We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely food”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Hawes
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
The White Hart Country Inn
Ranked #7 of 23 Hawes B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 21 September 2013

My wife and I only had an evening meal in the restaurant but we would both say it was a really nice experience. The service was excellent without being fussy. My wife had the braised steak in red wine from the main menu and I had the steak and ale pie from what was termed the 'pub grub' menu. Both meals were first class and there really was no difference at all in standards (as you may think there would be two menu lists) between the two menus, in fact to be fair to the restaurant they could easily have a single menu as the food is of such a high standard. we both felt we experienced the highest standard of food we have had in a long time. In short order whatever you want from either menu as the food is the same very high standard on either one. And as for the puddings, don't leave without trying the sticky toffee pudding, you will regret it if you do.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Stephen C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (284)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

189 - 195 of 284 reviews

Reviewed 15 September 2013 via mobile

Stayed the weekend of what should have been the 11th Black Sheep boots and beer festival, had it not been cancelled earlier in the year.
We had booked three double en suite and pleasantly surprised with the room quality. Taylor's of Harrogate tea with nice shortbreads plus coffee and chocolate sachets in the room. En suite shower power excellent as well as plenty if hot water for the bath.
Breakfast was super with fantastic cereals, local yoghurt and fruit sauce along with fresh fruit platter. Choice of porridge, full English, smoked salmon & scrambled eggs as well as smoked haddock & poached eggs.
Evening dinner choice was good and service for the ten if us dining perfect.
Added bonus was Yorkshire real ale festival with music.

Only criticism is that all bar tables reserved for eating so difficult to just sit and drink, not really a problem as we went into restaurant.

Well worth a stop off.

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Yorkshire1245
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 September 2013

My wife and I stayed for one night at the White Hart over the last bank holiday weekend, and had a really relaxing and comfortable stay. It compares really well with other places we have stayed in the area. The food was really fresh, great quality, and good value. The room we took was well appointed, and had wonderful views over the Dales. Most of all, the staff were really friendly and helpful. Thoroughly recommended.

Room Tip: Chose a room at the back of the hotel for a great view of the dales.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RodStewart98
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 August 2013

My friend and I stayed here whilst walking the Pennine Way. The room we were given was exceptional. It was a twin room: a very good size, tasteful decor and spotlessly clean. We ate in both evenings; the food was well presented and tasty. My friend wanted to set off very early one morning- no problem. The staff happily set their alarms half an hour earlier to accommodate her. Would definitely stay again.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jane H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 August 2013

The White Hart offers good value, wholesome food with an upmarket twist and friendly service. I was horrified to read a negative review from someone who didn't even purchase anything from this re-knowned establishment. I can't imagine anyone would have the gall to complain about the service they received when asking for 'free' water!!!. It is unfortunate that such reviews can negatively impact on an excellent service provider. I do hope that anyone researching hotels and restaurants in Wensleydale will not be deterred from enjoying the fine food and facilities the White Hart has to offer. From experience it is often fully booked... that speaks for itself! Keep up the good work

Room Tip: We didn't stay - held a business meeting with food
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Alice I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 August 2013 via mobile

We treated ourselves to a meal here whilst on holiday. The food was so lovely we couldn' t hold back and had 3 courses! The food really was excellent- from the starters to desserts. It was tasty and great value- not a cheap night out but worth every penny. The service was friendly and quick. Definitely will revisit on our next visit.

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank higgiAngela
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 August 2013

After reading the comments a cyclist made i felt i would write a review.we stayed here for a number of days. The room we had was fab clean bright and comfortable.we ate here every night and found the food excellent staff were preoccupied with deal with other paying customers. But were polite and attentive in a very busy business which must provide employment for many in such a lovely rural area.we travelled here by train which was approx 200miles and when we were thirsty we had to purchase a drink or food not rely on donations.i would not avoid this place. On your bike!

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank graff1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pat K, Owner at The White Hart Country Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 9 August 2013

Thank you so much for your positive review, it is greatly appreciated. We would just like add that the views expressed about cyclists are not the views of the management of the White Hart.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Hawes hotels
0.8 mi away
Stone House Hotel
Stone House Hotel
#1 of 2 in Hawes
428 reviews
1.1 mi away
Simonstone Hall Country House Hotel
0.1 mi away
The Board Inn
The Board Inn
#12 of 23 in Hawes
201 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
The Fountain Hotel
The Fountain Hotel
#15 of 23 in Hawes
109 reviews
0.4 mi away
Ebor House
Ebor House
#4 of 23 in Hawes
329 reviews
0.2 mi away
Southview Bed & Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The White Hart Country Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The White Hart Country Inn

Address: Main Street, Hawes, Yorkshire Dales National Park DL8 3QL, England (Formerly White Hart Inn)
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Yorkshire Dales National Park > Hawes
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 23 B&Bs / Inns in Hawes
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In May 2016 Helen & Terry took over the White Hart and continued to build on the all ready very successful venue created by the previous owners. Redecorated in January 2017 the White hart offers a friendly and relaxing place to dine offering a wide range of quality home cooked food created by our excellent kitchen team. Also on offer is a selection of up to 6 real ales along with a fine selection of wines supplied by the Wright Wine company in Skipton. Advanced table booking is recommended to avoid disappointment. We have three king-size doubles and two twins, all with modern en-suite facilities, plasma screen TV/DVD players, WiFi throughout and tea and coffee making facilities. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
White Hart Hotel Hawes
The White Hart Country Inn Hawes, Yorkshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing