We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent”
Review of The Crown Hotel

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Hawes
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
The Crown Hotel
Ranked #9 of 23 Hawes B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 29 July 2013

A superb pub with rooms. Knowledgable, friendly and welcoming staff. Landlady is delightful. Beer wonderful. Breakfast tasty and plentiful. I had my own bathroom. A lovely community pub.

Thank Ben T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AdamKW, Owner at The Crown Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 1 August 2013

Hello Ben. Thank you very much for taking the time to leave a review of your stay at the Crown Hotel; it was a pleasure serving you. Please come back to stay again soon. Thank you again and Best Wishes, Adam & Lindsay.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (233)
There are newer reviews for The Crown Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

211 - 217 of 234 reviews

Reviewed 28 July 2013

Excellent service serving up very good food with top notch beer. Always love to find Old Peculier on tap, but also a wide range of beer styles to suit our group of three. Accommodation was very comfortable and well appointed. Very friendly and approachable couple running the place.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Steve L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AdamKW, Owner at The Crown Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 29 July 2013

Hello Steve and thank you very much for taking the time to leave a review of your stay. It was a pleasure having you stay with us. Please come back and see us again very soon. The Old Peculier will always be available. Thank you again and Best Wishes, Adam & Lindsay.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 July 2013

My stay at the Crown took place during some long distance walking on 8 July. The staff were very pleasant and helpful, particularly Lindsay. Although I initially thought the licencees were quite new to the trade, I later learnied they had been running the Crown for over 5 years so their enthusiasm was impressive. My choice of vegetarian meal was tasty and satisfying particularly since I seldom opt for meals without meat and I enjoyed a few of the real ales on offer. The en-suite double room overlooking the main street was spotless and very comfortable with a generous supply of complimentary refreshments and snacks. English breakfast was great, just what I needed on my next leg of the Pennine Way. My only disappointment on check out was that I wasn't able to allow for more than one night at the Crown.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Joe Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AdamKW, Owner at The Crown Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 24 July 2013

Hello Joe. Thank you very much for taking the time to leave a review of your stay here; it was a pleasure serving you. Please come back and see us again very soon. Maybe next time you can stay a little longer ! Thank you again and Best Wishes, Adam & Lindsay.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 July 2013

We stayed sat 13th July, very welcoming when we arrived check in fast room 1 was lovely looked like it had been newly decorated. Would like to say before anything else it was lovely to be able to take our dog with us and at no charge a real plus point. That's one of the reasons we picked The Crown. We stayed for our evening meal which was good. It's a lovely atmosphere in the pub and nothing seems to be too much trouble for all the staff even when it's busy. In the morning you can pick what time you have breakfast which was very good all the usual stuff but with nice touch's like fresh fruit, and very nice coffee. Also Murphy (the dog) got sausage!!!
Would definitely stay again and landlady Lindsay is very pleasant and helpful and we wish them every success with the pub.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sandra B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AdamKW, Owner at The Crown Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 19 July 2013

Hello Sandra. Thank you very much for taking the time to leave a review of your stay here at the Crown Hotel; it was a pleasure having you stay with us. Please come back and see us again very soon. Thank you again and Best Wishes, Adam & Lindsay.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 July 2013

...as it states on the blackboard....and its certainly true at the Crown.
We stayed here during a 2 day walking break. We were greeted by the friendly Bar man who imediately took our details, gave us the usual information and enquired if we needed a table as they were going to be busy(which we did).
The rooms are clean, and functional which is what we needed.Although not on-suite we had private use of the adjoining bathroom.Super compliments tray which included crisps(Sorry but I like crisps) and lots of tea, coffee, Hot Choc and milk(and cream).
The pub is superb and in my opinion the best of the three that are all next to each other.The beers are well kept and the pub itself is fantastic....The Crown really excels with its food and menu.We aint talking posh nosh here...But great, superbly cooked pub grub.no 'pinged' rubbish..all fresh and cooked to your liking.
Breakfast.., Great spread of fresh fruit, cereal and juice...and of course the obligatary 'full english' that was lovely...There are other options and the owners are more than happy to oblige.
Good place to stay, Very reasonable and super food and drink.
Only down side is there is a bit of pub noise...but it is a pub and if you choose to stay at a pub its to be expected.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Glenval
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AdamKW, Owner at The Crown Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 16 July 2013

Hello there. Thank you very much for taking the time to leave a review of your stay at the Crown; it was a pleasure accommodating you. Please come back and see us again very soon. Thank you again and Best Wishes, Adam & Lindsay.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 July 2013

Eight of us were cycling the Yorkshire Stage of the 2014 Tour de France route from Leeds to Harrogate. Doing the ride over two days meant Hawes at roughly halfway was the perfect stop-over. Half of our group stayed at The Crown and the rest at a nearby pub/B&B.

Adam and Lindsay at the Crown were the perfect hosts. Both were very friendly and accommodating, making sure we were settled in and that our bikes and back-up vehicle were parked and stored securely.

The pub is in the traditional Dales style, and perfect for the setting. Our rooms were very clean and comfortable, WiFi was free and the signal worked all over the building.

We met the rest of our group at another pub for a swift pint before dinner and had a discussion to decide where to eat. Lindsay at the Crown had given us a well presented and amusing 'sales pitch' and armed with a menu from the Crown we compared what was on offer elsewhere.

There was no competition and we all ate at the Crown. The food was delicious, well cooked, beautifully presented, and good value. Eight hungry cyclists were well satisfied.

Excuse the cycling pun but the real 'Tour de Force' was the Crown breakfast. A buffet table was laid out with fresh fruit, cereal, yoghurt, fruit juice and a very impressive looking and tasting bowl of fresh summer fruits. The full English is always a must when staying somewhere like the Crown and they certainly delivered. It was simply delicious.

The Crown at Hawes is in a stunning location, rooms very comfortable, the owners are friendly and accommodation, delicious food and all at a good price. If you are planning to do a bike ride following the Tour de France Yorkshire route we've already found the best place for you to stay.

Room Tip: One of the rooms is a twin with a bathroom down the corridor, two of our guys used that room and tho...
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Andy K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AdamKW, Owner at The Crown Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 14 July 2013

Hello again Andrew. Thank you very much for taking the time to leave a review of your stay at the Crown Hotel; it was a pleasure having you stay with us. I am glad everything met with your approval; we always do our best to ensure customer satisfaction, especially at breakfast time ! Please come back and see us again very soon. Thank you again and Best Wishes, Adam & Lindsay.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 July 2013

what a lovely place to stay . The location is beautiful right in the middle of the dales. the owners are really friendly and welcoming .we toured around the dales and i must say that the dinner we had there was the best we had on our trip. the prices was very reasonable for the room and the meal and i would love to go back at sometime.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank michael d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AdamKW, Owner at The Crown Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 11 July 2013

Hello Michael. Thank you very much for taking the time to leave a review of your stay at the Crown Hotel. Please come back and see us again very soon. Thank you again and Best Wishes, Adam & Lindsay.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hawes
0.8 mi away
Stone House Hotel
Stone House Hotel
#1 of 2 in Hawes
415 reviews
1.1 mi away
Simonstone Hall Country House Hotel
8.5 mi away
The Wheatsheaf in Wensleydale
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
The Board Inn
The Board Inn
#12 of 23 in Hawes
193 reviews
0.0 mi away
The Fountain Hotel
The Fountain Hotel
#14 of 23 in Hawes
102 reviews
0.4 mi away
Ebor House
Ebor House
#4 of 23 in Hawes
326 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Crown Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Crown Hotel

Address: Market Place, Hawes, Yorkshire Dales National Park DL8 3RD, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Yorkshire Dales National Park > Hawes
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 23 B&Bs / Inns in Hawes
Price Range: £30 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Crown Hotel in Hawes, a traditional Yorkshire Dales country pub and restaurant. ***Please note the only way to book a room with us is direct via email or telephone.*** I took over The Crown in December 2012 to provide a warm and welcoming atmosphere with honest, delicious food, great beer and attentive, friendly service. There are three completely redecorated and refitted guest rooms available. One is an en-suite double room (one double bed), one an en-suite family room (one double and one single bed) and one is a twin room (two single beds) with a large private bathroom. The tariff includes full English breakfast. All rooms include TV, clock-radio-alarm, hair dryer, tea/coffee making facilities, complementary snacks, supplementary plug-in radiator and free broadband WiFi throughout. Dogs are accepted in all rooms free of charge and will be offered a sausage for breakfast! Be our guest - we won't be comfortable until you are! ***Please note the only way to book a room with us is direct via email or telephone.*** ... more   less 
Also Known As:
The Crown Hotel Hawes, Yorkshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing