The bedrooms are wonderful and full of character and yet very traditional. From when you get there you are made to feel so welcome and comfortable as if it is your own home.

Room Tip: We have now had room one and three and both are so comfortable.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Lynn M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 June 2014

Beautifully converted old farm buildings in a tranquil rural setting just a few minutes drive from the nearby village of Hawes.

Husband and wife team Paul and Pam are dedicated and passionate hoteliers and restauranteurs who will make you feel welcome from the moment you arrive on the drive and every moment of your stay with them.

Paul and Pam make sure they use fresh and seasonal produce, designing menus around this, providing superb food which matched the quality of the dishes they created for our wedding.

A very relaxing and enjoyable stay with fantastic people.

  • Stayed: June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Jentow747
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hawes
3.6 mi away
Stone House Hotel
Stone House Hotel
#1 of 2 in Hawes
428 reviews
11.2 mi away
The Wheatsheaf in Wensleydale
3.4 mi away
Simonstone Hall Country House Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
Thorney Mire Barn
Thorney Mire Barn
#3 of 23 in Hawes
301 reviews
2.8 mi away
The Board Inn
The Board Inn
#12 of 23 in Hawes
201 reviews
2.7 mi away
Southview Bed & Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Old Dairy Farm? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Old Dairy Farm

Address: Dairy Farm Widdale Nr Hawes, Hawes, Yorkshire Dales National Park DL8 3LX, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Yorkshire Dales National Park > Hawes
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Kitchenette Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 23 B&Bs / Inns in Hawes
Number of rooms: 46
Also Known As:
The Old Dairy Farm Hotel Hawes
The Old Dairy Farm Hawes, Yorkshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing