We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Late December 2013”
Review of The Crown Hotel

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Hawes
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
The Crown Hotel
Ranked #8 of 23 Hawes B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Keighley, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
“Late December 2013”
Reviewed 11 January 2014

We stayed on the Friday just after Christmas 2013, and found this place to be very friendly, both the staff and other guests, warm with real fires (the weather was cold and wet), with great beer and we will certainly stay again. The food was brilliant too. Thank you

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Caroline G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AdamKW, Owner at The Crown Hotel, responded to this review, 11 January 2014
Hello Caroline. Thank you very much for taking the time to leave a review of your stay at the Crown Hotel; it was a pleasure having you as our guests. Please come back and see us again very soon. Thank you again and Best Wishes, Adam & Lindsay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

230 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    169
    48
    11
    0
    2
See reviews for
35
114
15
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (39)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Withernsea, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 January 2014

We would like to thank Lindsay and Adam for making our stay so wonderful.. We stayed over the Christmas Break and they made us feel so comfortable more like a welcome home with excellent food and hospitality amazing . The staff are friendly and helpful. Great to find dog friendly accommodation Harry enjoyed himself and the sausage he had at breakfast. Lovely Boxing Day walk. All in all a wonderful place to stay great hosts and staff wonderful food lovely walks and plenty of Yorkshire fresh air. .

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CEMathers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AdamKW, Owner at The Crown Hotel, responded to this review, 7 January 2014
Hello again. Thank you very much for taking the time to leave a review of your stay at the Crown Hotel; it was a great pleasure having you as our guests and we are looking forward to your stay with us next Christmas. Thank you again and Best Wishes, Adam & Lindsay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Huddersfield, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 December 2013

This is a very welcoming pub with real fires and a good choice of beers. The room had tea and coffee making facilities, crisps and biscuits.The evening meal was very good quality as was the huge breakfast. We would definately stay here again.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bulls_Fans
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AdamKW, Owner at The Crown Hotel, responded to this review, 20 December 2013
Hello there. Thank you very much for taking the time to leave a review of your stay at the Crown Hotel; it was a pleasure having you as our guests. Please come back and see us again very soon. Thank you again and Best Wishes, Adam & Lindsay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tomintoul
1 review
Reviewed 9 December 2013

Having visited the Crown over the last 25 years it is an old friend I've grown up with. Having never stayed before i hoped that it would not disappoint. It most certainly did not. We were allowed into our room two hours early, and made to feel right at home. Three real fires roaring, comfort, good food plus very friendly and attentive staff made the stay fantastic. So thanks old friend for some more great memories.
See you again soon!

Room Tip: Just relax and feel at home.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Matthew T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AdamKW, Owner at The Crown Hotel, responded to this review, 10 December 2013
Hello again. Thank you very much for taking the time to leave a review of your stay at the Crown Hotel; it was a pleasure having you as our guests. Please come back and see us again very soon. Thank you again and Best Wishes, Adam & Lindsay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Watford, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 4 December 2013

Stayed for four nights, great welcome on arrival. Room comfortable with all you need.
Lindsey thinks everyone needs feeding up, breakfast enormous! Especially liked the fresh fruit mix. Dinner was very good with a varied menu. Will definitely come again.

Room Tip: Front rooms overlook the street and can be noisy at weekend.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank Marion C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AdamKW, Owner at The Crown Hotel, responded to this review, 5 December 2013
Hello there. Thank you very much for taking the time to leave a review of your stay at the Crown Hotel; it was a pleasure having you as our guests. Please come back and see us again very soon. Thank you again and Best Wishes, Adam & Lindsay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bolton, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 December 2013

Right in the centre of town with welcoming open fires The Crown gets off to a promising start.
The selection of real ales add to the appeal and the good quality and good value evening meals continue the theme.
Only the very small and a little tired room took the shine off things a little.
The twin room didn't even have space for a wardrobe.
To be fair I was told when I booked that the only room left was a twin with a separate bathroom (sole use and key lock) so it wasn't a problem for the one night.
Breakfast was just as good as dinner so the stay ended on a high.

In all it was an enjoyable stay with good food and drink for a very reasonable price.

  • Stayed November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank John D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AdamKW, Owner at The Crown Hotel, responded to this review, 4 December 2013
Hello John. Thank you very much for taking the time to leave a review of your stay at the Crown Hotel; it was a pleasure having you as our guests. Please come back and see us again very soon. Maybe next time you can stay in one of our two lovely en-suite rooms. Thank you again and Best Wishes, Adam & Lindsay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leicester, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
94 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 December 2013

Had a great one night stay here room was fine not over large but very clean, shower was acceptable, food - dinner and breakfast - was good, tasty, filling and homely.
Hosts were welcoming, friendly and helpful, in a good all round "English pub".
Friends from NZ were more than impressed with our hosts and all the facilities.
Would stop again.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank cisco66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AdamKW, Owner at The Crown Hotel, responded to this review, 2 December 2013
Hello there. Thank you very much for taking the time to leave a review of your stay at the Crown Hotel; it was a pleasure having you as our guests. Please come back and see us again very soon. Thank you again and Best Wishes, Adam & Lindsay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hawes
0.8 mi away
Stone House Hotel
Stone House Hotel
#1 of 2 in Hawes
398 reviews
1.1 mi away
Simonstone Hall Country House Hotel
3.8 mi away
The Rose & Crown Hotel
The Rose & Crown Hotel
#2 of 2 in Bainbridge
215 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
The Board Inn
The Board Inn
#12 of 23 in Hawes
181 reviews
0.4 mi away
Ebor House
Ebor House
#4 of 23 in Hawes
320 reviews
0.0 mi away
The Fountain Hotel
The Fountain Hotel
#14 of 23 in Hawes
99 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Crown Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Crown Hotel

Property: The Crown Hotel
Address: Market Place, Hawes, Yorkshire Dales National Park DL8 3RD, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Yorkshire Dales National Park > Hawes
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 23 B&Bs / Inns in Hawes
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Crown Hotel in Hawes, a traditional Yorkshire Dales country pub and restaurant. ***Please note the only way to book a room with us is direct via email or telephone.*** I took over The Crown in December 2012 to provide a warm and welcoming atmosphere with honest, delicious food, great beer and attentive, friendly service. There are three completely redecorated and refitted guest rooms available. One is an en-suite double room (one double bed), one an en-suite family room (one double and one single bed) and one is a twin room (two single beds) with a large private bathroom. The tariff includes full English breakfast. All rooms include TV, clock-radio-alarm, hair dryer, tea/coffee making facilities, complementary snacks, supplementary plug-in radiator and free broadband WiFi throughout. Dogs are accepted in all rooms free of charge and will be offered a sausage for breakfast! Be our guest - we won't be comfortable until you are! ***Please note the only way to book a room with us is direct via email or telephone.*** ... more   less 
Also Known As:
The Crown Hotel Hawes, Yorkshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing