We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfection!”
Review of The Old Dairy Farm

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Hawes
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
The Old Dairy Farm
Ranked #10 of 23 Hawes B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Cheshire
Level Contributor
17 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
“Perfection!”
Reviewed 29 July 2010

We have just returned from a two night stay with Paul and Pam.

When we take a break we require perfection!
Within 20 minutes of arrival as Paul met us on the driveway and within moments was serving us coffee and happily chatting away in the bar, I knew immediately as I soaked up the surroundings that this was an amazing place and as the story and service unfolded bit by bit it soon became clear what excellent hosts Pam and Paul are!
Pam is the most wonderful cook, paying absolute attention to detail, Paul is the perfect host and I am not sure we have ever drunk so much coffee in our lives as our cup was never allowed to be empty, as soon as we returned from trips out he was there greeting us and chatting asking about our day and pouring the coffee :)

The Old Dairy Farm is in a beautiful location, a lot of thought has gone into the contemporary design with lovely comfortable furnishings. Paul and Pam take great pride in their hotel and have such passion in everything that they do, their pride and passion was totally valued and apprecriated by us. Never in my life have I met such amazing hosts, well done you two you should be very proud of all that you have created.
Many thanks to you both for such a wonderful stay ! :)

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sue3003
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

138 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    130
    6
    1
    1
    0
See reviews for
7
108
Solo
0
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (47)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
65 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 July 2010

Agree with all previous reviews without reservation or exception. Many thanks to the previous reviewers that were the trigger for us to go to Pam and Paul's place.

We can add new feedback as to the suitability of the Old Dairy Farm for kids - we have 4 (from 14 to 6 years old) - we took all 3 rooms!

Pam and Paul were tolerant, flexible and extremely good with the kids. No end of breakfast variations were accommodated and we eat evenings meals most nights there too - once you have found a winning formula with such a large family you tend to gravitate back to it. The food and service were so very good and having the private lounge for the kids to sit and play made the formula difficult for any of the local alternatives we tried in the area during our week to replicate.

  • Stayed July 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank GAKill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lincolnshire
Level Contributor
35 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 July 2010

We only stayed the one night but felt right at home.

Rooms are of a unique high quality. Food excellent.

Only a few rooms means that everyone is treated as a true guest.

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PastorJM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tyne and Wear
Level Contributor
28 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 May 2010

Just returned from yet another trip to this fabulous boutique hotel with my husband. We've been staying several times a year since Paul and Pam opened the hotel, having experienced their hospitality at the Blacksmith's Table in Washington, and haven't had a bad stay yet. This last weekend was the best weather we have had in Hawes, but even when the sun isn't shining it's a great place. Paul and Pam are such good hosts, and Pam's cooking is wonderful. After a three course dinner we somehow manage to eat a full English breakfast, but don't need to eat again till the evening! However, if you have got space, the Wine and Coffee Lounge is open for meals and snacks during the day.

The Old Dairy Farm is the original producer of Wensleydale cheese, which can now be tasted and bought in the Wensleydale Creamery in Hawes, well worth a visit whilst in the area. There are lots of other interesting places to visit in the area, and the scenery is spectacular.

  • Stayed May 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Gladys50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Redlands, California
Level Contributor
61 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 April 2010

I was in two minds to even write this for fear of spoiling such a good thing. Its your lucky day reading this...let me tell you. We stayed here for two nights in April 2010 after my husband booked it for a birthday getaway. We stayed in room 3 with the little balcony and spa sized bath. The room was lovely and spacious. The farm is tucked into the heart of Yorkshire just south of Hawes and well away from the road. Its a great central spot from which to explore the Dales. Its run by a lovely couple, Pam and Paul, who were so welcoming and really seem to love what they do. The food was absolutely amazing. Their hospitality was a large part of what made the experience for us. We were one of two couples staying there, and the restaurant was quiet so most of the time we were the only ones dining. It was such a treat to enjoy a fabulous meal and a few drinks and then be able to just walk upstairs to our room! Breakfast, unsurprisingly, was wonderful as well with a good few options in addition to the typical full English breakfast, such as eggs benedict or scrambled eggs and smoked salmon. I am already trying to figure out when we will have a reason to return!! ** I'd book it now if I were you...

  • Stayed April 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank jetset1974
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UK
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 April 2009

Stayed here with my boyfired between Christmas 2008 and New Year 2009. We were in Room 3 with the most amazing hot tub and a balcony (which was a fraction chilly in December!) We had the run of the place for 2 nights and it was a bit like having a butler - with just the two of us breakfast (yum) and the amazing dinners (take a second stomach). We even had run of the new bar they've just opened. It was worth every penny and being so close to Hawes but totally in the middle of nowhere was a dream.

Basically - heaven!

  • Stayed December 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HLB2008
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Barnsley
2 reviews
Reviewed 11 July 2008

Four of us stayed at the old dairy farm which is situated around 3 miles west of Hawes. What a hidden gem we found, this place is just fantastic the proprietors Pam & Paul gave us a real North East welcome and they just could not do enough for you. The old dairy Farm has just had extensive refurbishment, and what a fantastic job the builders/decorators have made on this old building. The bedrooms/bathroome are just unbeliievable the have been constructed and decorated to a very high standard and they have every amenity within the rooms, you look out of the window what breathtaking views then you open the door that leads on to a veranda and again the views are unbelievable. We had our meals at The Old dairy farm and let me tell you they were unbelievable a very wide range to choose from the menue and cooked brilliantly and you are left in peace to eat your meal, and with a very good choice of wine. And yes there is a bar this is a fantastic area the decor is 5* you can drink at the bar or in the very comfortable lounge area. What a fantastic weekend we had and that was down to the proprietors a brilliant couple. We will definitely be going back. Frank

  • Liked — The location and the The old dairy farm just a fantastic place
  • Disliked — nothing
  • Stayed July 2008, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank BarnsleyFrank
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hawes
3.6 mi away
Stone House Hotel
Stone House Hotel
#1 of 2 in Hawes
4.5 of 5 bubbles 385 reviews
20.9 mi away
The Coniston Hotel Country Estate & Spa
3.4 mi away
Simonstone Hall Country House Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
Thorney Mire Barn
Thorney Mire Barn
#3 of 23 in Hawes
5.0 of 5 bubbles 285 reviews
3.2 mi away
Ebor House
Ebor House
#4 of 23 in Hawes
5.0 of 5 bubbles 314 reviews
3.4 mi away
The Garsdale
The Garsdale
#1 of 11 in Sedbergh
5.0 of 5 bubbles 252 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Old Dairy Farm? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Old Dairy Farm

Property: The Old Dairy Farm
Address: Dairy Farm Widdale Nr Hawes, Hawes, Yorkshire Dales National Park DL8 3LX, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Yorkshire Dales National Park > Hawes
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Kitchenette Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 23 B&Bs / Inns in Hawes
Number of rooms: 46
Also Known As:
The Old Dairy Farm Hotel Hawes
The Old Dairy Farm Hawes, Yorkshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing