We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A Cosy Winter Stay” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Crown Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
The Crown Hotel
Ranked #6 of 23 Hawes B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Durham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
33 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“A Cosy Winter Stay”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 February 2014

We stayed at The Crown in January and had a wonderful time. The owners were very welcoming and friendly, even letting us into the room early. The room was spotless and most of all comfortable, and despite facing the road it was nice and quiet. The staff were very good and happy to help, and the food (both breakfast and dinner) was great. With a fine choice of a beers and a warm fire it was a lovely place to spend the evenings. All in all a great stay!

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Num34
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AdamKW, Owner at The Crown Hotel, responded to this review, 11 February 2014
Hello there. Thank you very much for taking the time to leave a review of your stay at the Crown Hotel; it was a pleasure having you as our guests. Please come back and see us again very soon. Thank you again and Best Wishes, Adam & Lindsay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

225 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    164
    48
    11
    0
    2
See reviews for
35
111
15
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (38)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Dunstable, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 February 2014

Great hotel.with a warm welcome for us and the dog .Bedroom small (it's an old building) ,but cosy, very clean and comfortable with TV and tea making facilities.The en suite spotless. Bar area warm and food excellent ,you won't go hungry here! The dog was even treated to a sausage for her breakfast.Well situated for walking or touring in the beautiful Dales , a place to be highly recommended. Thank you Lindsay and Adam

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jean P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AdamKW, Owner at The Crown Hotel, responded to this review, 6 February 2014
Hello Jean. Thank you very much for taking the time to leave a review of your stay at the Crown Hotel; it was a pleasure having you as our guests. Please come back and see us again very soon. Thank you again and Best Wishes, Adam & Lindsay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Keighley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 January 2014

We stayed on the Friday just after Christmas 2013, and found this place to be very friendly, both the staff and other guests, warm with real fires (the weather was cold and wet), with great beer and we will certainly stay again. The food was brilliant too. Thank you

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Caroline G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AdamKW, Owner at The Crown Hotel, responded to this review, 11 January 2014
Hello Caroline. Thank you very much for taking the time to leave a review of your stay at the Crown Hotel; it was a pleasure having you as our guests. Please come back and see us again very soon. Thank you again and Best Wishes, Adam & Lindsay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Withernsea, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 January 2014

We would like to thank Lindsay and Adam for making our stay so wonderful.. We stayed over the Christmas Break and they made us feel so comfortable more like a welcome home with excellent food and hospitality amazing . The staff are friendly and helpful. Great to find dog friendly accommodation Harry enjoyed himself and the sausage he had at breakfast. Lovely Boxing Day walk. All in all a wonderful place to stay great hosts and staff wonderful food lovely walks and plenty of Yorkshire fresh air. .

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CEMathers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AdamKW, Owner at The Crown Hotel, responded to this review, 7 January 2014
Hello again. Thank you very much for taking the time to leave a review of your stay at the Crown Hotel; it was a great pleasure having you as our guests and we are looking forward to your stay with us next Christmas. Thank you again and Best Wishes, Adam & Lindsay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Huddersfield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
32 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 December 2013

This is a very welcoming pub with real fires and a good choice of beers. The room had tea and coffee making facilities, crisps and biscuits.The evening meal was very good quality as was the huge breakfast. We would definately stay here again.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Bulls_Fans
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AdamKW, Owner at The Crown Hotel, responded to this review, 20 December 2013
Hello there. Thank you very much for taking the time to leave a review of your stay at the Crown Hotel; it was a pleasure having you as our guests. Please come back and see us again very soon. Thank you again and Best Wishes, Adam & Lindsay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tomintoul
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 December 2013

Having visited the Crown over the last 25 years it is an old friend I've grown up with. Having never stayed before i hoped that it would not disappoint. It most certainly did not. We were allowed into our room two hours early, and made to feel right at home. Three real fires roaring, comfort, good food plus very friendly and attentive staff made the stay fantastic. So thanks old friend for some more great memories.
See you again soon!

Room Tip: Just relax and feel at home.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Matthew T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AdamKW, Owner at The Crown Hotel, responded to this review, 10 December 2013
Hello again. Thank you very much for taking the time to leave a review of your stay at the Crown Hotel; it was a pleasure having you as our guests. Please come back and see us again very soon. Thank you again and Best Wishes, Adam & Lindsay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Watford, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 December 2013

Stayed for four nights, great welcome on arrival. Room comfortable with all you need.
Lindsey thinks everyone needs feeding up, breakfast enormous! Especially liked the fresh fruit mix. Dinner was very good with a varied menu. Will definitely come again.

Room Tip: Front rooms overlook the street and can be noisy at weekend.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank Marion C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AdamKW, Owner at The Crown Hotel, responded to this review, 5 December 2013
Hello there. Thank you very much for taking the time to leave a review of your stay at the Crown Hotel; it was a pleasure having you as our guests. Please come back and see us again very soon. Thank you again and Best Wishes, Adam & Lindsay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hawes
0.9 mi away
Stone House Hotel
Stone House Hotel
#1 of 2 in Hawes
4.5 of 5 bubbles 371 reviews
3.9 mi away
The Rose & Crown Hotel
The Rose & Crown Hotel
#2 of 2 in Bainbridge
3.0 of 5 bubbles 203 reviews
8.5 mi away
The Wheatsheaf in Wensleydale
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
The Board Inn
The Board Inn
#12 of 23 in Hawes
4.0 of 5 bubbles 165 reviews
0.2 mi away
Southview Bed & Breakfast
0.0 mi away
The Fountain Hotel
The Fountain Hotel
#14 of 23 in Hawes
4.0 of 5 bubbles 92 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Crown Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Crown Hotel

Property: The Crown Hotel
Address: Market Place, Hawes, Yorkshire Dales National Park DL8 3RD, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Yorkshire Dales National Park > Hawes
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 23 B&Bs / Inns in Hawes
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — The Crown Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Crown Hotel in Hawes, a traditional Yorkshire Dales country pub and restaurant. I took over The Crown in December 2012 to provide a warm and welcoming atmosphere with honest, delicious food, great beer and attentive, friendly service. There are three completely redecorated and refitted guest rooms available. One is an en-suite double room (one double bed), one an en-suite family room (one double and one single bed) and one is a twin room (two single beds) with a large private bathroom. The tariff includes full English breakfast. All rooms include TV, clock-radio-alarm, hair dryer, tea/coffee making facilities, complementary snacks, supplementary plug-in radiator and free broadband WiFi throughout. Dogs are accepted in all rooms free of charge and will be offered a sausage for breakfast! Be our guest - we won't be comfortable until you are! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia and Hotels.com so you can book your The Crown Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Crown Hotel Hawes, Yorkshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing