We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Stay here if you need a bed in Hawes” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Loxley House Bed & Breakfast

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Hawes
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Loxley House Bed & Breakfast
Ranked #2 of 23 Hawes B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Coventry, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
91 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Stay here if you need a bed in Hawes”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 July 2013

This was one of the best B&Bs we've used and we've stayed in a lot! Everything was perfect - from the flask of fresh milk for our tea tray to the top quality furnishings and tasteful decor in the good sized bedrooms. Lots of little extra touches like an umbrella and chocolates. The bathrooms/shower rooms were amazing. Everything was spotlessly clean. Our hosts were really helpful and good fun. Breakfast was excellent and some of the rooms had amazing views. We will be back for sure.

Room Tip: Ask for a garden room. There are 3 with French windows that lead to the lawn with tables you can use...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ceb56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

296 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    293
    3
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
21
219
4
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (94)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Windsor, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
57 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 July 2013

What a perfect spot, just yards from the hustle and bustle of Hawes town centre but with stunning views across the fells from the bedrooms and private gardens. Recently refurbished Loxley House is a perfect example of how B and B's have upped their game lately. A great welcome and a high class bedroom with a spacious bathroom all awaited us after a long hot day's walking. Everything was done to a really high standard, including the great breakfast. It's so good to see local produce being promoted by local businesses, something that's becoming the norm. Pubs and small hotels beware, you have some catching up to do.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Foryourconvenience
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
letchworth
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 July 2013

A 3 night stay with very welcoming host. In a stunning location with views across the Dales. Breakfast was excellent. Room very well decorated and furnished. Good bathroom. Plenty of good places to eat in Hawes.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank petemon1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sheffield, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
28 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 July 2013

We stayed at Loxley House B&B last week for 3 nights with our car club. Private car parking off road we had four cars on this trip and space for more cars also motorcyles have private secure parking in the garage. I have stayed in many B&Bs in this area but the was easily the best by far. A warm welcome from the owners Carol and Keith nothing was to much trouble for them. There is a selection of rooms soom with large patiow windows overlooking the fells and Butter Tub pass. Tea and coffee in the rooms with biscuits and chocolates.The rooms are decorated to a very high standard, i must say i dont think you could get any better. You can pre order the following days breakfast from a very long list by ticking what you want. A finer breakfast you can get, couldnt fault it. A few step and you are in the centre of Hawes. Its Perfect in every way.

Room Tip: The rooms are all very good, if you want a breathtaking view a room in the garden is for you.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Neil B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bristol, Tennessee
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 June 2013

My boyfriend and I stayed at the Loxley House for two nights at the end of May, 2013, and my only complaint is that I wish we had stayed longer!

We had a feeling that this place was going to be great as soon as we booked our room online a few months before the trip. Since they could not accept an international credit card for the reservation, they simply told us to pay on arrival. This was told to us through an email, in which they also included a hand drawn map to help us find the place. Incredible service, and we hadn't even been there yet!

When we arrived we were greeted warmly by Carol and shown to Room 1, right next to the main entrance. The room was beautiful, and was decorated simply but very tastefully. There was a huge comfortable bed, a large television, a table with a lovely tea tray (with some awesome Yorkshire tea, which we later bought a box of), and a sitting area with two chairs, a wardrobe and a vanity. The hardwood floors had been freshly mopped, and on the bed was a soft, furry throw blanket and a Hawes teddy bear.

The bathroom was also gorgeous, with a lovely huge tub and an endless supply of very nice toiletries. There was even a large umbrella propped in the corner for rainy days out, along with a tray for your muddy boots. Nonetheless, we still found ourselves trying to clean up every little speck of dirt we tracked in, we felt such reverence for the place.

And the view... oh, that view! Absolutely stunning. Endless green fields for miles, stone walls, and little sheep baaing and playing made it seem as though we were in another world. One night, I turned everything off, wrapped myself in the furry blanket and sat next to the open window and just looked out and listened to the wind. That is something I will never forget. What a magical place.

The location of the Loxley House is also great. You are perhaps only a fifty meters from the bustling high street and all these great little shops, and yet you still feel secluded and tranquil. The perfect mix, really. You also get to wake up to an amazing breakfast each day in the dining room, which offers the same amazing views, complete with a pair of binoculars. This place also made for a great base for visiting places like Aysgill Force, Aysgarth Falls and Castle Bolton. The most beautiful hikes I have ever been on were in and around Hawes. Also, loved the Little White Bus service!

Our hosts were wonderful. I simply cannot say enough about the hospitality at the Loxley House. The room was so clean you could have eaten off the floor, they made checking in and out very easy, and there were so many little things they did which just made this a total 5-star visit. Carol even noticed that I was a bit chilly when we first arrived, and immediately went to turn the heat on for me! She also recommended a good time to come in for breakfast, so that we could avoid the large party of hikers who were also staying at the Loxley House.

Every “excellent” review on here is well deserved, that's for sure. We have been back in the States for a little over a week, and already we're talking about going back to England and staying in Hawes almost the entire time. And when we do return, there is no question as to where we will stay, if we're lucky. This village and the B&B are both just stunningly gorgeous! I miss them both already!

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tangerine1490
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Great Bookham, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 June 2013

This was the 2nd time that that my wife and I had stayed here & I hope not the last.

This time we used it as a base for doing the Herriot Way Walk with 3 other couples & a dog with all of us staying at Loxley House. Carol & Keith made the whole party feel so welcome it was more like staying with friends. The breakfasts are superbly cooked and set us all up very nicely for the walk ahead each day.
Loxley House works extremely well as a base for doing the Herriot Way. Instead of the more traditional plan of moving on to new accommodation each day, having made arrangements for luggage to be shipped on whilst you are walking, we used a very reliable local taxi company recommended by Carol with a minibus that could fit us all in who were there where we wanted at the start and end of every walk.
The Crown gets many a glowing report on this site and we couldn't disagree but would add that the White Hart and Fountain also serve great food and are also very friendly pubs to visit.
So, all in all, Hawes is a great base in the Dales and you could not pick a better place to stay than at Loxley House with Carol & Keith.
Brilliant week!
Will have no hesitation to go back and cannot recommend this more highly.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Edward H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nashua, New Hampshire
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 June 2013

My wife and I were recently doing a sightseeing vacation in Yorkshire, and we were fortunate enough to stay at the Loxley House B & B in Hawes.

We picked the Loxley House based on the excellent online reviews we read while planning our trip.

We were very pleased with every aspect of our stay.

Many of the reviews mentioned the beautiful view from the Loxley House, and it truly was a fantastic view.

Carol recommended that we try the pub at the Crown Hotel for dinner, and it turned out to be a warm and friendly place with excellent food.

Breakfast at the Loxley House was very good. There was a good assortment of cereal and fruit, and Carol also cooked me a full Yorkshire breakfast, very tasty and filling.

The room was really nice. Impeccably decorated, luxurious while still comfortable and homey-feeling.

The bathroom was really nice -- double sinks that made it easier for both of us to get ready quickly for breakfast.

Also, the price for all of this was very reasonable.

Carol was a wonderful hostess. She gave us excellent directions for finding the Buttertubs on the way to Muker for our next morning's drive, and she even showed us how to unlock the locking gas cap on our rental car, which was unlike anything we'd seen on our carsin the U.S.

Everything about our stay at Loxley House was memorable and excellent.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bert R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hawes
0.8 mi away
Stone House Hotel
Stone House Hotel
#1 of 2 in Hawes
4.5 of 5 bubbles 371 reviews
8.4 mi away
The Wheatsheaf in Wensleydale
0.4 mi away
Ebor House
Ebor House
#3 of 23 in Hawes
5.0 of 5 bubbles 306 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
The Board Inn
The Board Inn
#12 of 23 in Hawes
4.0 of 5 bubbles 165 reviews
0.3 mi away
Southview Bed & Breakfast
1.3 mi away
Thorney Mire Barn
Thorney Mire Barn
#4 of 23 in Hawes
5.0 of 5 bubbles 276 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Loxley House Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Loxley House Bed & Breakfast

Property: Loxley House Bed & Breakfast
Address: Loxley House The Holme, Hawes, Yorkshire Dales National Park DL8 3QR, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Yorkshire Dales National Park > Hawes
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 23 B&Bs / Inns in Hawes
Number of rooms: 6
Also Known As:
Loxley House Bed And Breakfast
Loxley House Hotel Hawes
Loxley House Bed & Breakfast Hawes, Yorkshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing